We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Accommodation”
Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acacia Court Hotel
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Ipswich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Budget Accommodation”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great Budget Accommodation, friendly reception and dniing room staff, clean rooms, adequate beds, great seafood buffet nightly at 6pm. I would recommend paying a little extra and include B&B, breakfast is well worth enjoying.
Pro's, nightly seafood buffet at Charlies, Ocean view rooms, quiet locality although a little our of cairns city, Taxi's and local buses available.
Con's, bed's not as firm as desired, and in flight path or arriving aircraft.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    80
    80
    40
    51
See reviews for
53
86
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
goldcoastlocal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for a night and intended staying for 2 nights on our return to Cairns. We arrived early at about 10 am from an early flight and received an unfriendly welcome. We couldn't check in which is fair enough but told to just sit and wait. We checked after half an hour to see if a room was ready but told to come and check again in another half hour or so. We were grateful to check in when we did but felt awkward. The receptionist grew on us after our initial experience. It is good value for money although room is a bit dated. Stayed at the Mercure next door on our return for about $50 extra a night. Room was same layout with similar views over the Esplanade but the staff were very friendly and the hotel more modern. We felt more comfortable staying there.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get an early check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldcoastlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns, qld
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Things that could be improved:

1. Have reserved parking for hotel guests, especially on weekend nights so that guests don't have to park out in the street while restaurant guests can park in the hotel park. Very frustrating.

2. If you have paid for a room that has three beds how about having three towels so that all three guests can use one each.

3. Air conditioning vents could do with a clean as could the shower exhaust vent.

Other than that, happy customers again. Good value for money. Good location and great views of the esplanade. Just hope that something is done about the parking before next time. It would just make life a bit easier....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Clean! Spacious! Great value for money! Wonderful breakfast buffet! Good location. Would recommend to anyone coming to cairns as a great base to explore the area. Also very comfy beds for great sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjousiffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed one night last week. Nice hotel, big room, big balcony. At the Northern end of Cairns Esplanade past the Hospital. No worries if you have your own transport or if you are prepared to walk a little. Right on the Esplanade!

Good buffet breakfast and we had an unbeatable deal from the Hotel website....AUS$ 85 for two including a really good buffet breakfast! Being a Choice (Comfort) hotel, we also got Qantas FF points!!!

Only (small) problem was the musty smell when we entered the room.....probably the aircon vent which needed a good cleaning. However, this either cleared up or else we got used to it. Might affect someone staying for a few nights, if you have a breathing problem! Also staff seemed fairly grumpy...anyway....we had a great deal ,so that compensated for everything! TV was excellent with 3 movie channels.

Room Tip: Mountain facing rooms are cheaper! Who needs a view when you walk right on to the Esplanade?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overniter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early April. The room was clean and the place is very quiet. The people at the reception were quite friendly and helped us with your queries and travel requirements. The place is quite close to the airport; but quite far away from the CBD - like a 20-25 min walk. I stayed in a mountain view room they are fine but I guess the ocean view is a much better choice. Being on the esplanade, the hotel offers good access to a beach promenade for nice evening walks.
If you are looking for a hotel with basic amenities and decent value, this hotel serves well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here on the 16th of February as the cheapest decent looking hotel for a one night stop over. Lady on reception that Friday night was fantastic, upgraded me to a room accessible by lift as I had a lot of heavy luggage. She even helped me enter the lift, very friendly and helpful. Room was basic but very clean. Lovely balcony and tea and coffee making facilities was a bonus. hotel had a fun, welcoming vibe about it. Nice restaurant area overlooking the pool, large bar and on site bottle shop. would stay here again. Only drawback is the 20 minute walking distance to the esplanade. But for the price, not everything can be perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuglaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#46 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#60 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Property: Acacia Court Hotel
Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing