We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive Floor Offers Some of the World's Finest Service”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2009

The Cairns Hilton is a very good hotel, but where it really shines is in service. All of our interactions were very positive, but the Executive Floor staff team goes above and beyond. We mostly worked with Brandy and Anne, and also a bit with Jemma. They treat you with such consideration and care, and they are consummate professionals.

Most hotels are abandoning top sheets, and when we asked Brandy late in the evening if sheets were available, she promised to handle it straightaway. When we went to the Executive Lounge for breakfast the next morning, Anne immediately asked if we received our top sheets, and we were taken aback that she had been made aware and were impressed that she made the effort to confirm that our needs had been met. Our entire experience mirrored that one example, and set a standard that would make even the Four Seasons envious.

As for the rooms, ours was renovated, with tasteful fittings, very comfortable beds, and plush carpeting. The bath was quite clean, but small and not luxurious. The location at the Marina is ideal and the service was hands-down the best of our Australia travels, so I would absolutely stay there again, even though the room/bath struck me as a four-star standard rather than what I've come to expect of an international five-star.

The hotel was excellent about granting my HHonors elite complimentary upgrade, but if you are not elite with Hilton, I would suggest paying a bit extra for the higher floors, better views, and superb service that come with the Executive rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurtleCreekTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,913 - 1,919 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2009

Checked out yesterday 24/11/09 after spending 7 nights at the Hilton. we have no complants at all. Location Perfect, food and service excellent, we would definately stay there again. we would reccomend a water facing room as high as possible ,floor 7 and above.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I checked in very late on Friday night. The front desk guy was very friendly and answered all my questions. My room was wonderful!! I was on the 8th floor in a spa room(rewards room as I had booked with my points, wonderful room for points). It overlooked the water. Beautiful! The beds were super comfy and the shower/tub combo was awesome. The tub was amazing!! Absolute relaxation! Breakfast was full of options to choose front (hot & cold). Pretty quick seating and normal charges for a resort hotel. I liked that the lift made you swipe your door key to go up. This made things more secure. The location was awesome. 5 minute walk to the Reef terminal where I took a reef tour. Also lots of restuarants to choose from. I highly recommend Dundee. My only complain is that the AC never got extremely cold & the internet was expensive(just used the Business center for free)... No biggie.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenebene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exec_OfficeCairns, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2009

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review about the Hilton Cairns. It is delightful to read that you had a great stay and felt secure in our property. It is vitally important for us to receive feedback from our guests to ensure standards are maintained. The issue with the aircon that you raised has been looked into and rectified.
Your contribution is valued and greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
David Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

For once, we got the correct room upgrade without having to argue. This Hilton has no charm as usual, but provides OK service. Staff is nice, breakfast is superb, pool is good, fitness room is below average. It is possible to rent bikes at the hotel but they are expensive and in very bad shape. All in all, Hilton Cairns resembles Cairns itself. Good for a few days, as a base to explore the region, but don't stay too long. After four days, we transferred to Shangri La which is a better choice (except for breakfast but who needs breakfast before diving in the Great Reef Barrier). I really think Hilton needs a major management change, as all its hotels seem to suffer from the same problems.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCairns, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2009

Dear Customer,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Please accept our sincere apology that your stay with us did not meet expectation, your comments and feedback is of great value to us. I will ensure that every measure is taken to ensure our guest experience improves on the points you’ve outlined.

Thank you again for your feedback and all the best in your travels.

Kind regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

When we arrived for our two night stay we were most impressed - the foyer is lovely and airy and the staff at reception very friendly. However the rooms were another matter. They could have done with a good paint job and a new carpet.....and what other Hilton has a shower in the bath with a shower curtain. On reflection I think we "drew the crow" because I note from other reviews that some of the rooms have been renovated. These certainly weren't offered to us. The room was clean however, and good linen on the bed, but that is all that could be said for the room.
The swimming pool was in the depths of the building down a very smelly staircase - the pool itself looked good, but the area around the pool was very dismal with just a handful of lounges and no pool bar open.
However the restaurant was another story. The Hilton restaurant Hanumans has a sister restaurant in Darwin which we dined at recently and were not disappointed. The Cairns Hanuman was also terrific.....lovely whole deep fried fish, and aromtic Malaysian - service was excellent - a great experience.
Breakfast was organised in the same dining room by the Hilton and it was a fantastic buffet - including bircher mueli and lovely mango and passionfruit smoothies - yum. Buffet had a huge range of breakfast items and we were able to order expressos instead of the percolated coffee. Service wasn't up to speed however, and the staff seemed to be "missing" or clearing tables in another area when we tried to order "made to order" eggs.
The bar was a bit of a disaster also with no banana dacquiris on the bar list - no dacquiris at the Hilton - shame on you!! We asked if they had strawberry or mango but I think the young man behind the bar didn't know how to make them - so we missed out.
I can't say we would recommend the Cairns Hilton to room guests, however if you're in Cairns, do have a dinner or breakfast there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCairns, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2009

Dear Customer,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments and feedback are of great value to us as we are always striving to improve future customer service.

Over the past few weeks we have been rolling out a new rooms maintenance program which address most of the property concerns outlined in your comments. The adhoc odour in the pool stairs has also been addressed. I apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

With regards do 6 Degrees Lounge & Bar, it is true that this venue serves a limited range of cocktails, most on the menu are signature. It is unfortunate that one of our team members did not direct you down to our waterfront bar, Mondo, where a comprehensive beverage list is available.

Proactive and seemless service is a priority of Hilton and I thank you for your feedback which will certainly aid in improving our product and services.

Kind regards,
General Manager, Hilton Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We checked in and out of the hotel three times as we moved on to our Great Barrier Reef trip and two nights in Port Douglas. Each time we walked in the door we were treated as valued guests. Each time we were sent a welcoming letter and a box of sweets. The bellmen greeted us as old friends and helped us store our luggage and retrieve it with great efficiency. The most memorable person of our stays was Jemma, the hostess in the executive lounge. She helped us with our travel arrangements and put together some breakfast items, when she learned we'd be leaving too early for breakfast the next day. She went above and beyond her job, demonstrating such care and concern for her guests.
We have been staying at a variety of hotels around the world. I have to say that the amentities, room and service put this hotel near the top of the list.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

This is an older property which appears rather dated. The pool is small and has only an obscured view of Trinity Inlet. One of the things that struck me was the lack of a doorman. The restaurant was undergoing renovations at the time of our stay. The Hilton does offer easy access to the boardwalk and the marina.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcushall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $127 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing