We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but very unfriendly service”
Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acacia Court Hotel
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value but very unfriendly service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I regularly stay at this hotel because it is the best value I found in town in terms of location and great views of the esplanade. The room are a bit dated but they are always clean and tidy. Views are great. Service each time has been very cold and unwelcoming. I have to even say hello first and am greeted with almost a huff which makes me feel like I am an inconvenience rather than a valued customer. I don't think I have seen the front desk staff ever smile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanaus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    80
    82
    45
    59
See reviews for
58
92
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at characterless Acacia Court for one night. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable with a great location. However, the reception staff leaves a lot to be desired. Very unattentive, no hellos, no smiles or recognition of you as a paying customer. Every request was met with indignation. Will choose another hotel the next time in Cairn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hauki_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms were fine, and had a nice view overlooking the bay at Cairns. It is about 30 minute walk outside of Cairns, but this is not necessarily a problem- just something to be aware of.

However, the folks operating the desk while we were there really need improvement. When I arrived at 5:30PM I was told that I had already checked in at 3:30PM. Clearly they made a mistake and logged an earlier guest under my reservation. After a few minutes of concern that we might not have a room, we were told to go to room 207. We weren't given a key, just told to meet the cleaning staff there at the room who would let us in. After 5 minutes of waiting in the hallway, a staff member met us and opened the door. There were already bags in the room- someone else was still staying in that room! We had to then convince the staff member that these were not our bags, as she was convinced that we had already checked in! We went back downstairs and were finally checked into a room on the 8th floor. The whole process took about 1 hour of our time on our last evening in Cairns, causing us to miss the sunset. Lastly, we paid for wifi in the room. It never worked. I phoned the desk and was told it doesn't work on the 8th floor. I was not told this when I paid for the wifi. I then when down to the lobby where I got the wifi to work by standing at the desk. When I checked out I was told that I could not get a refund for the wifi, since I had used it in the lobby. The amount of money was small, but the customer service of not refunding someone for a product that did not work as advertised was astoundingly poor.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the ocean have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bennej02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Acacia Court Hotel offers various standards of accommodation and great views of the sea and mountains. Motel, mountain views, and ocean views at very competitive prices. All under $100. The hotel also offers Charlies Restaurant where you can enjoy a great value buffet dinner and buffet breakfast. The hotel offers the usual free Internet, a bottleshop, swimming pool & spa, sauna and movies and TV. You also receive a discount on the meals when you stay. Good accommodation and great price.

Room Tip: At the prices offered why not go for the best rooms with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily-kyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We live in the country but stay overnight in Cairns about 4 times a year. We need the services of a good value hotel that is clean and well positioned. The Acacia Court Hotel fills this niche quite admirably. We do not need hotel staff with the fake smiles and being told to have a great day and you don't get that here.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view over the Esplanade are more expensive. We are happy with the cheaper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl Beach NSW
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Here recently for 7 nights. Not once did the owners/managers sey hello or acknowledge me (or anyone else for that matter) even though they cant miss you. You are right by the reception desk on every entry/exit to the hotel Very interesting management style for a hotel. Very.

Best view from room over esplanade and ocean, shame about the early flights departing cns airport, sleeping past 5.30am challenging ifmthe sound of jet engines are,likely to wake you.

Room clean and housekeeping ladies friendly and bed ok, tv fine as was air cond nice and quiet. Decor, challenging, but for the $$, the challenge ok.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelpearlbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Arrived at 4pm to check in and waited 25 minutes in a queue. the receptionist did not ask for any identification, instead just asked for our surname and handed us our towels as she informed us there would not be any in the room. While going up in the lift, there is a sign indictating the guest that when having a shower you must leave the bathroom door open and a window open in the bedroom to stop the fire alarm being triggered and if the fire brigade was called we were then liable for the cost of the call out. When we got into the room the cleaner was still there and we waited 10 minutes outside for her to finish. When we finally got into our room, we found the clean sheets were still wet. I rang house keeping and told them the sheets were wet and was told she would have someone fix it but no one ever did come. Bad night sleep with damp sheets and a very uncomfortable bed. We ordered room service(cheese platter and bowl of chips) it arrived 45minutes later and was a Woolworths bought cheese platter and the chips were cold and soggy and unedible. While checking out we were made to wait again. Overall a very bad experience, we wish we had gone next door to the Mercure.

Room Tip: Don't go there, go next door to The Mercure
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.1 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#44 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#19 of 64 in Cairns
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Property: Acacia Court Hotel
Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing