We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hilton Cairns” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Hilton Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

A beautiful location with equally beautiful facilities(we were on the 8th floor in a spa suite), with a late check out and a locals deal including a buffet breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wish I had such comfortable bedding at my house!! Can not fault the establishment and the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Tanya,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review of Hilton Cairns and for your support as a local – we do value having you stay. It’s great you’ve enjoyed the visit and took a night away to relax. I hope we’ll have you back again soon.

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    694
    269
    96
    50
See reviews for
364
916
132
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Noting too wrong with the hotel except for the breakfast. It wasn't what I would expect from a Hilton. Overall it wasn't worth the price but then it is a Hilton. You expect it to be pricey. The location is really good though and if you can manage to get room with a nice view (like I did) then it really makes the experience a whole lot better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MADDERRARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Madderrari,

Thank you for the review following your stay with us here in Cairns. I appreciate the feedback on the service aspects of your stay and will pass to the team for review. It’s great you enjoyed the location and waterside views. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the hilton for 7 nights. The first impression was the lovely staff. Every staff member we spoke to from the front desk, to the bar to housekeeping were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The room was a corner room that overlooked the marina and the mountains. The furnishings were modern, the bed comfortable and everything was always exceptionally clean.
The only thing that ident like was the pool. The size was great but as we were there in winter we were really looking for sun and warm water ( which we didn't get a lot of....). Also the spa temp could probably be turned up a few degrees for this time of year.
I would definitely return to enjoy the lovely city and the hotels fabulous central location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns and for your 7 nights with us. It’s a great length of time to really explore our local region including the Great Barrier Reef, the Rainforest experience and our local heritage and wildlife. It’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your time with us and I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloncurry, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I checked into the hilton cairns for three nights the hotel is located perfectly in cairns it's so close to everything. I had a room on the 7th floor it was nice and clean and offered a lovely view over the trinity inlet. The food at the hotel is great mondos especially the locals love it as well so that's always a great sign. The service I received from the staff at the hilton cairns was great so next time I am in cairns I will definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank LEICHHARDT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Josh,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review following your 3 night stay with us. It’s great to read you’ve enjoyed the break and made special mention of Mondo Café Bar and Grill – it’s a very popular spot with the locals, and we enjoy being family friendly with space for the kids to play while the parents enjoy a meal. I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton in Cairns twice this year and I will always stay there as it is situated in a nice place and the views from the rooms is just great both day and night. Front reception staff are always really caring and always ask if you're ok and need assistance, so the service just makes you feel special.

If I have to return to Cairns again in the future this will be my first choice.

Room Tip: Pick the sunrise side - it is great in the mornings and you can see the boats floating by from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynKen939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Lyn and Ken,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review and for your repeat patronage – it’s great to have you return. I’m pleased the team have provided great service and look forward to having you visit again on your next trip to Cairns.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I booked 2 nights with Hilton points. I am a gold member and got upgraded to the club lounge. Got free breakfast and free drinks/snacks at dinner. It is motel style inside as the inside is outside, but has a very cool view. Great views from the 9th floor of the other hotels and the city. The location is right at the pier and downtown. Everything within walking distance. Only downside was that it took > 20 minutes to check in which is ridiculous for a Hilton. The last thing I want to do is wait that long after a long flight into Cairns.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ray840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Ray,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor, we really appreciate your on-going loyalty as a valued Hilton Honors Gold member. Please accept my apologises for the delay in check in – I appreciate the feedback. I’m pleased the remainder of your stay was enjoyable and hope we can welcome you back again someday.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Check in was a breeze. Even though I had messed up our reservation on-line, the front desk staff was very accommodating and able to put us in a nicer room with a stunning view of the water and mountains. Room 832 is a king room with a huge whirlpool bathtub; but, the balcony and view are the real highlights. The room is large. It easily holds the big bed with side tables, a side chair, a large desk and chair, and a dresser with a tv on top. There’s a big closet with a safe and lots of storage space. A very nice welcome was the chilled wash-clothes in the minibar fridge. There is room to chill your own bottles of water. There is a good selection of coffee/tea and a pot to boil water.
The bed has good quality linens and pillows. We rested well and recovered from jet lag. There is plenty of lighting. There are electrical outlets at the desk; but, lacking near the bed. The wifi was included with our room and it worked well.
The luxurious bathroom has modern fixtures, huge whirlpool tub, and a neat shower with good water pressure. The towels and bathrobes are soft and fluffy. The amenities are standard Hilton.
Breakfast was also included with our room. The dining room has a wonderful view of the trees and water, it is a delightful spot to enjoy the large buffet with a wonderful variety of foods. The yogurt and fruits are delicious.
One annoying thing is a $4.50 charge to take a pool towel on your reef tour. I understand a deposit to make sure the towels are returned…but really to charge guests $9 to use a couple of towels.
The location is nearly perfect. It is a short walk (less than 5 minutes) to the harbor and the boats to the reef. It is very near the city center and all the shops including a Woolworth’s Grocery Store. Guests can walk to the night market and food court in about 10 minutes. I don’t think there is a bus from the airport. We used a taxi and it cost about $25.
The employees all over the hotel are friendly and helpful.
We definitely enjoyed our stay and can strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a comprehensive review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. It’s great to read you’ve enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and the service from team. I see you’re a long way from home but hope that one day we can welcome you back to the Tropical North of Australia.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing