We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service and excellent value”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Our group ranged in age from 4-60+, and right from the start the service we received was excellent. We got a great value deal with Expedia, which included a first-rate breakfast. The rooms were light and spacious with lovely views and the interior design throughout the hotel was modern and funky. The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a fabulous swimming pool which was perfect for cooling off in the tropical heat. I've stayed in many hotels and this rates among the best of its kind. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a great value hotel in a superb location, just minutes from the main jetty and great restaurants. Special thanks to all the staff who bent over backwards to make this a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniedownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,973 - 1,979 of 2,361 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2010

Perfectly placed for getting out to the barrief reef and near great restaurants and bars. Fabulous stay at Hilton with impeccable service, great breakfast and a great inhouse restaurant. Opt for a rooom with a view if you can as this overlooks the wharf and mountains and is lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the entire feel was luxurious and plush.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I loved this hotel. I stayed at this hotel while on my honeymoon for 5 nights and it was perfect. It was our second stop out of 4 different locations and it was my favourite. It was close enough to walk everywhere. We booked a couple of tours through the concierge and she was very helpful. The tours she advised for us were amazing. Our hotel room was very nice(spacious as well). I love staying in hiltons though, the staff is great, the prices are good and you always get a nice (clean) room.

Be prepared to spend alittle bit of money though in the city. Cairns is an expensive place and to just eat an ice cream it costed me and my husband almost 15 australian dollars. Also make sure you check out the great barrier reef. An experience of a lifetime!!!!

If I ever have the chance to go back to cairns it will be the hilton all the way!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I guess my expectations may have been too high for this property (and Cairns in general). The photos looked amazing and the reviews were pretty good. We upgraded to a Deluxe Room and still found the rooms to be a bit rough around the edges. The room overlooked the Trinity Inlet, but also an empty parking lot. The hotel is nicely located within Cairns, but there is not a whole lot to do in the area besides the reef excursions.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

This is a beautiful place. We are Hilton member and so we were on the Concierge floor.
What a great floor. The Club room had some of the best hostess' we have ever had.
They certainly do cater to all. This hotel is tropical and has some great views.
Keep in mind the city of Cairns is typically tropical so there are bugs. We never had any in our room however they were on the board walk and on the patio. Totally expected with that type of climate. The room was spotless. I do understand that they are renovating other floors. Stay on 9 if you can. It is a wonderful splurge.
Everyone was extremely helpful. Weather was not the best but it was there summer and we made the best of it. Would love to go back when it is winter there. The scenery is great. If you like extremely hot and humid weather go in there summer if not wait till winter.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We have only good things to say about the hotel. The staff were very helpful, the lobby was very spacious and light, with good views over the harbour and a lovely bar area. The outdoor cafe was very popular and had a great atmosphere. The rooms were a decent size, clean and comfortable with great bed linen, bathroom and views. The breakfast was extensive and while not premium quality was very good with a lot of choice (there was Japanese breakfast, full English, raisin toast, pastries, tropical fruits, porridge, pancakes and a fresh juicing machine for example). The Thai restaurant in the lobby was excellent. We had planned to say one night but made it two because we felt so comfortable and relaxed. Sure, it's a Hilton so it's not quirky or innovative but it's one of the best ones I've stayed at. Make sure you ask for a refurbished room with a view so you can watch the sunset from your balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My wife and I used our Hilton Honors points for a stay in February 2009. When we checked in, room we requested was not ready, however we were offered to stay in one of the "Spa Rooms" wih two double beds. My wife and I took this option and we were not disappointed. The room was big enough for the two of us, but the bathroom was impressive. The shower area is as big as a walk in closet. As for the rest of the hotel, the Hilton is located within walking distance of numerous restaurants and shops. In addition, it is also within walking distance to the Reef Terminal. When we were there, there was a room off the lobby that had two computers for guests to use, in case you do not bring a computer. Due to the location of the hotel, the staff, and room, I would highly recommend the Hilton.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $129 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing