We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck”
Review of 181 The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
181 The Esplanade
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yuck”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Out of date and the lobby area has that old fashioned cleaning stink to cover smells. Apartments nothing to write home about, wouldn't recommend, it is right next to hospital and a long walk to restaurants and other cairns city attractions.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank princesscoopioe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReillyCairns, Manager at 181 The Esplanade, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
As everyone can see, we don't respond to many reviews on Trip Advisor and take the good with the bad as they come through knowing that we have done our best.
I do find it particularly disappointing though that a very critical and subjective review can be posted by someone who didn't even stay with us. As you can probably tell, the request by the reviewer for a discounted rate / free night etc didn't go well and I believe this bad review was from resentment rather than fact.
I must say I've never heard anyone comment about our air freshener before, in fact just the opposite, and I believe any comments that are critical of our location just hasn't compared the noisy CBD to the peaceful Cairns Esplanade.
I have contacted Trip Advisor to discuss this review with them but so far no response. This site can be a useful reference tool if used properly but it doesn't help anyone when it's used for revenge or to threaten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    52
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
64
35
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed at 181 The Esplanade recently with family. It was difficult to find 2 bedroom accommodation in Cairns without booking an apartment, so this place was appealing. Should've done my homework and looked on a map just how close to the restaurants this place was, not close enough if you have small children, elderly guests or it is pouring rain. If the weather is lovely, it is a nice 10 minute stroll.
The main bedroom had a great view and was spacious, however the facilities and décor were dated and the room stank of stale urine and urinal cake. The showers were low flow and luke warm, and the mattress hard with stained sheets.
The hotel did however have undercover parking at the rear which was a bonus, and it is also right next door to the hospital if that is something you are looking for.
We forked out a bit of extra cash for the place as we wanted the 2 bedrooms near the Esplanade precinct, however it seems the higher price was purely for convenience and not quality. A 3 star hotel (?motel) at best, I won't be forking out for this place again as Cairns has a lot of other better options for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at 181 for 8 nights whilst on a family visit / holiday in Cairns. The property is located next door to the Cairns Hospital. We had a one bedroom apartment (actually a 2BR 2Bath apartment with the 2nd BR and 2nd Bath locked off). We had never stayed at this property before, but we were very pleased with our very spacious and clean 7th floor apartment. Both balconies featured beautiful views of the famous Cairns Esplanade which, BTW, we walked daily. We did not utilise the hotel's tour booking facility but going by the regular queues of guests who did, it is apparent that the staff are well versed in the facility. The bed was very comfortable, and the well appointed bathroom was a dream. There is a tavern and a small shopping centre within 5 mins walk. We had no qualms about walking along the Esplanade to town, but some guests may think it is just a little too far. Our only suggestion would be to install a table and chairs to the bedroom balcony. Comparable water view apartments at Trinity and Palm Cove were $100 p/n more expensive. We will definitely stay at 181 again. Recommended.

Room Tip: (i) Rooms facing north east and east are the best. South easterly facing rooms are slightly impinge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodyinthemiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

These are serviced apartments, of a high standard located on the Esplanade but just far enough away from the centre of Cairns to avoid any noise but close enough to easily walk. Also the Manager Ashley helped with booking a couple of trips for us, using his local knowledge to ensure we met our objectives and also ensuring we picked the right day for a trip to the reef based on local weather reports. The apartments were also good value.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor room overlooking the Esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful stay at 181. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the fourth floor, with a lovely view of the esplanade. The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable.

Ashley the manager, was extremely helpful in suggesting and organising tours and activities, though at times we did feel pressured to comply with his suggestions. We would suggest that you do a bit of research yourself before arriving but do not hesitate to ask him as he has good connections in the local community and can get you good deals.

The location is ok. It is a 20 minute walk from centre of town. However tour buses are happy to pick up and drop off directly from the apartment block.

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend 181 in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Harlz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment for work. It was spacious, clean, great facilities and very friendly and accommodating staff. Great views of the esplanade. Brilliant place to stay, highly recommend to everyone. Will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our first holiday in Cairns. I booked this apartment because it was well priced, looked new and the managers were helpful and attentive. We asked for an apartment with a nice view and were given one on the fifth floor with ocean-front and esplanade views to our delight, as opposed to one facing hospital construction next door. The apartment was spacious and comfortable. The pool and spa were a nice treat. Our live-in managers, Ashley and Lyn gave us great local advice on tours and things to do in our week in Cairns which enhanced our experience. We were located a nice distance from town which was an easy walk away and the area was not too noisy. We unanimously agreed that we would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment facing the esplanade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ming C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#44 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 181 The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 181 The Esplanade

Property: 181 The Esplanade
Address: 181 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 181 The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 181 The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
181 The Esplanade Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing