We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acacia Court Hotel
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Acacia Court is back in my good books. Updated flat screens in rooms and prices under $100. Internet $2 for 15 minutes in lobby which is standard in Cairns. Better value is the wifi deal $5 for 5 hours and onwards although I had trouble connecting my IPAD the next day with a new $5 deal. Reception staff are friendly but look over run at peak times. Close to the Hospital and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    80
    79
    39
    51
See reviews for
53
85
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel offers either sea or mountain views and there is the option of having breakfast included in the tariff. We have always stayed in the rooms with mountain views which are less expensive as we spend little time in the hotel, only requiring bed and breakfast. The decor is rather basic and a little tired and furnishings include both double and single beds, a built-in robe with a large mirrored door, bench, flat screen TV, bedside table, clock-radio and a table with two chairs. There are tea and coffee making facilities and the fridge only contains water and milk, no minibar (which suits me just fine). There is also a balcony with a plastic chair, accessed by a glass sliding door. The pillows were rather flat but there were extra pillows available. On our most recent visit we had booked two rooms but had difficulty gaining entrance to one room. It took three attempts to find the correct key but the staff were helpful in rectifying the situation. There seems to be either a male or female receptionist on duty. The male is rather abrupt and gruff, the lady more than makes up for it by being very friendly. We paid $108 AUD per room which included breakfast for two. Breakfast was buffet-style and included bread or toast, cereals, juices, choice of hot beverages, baked beans, grilled tomatoes, hash browns, bacon, poached and scrambled eggs as well as canned and fresh fruits, pastries and yoghurt. The restaurant doubles as a seafood buffet at night which is also good value at approx $22 per person for all-you-can-eat. Wifi was available to purchase at $5 for 5 hours or you could use their internet facilities for a slightly higher cost.
The hotel's facilities include a tennis court and swimming pool. If you require a room that is centrally located close to the Cairns CBD, overlooks the sea and you are just needing a place to bathe, sleep and eat, this is for you. While there are no frills, you are guaranteed a clean but basic room, plentiful hot water to shower/bathe, a good night's rest and a substantial breakfast the next day.

Room Tip: The higher floors provide better views. Rooms with mountain views cost less than those with sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookworm0759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and the staff at reception were very unfriendly. Rooms sad and tired but beds were quite comfortable. Couldn't get the TV working as there are certain steps with digital boxes and these were not outlined. Took over half an hour before someone came and 2 calls to reception. We were told there should be some instructions, but there were not any. Easy when you know how.. We had breakfast included in the price and it was quite good. We had the wrong date on the second voucher so took some time to convince them that were were leaving that day. Same problem at the checkout, lucky we had prepaid. Staff certainly need training at this hotel. Carpark under the hotel looks like a dumping ground for all the old matresses, tiles etc. This needs to be sorted out. On the whole a tired old hotel with tired old staff. Position a bit too far out of the city centre but OK if you have a car. Would not take much to improve this hotel. Hair in the shower which was a put off, otherwise reasonably clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juss83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I only stayed one transit night (thank goodness) I arrived at 23.00 (single lady with huge suitcase). Was told by unfriendly man to carry my suitcase up the flight of stairs - what a gentleman! The room was very tired, the sheets were old, paper thin, the blanket looked like it had been on the bed for 20 yrs allso the bed cover was threadbare - not a nice experiance at all. The old fridge was noisy and kept me awake all night! All in all, a very poor experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
210 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have stayed here for one night in transit and it was all right. Some comments say that the staff is unfriendly, but I can't confirm. Both times I have dealed with the reception - at check-in and check-out - they have been friendly. The furniture was a bit old, but that is not importent to me. I slept well and that's the main thing, if your are transiting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have stay in these hotel few years ago so we deceide to stay here again but these time the receiption man no smile and not helpfully at all. On arrival he ask for drivers licence and nothing else at all. On that afternoon we look to see how much was the buffet and it said ont he window $24.95 each so we deccide to go to resturant for dinner and when we got there the man behind the count no smile no hello nothing and he said it is $25.95 each but I said we just notice these afternoon that is was $24.95 he said had gone up now I thought that was very rude of them. The waitress were all nice and had a lovely smile and even the person behind the bar. It not right that they smile and the supersivory do not that is wrong, the surpersory should give example to the works but it was the other way around. The room smell like was mouldly. My husband order breakfast for the morning for himself I do not want anything and the waiter delivered and said $21.00, so I ring reception and ask why were paying everything as we go and she said they do not have a credit car swap from us and said they never ask and she said because you paid your accommadation throw the intenet and said but why we were not told these on arrival she said you can make complant and I am now. I will never stay in these resort again. My husband & I work for resort all our lives and will never ever talk to guess the way the Acacia Court Hotel do. We even notice one of the bath towels was dirty. I am really sorry but I do not like to do these for your but the staff need to know what they have done.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banora Point, New South Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

My husband and I have had another short holiday here and it is about the 5th time we have been here. The value is unbelievable, the Oceanfront rooms have unrestricted views over the ocean and good sized covered balconies. Although the furnishings are a bit out of date they are most comfortable and the rooms are always clean and well maintained. They have upgraded to TVs to large flat screens now and have Austar which is great.
The great price of $105 per night for the Oceanfront rooms is brilliant considering that a couple get a full buffet breakfast included in the price !!!!! The breakfasts go from 6.30am to 10am which is great for people going out on early Reef trips and also for those who like to have a sleep-in. There are about 4 types of Fruit Juices, an assortment of Cereals, Sausages, Scrambled eggs, poached eggs, hash browns, baked beans etc. There is also a selection of fruits and cakes as well as 4 different types of bread for toast. There is a Coffee machine which has all types to choose from as well as cups of tea.
If you went to have this full type of breakfast at a coffee shop or restaurant you would probably pay around $25 each. So if you take that off the price of the room you are only paying $55 per night which is marvellous and the reason why we go back at least twice every year from the Gold Coast. There is a full size tennis court at the property as well as a large swimming pool with spa. We have stayed at many different properties in Cairns but this is easily the best value for money. It is located about 2km north of the CBD in Cairns however this is a lovely flat stroll and takes about 20-30 minutes along a lovely walkway through the lawns and gardens along the way. It is only 2 blocks from the local bus stop which is handy for people who do not wish to walk that distance. A taxi from the Airport cost us only $18 which is great as we had 2 suitcases plus cabin bags. Highly recommended to anyone wanted good comfortable accommodation with lovely views.

Room Tip: It is definately worth the few dollars more to have an Oceanview room rather than a Mountain View ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annaliese6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#45 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#61 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Property: Acacia Court Hotel
Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing