We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acacia Court Hotel
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Much better than expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had booked my stay before viewing the reviews on Trip Advisor. When I did see reviews I became somewhat anxious as to whether I had make a serious error! However I am happy to report that my stay in this hotel was most enjoyable.. We had an ocean view on the 6th floor, end of corridor with wonderful views across the Esplanade to the ocean beyond. The room was clean, spacious and light. Yes, the style is somewhat dated and the bed linens are of a colour scheme that went"out" years ago. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning very efficient. The balcony was a welcome bonus. For a budget hotel the Acacia Court was excellent. Contrary to other reports on this site, I found the check-in staff efficient (not overly smiley it must be admitted, but so what?) and helpful. WiFi was available at no extra cost - it did not work in the bedroom but was ok in the reception area. The breakfasts were plentiful and of reasonable standard. On site car parking was available and at no charge. My only negative was the quality of a room service meal on our send night. I would advise getting an Ocean view room on a high floor to take advantage of the view.

Room Tip: Ocean view. Higher floor. End of Corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    80
    79
    39
    51
See reviews for
53
85
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel before when in Cairns and was very pleased with everything about it.
I did some Internet searching for prices and availability and was pleasently surprised to find that this place, which is where I wanted to stay, had a very attractive rate. I was surprised however to find that it was cheaper to book on a booking agency than direct with the Hotel.
I will agree with others, this Hotel is not a new building, but everything that I wanted was there and in good order. To start with there was always senior staff on the front desk who were pleasent and had a sence of humor. The car park is easily accessable any time.
The rooms are quite comfortable and pleanty of space to move around in. Plenty of room in Bathroom and a good shower over the bath.
Everywhere in the Hotel was spotlessly clean, especially my room.
Of course a lot of sins can be forgiven by the views that you get, no matter what side of building you are on.
The only downside was the Buffett Dinner at night in Charlies Restaurant. It is nowhere to the standard that it used to be. For what you get it is overpriced. There was no meat dishes except some small breakfast sausages. I only ate there the first night, other nights I went elsewhere.
At the end of my 6 night stay I was very happy with everything. I will certainly look at it again for future stays.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room and one on the end of building, you get to see both water and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I'm writing this r/v at 12:20 at night having left this hotel at 10:00 in disgust. I often stay at this hotel because it's close to the airport and far enough away from the CBD to be a quiet stay.
Though tonight at 7:45 I reported a problem with the toilet not flushing and received little reassurance that the problem would be fixed or we would be moved to another room.
Benefit of the doubt given until a waiter from the restaurant was sent up to assess problem then as I was leaving the room to check out a phone call to say that the manager was coming up to check, it is now nearly three hours after reporting the problem. This was to be our first night of two paying $109.00 AUD per night. We received $65.00 refund!!!!!!Last word from the manager was "stay or be refunded $65.00 of your $218.00".........We checked in today at 12:00 and checked out tonight with our $65.00...never to return.......ripped off I was!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sam8Ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Selborne UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was my fifth visit to Acacia Court - its situation at the northern end of Cairns Esplanade in a quiet part of the city and its outlook over Trinity Bay is its main attracton. The hotel is rather dated now, but its situation and reasonable charges go a long way to offset this. I did notice some re-decoration taking place during my stay. The breakfast buffet is good, and fairly priced and there is also a buffet dinner 6 nights per week. However, the attitude of the Reception staff lets the hotel down greatly. I was met by an extremely off hand gentleman, and whilst I was waiting to check in I witnessed him being extrmely rude to another guest.
This rudeness I was to experience myself the following day. This has been lovely hotel, and Ihave enjoyed my previous stays here, but the general attitude of the staff may make me think twice about a further visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReindeerSelborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Believe the reviews about the hotel regarding the service and room age (ie a bit tired) but for us the view and buffet breakfast made up for these short comings. Located at the quieter end of the esplanade, we found the hotel to be good value for the few nights we were in Cairns. Knowing the service and the rooms we would be happy to stay again for the view and convenience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank allpoints2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I agree with most people the room was okay, location was not too bad along the seafront however as people come to cairns to swim etc could do with heating in the room. Also was greeted by an old battleaxe and even the male receptionist was not helpful. There was no notice to where the swimming pool including in the hotel information guide. Also left luggage area was not secure anyone could walk in and take it away. Welcome to cairns

Room Tip: avoid at all costs unless desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was surprised by the room and wouldn't stay again. It had a great view but besides that I wasn't happy with the hotel. There is an old radio installed in the bedside table, while the sheets and other things around the room seemed really old and outdated. What was really annoying is that the staff is not helpful. I needed ice and there was no ice room like in most hotels, so I went downstairs to the bar and asked if I could have some ice and the bartender said he wasn't allowed to give out ice or management would be upset. I've never heard of such a thing, hotels are supposed to be accommodating. This place seemed a bit old, run-down, and not worth $100+ a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#45 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#61 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Property: Acacia Court Hotel
Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing