We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully large!”
Review of 181 The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
181 The Esplanade
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We were quite thankful for the size of our apartment! It was nice too to be able to wash our clothes right there in the apartment with no additional charge. We had a great view on the 7th floor facing the Esplanade! The customer service was impressive. Very nice place. A little further from the main drag than we anticipated, about a good 8 city blocks. It was a great location for all the tours we went on throughout the week though. Every tour left going in a different direction so it was very centrally placed. All in all, for the money, the size and the service you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wed10yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2006

This is a very charming property, if you can get a room on the esplanade side of the property it has superb views of the ocean (not much beach in cairns). The owners are very friendly and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable.

The rooms were large and spacious, decorated in a tropical style (whicker furniture) perhaps a little 80's in design but nonetheless more than adequate for our short stay.

The only thing to watch out for is that the front door (Lake Road entrance) is locked after 6pm and unless you specify taxi drivers will drop you here and it's a bit of a walk to get around to the Esplanade side (particularly when its raining).

We would recommend the property without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Major_Delays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2005

A great place to stay; the accomodation is a 1 or 2 bedroom suite and the rooms are huge. They're clearly setup to be long-term stay accomodations, but the prices (especially when booking through a discounter) are better than a lot of the local hotels. It's about a 15 minute walk from the center of town, though, so be prepared. Even so, the staff are great and the rooms are superb - a great stay, especially for several days or a week.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aglazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2005

This was a great place to stay - fully equipped kitchen and very spacious bedrooms and bathroom. The place was very clean and the management very friendly, couldn't do enough for us. I will definitely stay there again when we go back to Cairns next year.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jadelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2003

181 The Esplanade was an excellent place for our one-week stay in Cairns. We had a king bed in the master bedroom and our two grandsons had two twin beds in their bedroom. Apartment also included laundry room, full kitchen and living room as well as master bath and second bathroom. Master bedroom had balcony as did living room. Included off-street private parking inside or outside. Staff was very cheerful and helpful. All-in-all a great find for a very reasonable price.

Thank dnwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Anja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
Thank sylvain13170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#41 of 63 in Cairns
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.5 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 181 The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 181 The Esplanade

Address: 181 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $124 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 181 The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 181 The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
181 The Esplanade Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing