We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Delight”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A stunning hotel with all you could want to celebrate a special weekend. Very friendly staff, spotless well appointed room, a choice of restaurants, and anything else you could ask for within walking distance. Close to the Reef boat terminal and in the centre of town. A hotel that totally deserves its 5 star rating and near perfect review score.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mary P,
Thank you for your kind words, we do appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to post your feedback. It is great to see that we have exceeded your expectations with our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    484
    103
    28
    14
See reviews for
265
1,096
102
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Check in with Michael was fast and efficient.
Concierge was very helpful with brochures and recommending stuff for us to do.

Location:
Well located at the start of the Esplanade. Lots of restaurant and entertainment options within walking distance. Marina Wharf close by for your snorkeling adventures. Cairns Convention Centre 5min walk for the basketball.


418:
Weirdly designed room with a hallway which turns 90 degrees into the living/bedroom. The TV was located against the wall in the middle of the room but set inside an alcove, which made viewing from both the bed and the couches nearly impossible (even with the swivel function). The wardrobe was around the corner near the bathroom door.

The divider between bedroom and bathroom was a slatted wooden sliding door. The shower drain seemed to be connected to rooms up on higher floors as whenever someone had a shower or flushed the toilet it would run through our drains and echo very loudly - making it impossible to try to get to sleep.

Tried to get a room change but the hotel was full that night so we just had to tough it out for the first night. They did organise a new room for us first thing next morning.

512:
Was a much better designed room. The TV was viewable from both the couches and bed (with swivel). The bathroom was at the other end of the room and although the drain still made considerable noise, the solid walls and doors muffled the noise sufficiently.


Rooms overall:
PRO:
Comfy beds and pillows.
Large bathrooms with large shower area.
Great 180 degree views.
Big TV with USB input
Nespresso machine

CON:
Shower heads were mounted far too low for me (I'm 6'1'' and had to bend my back a fair way to wash my hair). A ceiling mounted rain shower would fix this issue.
Wooden slatted blinds let in a lot of light in the morning and street lighting at night. Black out curtains should be put in as an option for use.
No instructions for Nespresso milk jug.


Facilities:
The gym was an adequate size, but would get quite busy with 5 or more people in there.
The pool was pretty small - there was little undercover poolside seating for clothes in case of rain.

Breakfast - very small buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maelstrom38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Maelstrom38,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your feedback. I apologise that you did not enjoy the layout of your first room. It is great to see that on your move we have exceeded your expectations with our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for a weekend at the beginning of February 2013. It was okay, but for a five star, was a bit tired and old. Bad noise in the room from the bathroom air vents. Bathroom could not be closed off to sound, as only sliding louver doors between it and bedroom. Balcony louvers not working well.
Beds very comfortable and pillows were excellent.
The restaurant for breakfast was abysmal. Only ate there once. Selection for the menu breakfast was poor, and food quality poor as well.
Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not recommend this place at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teazieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear teazieSydney,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your feedback. I must apologise that we have not exceeded your expectations with our service and facilities. I am happy to report that we have started a soft refurbishment of our rooms that will have them looking refreshed and stunning. We hope towelcome you back when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a 5 star hotel and we were so lucky to be able to stay here (thanks to Qantas discount rate) The staff were outstanding always greeting you when you came thru the door. The security was great especially around the pool which was really really nice. The only reason I didnt give it 100% was because of the dining-room all chinese and we ate out even for breakfast so I cannot rate the food at all sorry. Nice touch getting a voucher for the casino.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishberniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear irishberniem,
Thank you for your kind words, we do appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to post your feedback. It is great to see that we have exceeded your expectations with our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a short two day break for our anniversary and loved it. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The N'epresso machine in the lobby was a welcome site after our trip up and was used before we even made it to checking in. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. We paid the extra for the water view and it was well worth it. Great to sit on the balcony with a beer and watch the boats coming and going.
The breakfast was good in Tamarind restaurant, again with very friendly staff. A few of the Casino staff let the side down a bit, standing talking with the cashiers and ignoring us while trying to hand in a voucher, but it wasnt enough to dampen the experience.
Oh, and a spa bath in each room, and seperate toilets...nice

Room Tip: Opt for the water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Stephen E,
Happy Anniversary! We do appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to post your feedback. It is great to see that you enjoyed our service and facilities. The coffee machine is a big hit, great to get the day started (or keep it going). We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing