We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, but...”
Review of 181 The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
181 The Esplanade
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a bad place, but...”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The room itself was aging but parts like the kitchen were new. We were told we would be near the top with an ocean view but found ourselves on the 4th floor looing over the hospital construction site next door. There was some noise from that, but that's just how it is, and they were usually finished by 3

The elevator's are very old. One night on our way out to the movies, the elevator jammed with us inside and we were stuck for over half an hour before the OTIS guy could come and let us out. The female manager came and all she said was "stop talking and let me talk to the man", whilst constantly informing us that she was the manager. We were shocked that not once did she ask if we were ok, and once she had spoken to the man on the phone she left, not knowing how many people were in the elevator, nor if we were alive. She really didn't seem to care about us at all, and seemed more concerned about simply finishing work.

If you don't have a vehicle, it is a substantial walk into the centre of town, we were lucky to have a car.

as for the room, the new kitchen was quite nice with new appliances. The lounge chairs were quite firm and uncomfortable, but the beds were nice. We could see a little snippet of the ocean but mostly the two balconies looked straight to the building next door, which was not what we were expecting. Overall the room was nice. Great water pressure coming out of the shower as well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Beau G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
61
34
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Strathalbyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at 181 at the end of May, for 9 nights. This is the 4th time we have stayed there, so evidently we like the place. We have always stayed on the 7th floor, usually in the two bedroom apartment, No. 28. I must admit that the apartment could do with some refurbishment now, but it was still comfortable and clean, and very quiet. It is lovely to be able sit on the balcony with a glass of wine, and relax looking at the view. There is a very pleasant walk into the CBD along the waterfront, and there are plenty of places to sit while you take your time and enjoy the scenery. If we don't have a hire car, we usually walk to the main area, the shopping centre, or Rusty's Market, and get a Taxi back to 181. In our experience the staff have always been very helpful, and we would have no hesitation with staying there again.

Room Tip: Book early to get an apartment on one of the higher floors. We usually go in late May, before the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at 181 for 6 nights from 2/4/13. Even though we arrived after 6 pm had no problems accessing our unit, We had 2 bedroom unit (16) on 4 th floor .. Unit was very spacious,spotless , well equipped with amazing ocean views,, easy walk to convenience store and a variety of eating options.. (I recommend going to Cock and bull for a great meal).. Even though its next door to hospital we were not affected by it. Definitely would go there again it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Front ,left side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisavRockhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am a Cairns local and chose to stay here at the 181 Esplande this weekend just gone. My friends and I found it value for money and the staff both friendly and helpful. The Cairns City Centre isn't too far away however if you're not keen on walking you can get a taxi for a small price. The place features a sauna, spa and pool which we found enjoyable. We were also impressed with the features and appliances of the room. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor which was nice and spacey with wonderful views of the sea and mountains - two balconies, modern kitchen & appliances, own laundry that includes washing machine, dryer, a satchet of washing powder and fold away clothesline in main bedroom cupboard, both rooms have built in wardrobes main with sliding mirrors, 2 bathrooms (ensuite & main) and a generous lounge and dining room. The staff are also able to help you organise and book trips and tours in Cairns and surrounding areas, the lobby has a wall full of pamphlets and information on different trips and tours if you would like an idea of where to go. My friends and I and my mother who visited are very impressed with the place. There's a construction site next door however this didn't effect our stay as we stayed on the opposite side to the construction site and they don't work on the weekend's. We will be staying again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alansah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this holiday apartment complex over the new year period for 1 week in a two bedroom apartment overlooking the pool and sea. A relaxing 20 minute stroll into Cairns central along the board walk. If you head out of the complex on the carpark side, there are some great eateries within a few minutes walk of the complex, one being the Cock and Bull on Grove Street. Some minor repairs needed to make apartment come up to speed which was reported to the apartment rental management, but all in all our stay was excellent. One suggestion I would have is that to extend the opening hours of the pool to adults and place a curfew on children entering the pool, and that children should also be accompanied by adults. We saw so many children creating mischief from our balcony with not a parent in sight. Lovely gardens to look at on site. Very helpful on-site manager.

Room Tip: Units on the sea & north side would be better. Discover the eateries nearby also instead of mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thirst4culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, TX
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apt on the 8th floor. Queen bed in one, twins in the other. Clean, nice with a great view of the ocean. Reception said it was a 10 min walk to town, but it's more like 25 min ( or worse in the wet season!). Everything worked fine, laundry facilities were good, and they let you have towels for the beach for a small fee. Only complaint we had was that our bedroom and kitchen had small ants. They were in and on the bed. Ugh!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgwd000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsford, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked a apt for 6 of us, but only found out that the apt we are allocated only has two bedrooms, and two of us had to sleep in the living room with roller beds.
The main problem is the air conditioner, because it only can work to the living room or bedroom, can't make the air conditioner working to both of bedroom and living room.
Another problem is that the bedroom is so duty that I kept sneezing for the whole night. I am not sure id because the carpet is too dusty or the blanket is too dusty! Anyway, I had a tough there!

Except those problems, the apt is located on the main street in Carins, and quite convenient to go to downtown.
Moreover, the receptionist is a very friendly lady!

Room Tip: The receptionist is only open to 6pm, so need to arrange the late check in. And make sure you get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matilda_pan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#49 of 64 in Cairns
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#27 of 64 in Cairns
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reef Gateway Apartments
Reef Gateway Apartments
#54 of 64 in Cairns
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 181 The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 181 The Esplanade

Property: 181 The Esplanade
Address: 181 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 181 The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 181 The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
181 The Esplanade Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing