We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I have a smile with that, please?”
Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acacia Court Hotel
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Cooktown
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can I have a smile with that, please?”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Customer Service was terrible here, the only person who spoke to us was the receptionist and only because she had to. Wait staff would not make eye contact, let alone greet me in the morning as I went down to have breakfast. The chap on the front counter to take my name and room number must have had a frontal lobatomy as he was null and void of any personaility. Maybe he's not a morning person? Who knows.
The rooms had great views of Trinity Inlet, so thumbs up there. I will not be staying here again though.

Room Tip: Book the Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahincooktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    80
    82
    45
    59
See reviews for
58
92
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My mother and I had come to Cairns for the night, we arrived at 6pm and were informed we didn't have a booking. Now I understand it was the websites fault for not pushing through the booking to the hotel HOWEVER, working as a receptionist in a hotel myself I know that all it takes is a quick call from the hotel to the company to double check the booking exists and therefore they can check the guest in. ALSO we had CALLED the hotel the day before straight after making the online booking to double check we were ok, a lady by the name of Janette answered the phone said she couldnt help us then put us on to the front desk supervisor who then confirmed our booking and gave us the ok!!!!!!!

The man working reception REFUSED to help us, we tried to show him the email with PROOF of the booking he told us there was nothing he could do and that if we wanted to stay we would have to pay (despite our proof we had already paid). We told him the hotel gave us confirmation over the phone the previous day he told us that was "impossible”. When I asked him to call the online company he told me "What do you want me to do 6pm at night? besides Im a little busy right now". I then had to do HIS job, contact the website myself explain and have them call the hotel to tell him to check us in. Because of this incident it took us OVER AN HOUR to get checked in.

DISGUSTING and TERRIBLE staff and customer service, had that booking not been prepaid their is no way we would have stayed there, I will not be reccommending this hotel to ANYONE.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie_Lee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

For less than $100 p/night the location is perfect. Down the Esplanade, past the hospital, ten minute walk along the waterfront into the action! The pool here is very small and there are only 6 sunbeds. If you come in quiet season ( i stayed for three nights 20th September) you'll most likely have it to yourself. Although small it's lovely, hidden from the footpath, has an additional dip pool and a waterfall at one end. The restaurant and bar area is lovely, looks out over the pool and Esplanade. Some good cheap cocktails but bar and restaurant only open for dinner and breakfast. Also the only option for food in the evening is the 'famous' $22 seafood buffet. Nice for a one off but not every night. Plenty of eateries 5 - 10 minutes walk into town. There is also a bottleshop connected to the hotel, they allow you to take your drinks into the pool area. Rooms are clean and all have balcony. Was perfect for me, even had two beds in the room and Foxtel. Although this hotel is a little older than the others, its also cheaper. If it's location you want, and you don't mind a small pool, then this place is good value. Probably not much cop for kids.

Room Tip: Decent sized balcony on all rooms, with two plastic chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyRoo_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banora Point, New South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stay at this Hotel twice each year and it is like a home away from home with its comfortable beds, fabulous views over the ocean and great buffet breakfasts as well as wonderful room service. The price we paid of $125 was for an Oceanview room on the 6th floor with wonderful 180 degree views over the ocean and Cairns city. The buffet breakfast was INCLUDED and was excellent with a good assortment of cereals and juices. There were at least 4 choices of breads for toasting and there was a great selection of hot food including scrambled and poached eggs, bacon, sausages, hash browns, grilled tomatoes, baked beans. There were also croissants, mini cakes, fruit, yoghurt. There was even a hot drink machine with cappuchinos, hot chocolate etc. The room service was great and very good value as well. The daily room service was excellent and having a large flat screen TV with Foxtel channels was a big plus. We will continue to return year each time we travel to Cairns as the value could not be beaten and with a lovely swimming pool as well as a full size tennis court what more could you want.

Room Tip: We always ask for a high floor as the views are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaliese6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

i found this hotel fantastic, the rooms where very tidy had a flat screen tv, kettle, hair dryer, comfortable beds, your basics, i stayed here with my mum in a mountain view room the view was fantastic we got the end room which also over looked abit of the beach so we got to see that without extra it was stunning, i read that the receptionist, night managers ex. are not friendly but i didn't see that 4 of 6 i seen working at reception and bottle shop where very friendly and helpful, the other 2 where not hi how are you but still reasonably nice, the buffet breakfast at charlies is sensational, has cereals, muffins, sausages, bacon, toast, eggs, baked beans, tomatoes, hash browns very delightful, the room service dinner was very good and well cooked just do not order the pasta it was very bad, acacia itself, looks over the beach right on the beach location stunning views at affordable prices for great value, has an internet relax room, own bottle shop, room service, information brochures, vending machines, and walk able distance to town, if not only 10$ or so taxi charge also taxis come very fast, we stayed for 5 nights and would come back and stay here again love cairns and this hotel...

Room Tip: ocean view room or end mountain view room 4 storys and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renny Mikah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a great place to stay.Sure the rooms are a bit old but we had a ocean view room that would be worth $2000 a night in Sydney.And the beds are so comfortable if i could have got one in my bag would have brought it home
The staff were just great.
A special thanks to Les and the dinning staff, chef the food was fantastic.

We will be back again and will recomend this hotel to anyone travelling to cairns

Vic & Gillian Northcott
Sydney

Room Tip: Any room with an ocean view we were on the 4th floor Also go for the bed & breakfast deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you want a cheap place to stay in Cairns, this is worth a try. The fittings, linen, etc. are old and tired, but very clean. For an extra $10 you can get a waterfront room which I feel is worth it. They also have motel units out the back which are really cheap. It is a 20 minute walk into Cairns, or else a taxi costs between $8 and $10. The buffet breakfast is good with a great selection of food. The check in staff could do with some 'personality lessons', but all I wanted was a cheap bed, and that is what I got.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferpaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.1 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#44 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#19 of 64 in Cairns
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Property: Acacia Court Hotel
Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing