We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed on the executive floor with an "early bird" discount. Wonderful experience, enjoyed the pre dinner canapés and refreshments. Extremely comfortable bed and cannot fault the staff. Breakfast was of a high quality and beautiful coffee made to order. Will definitely return when visiting Cairns. Convenient location to marina and esplanade shops and cafes/bars. Great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert And Jack... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Robert and Jack,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review for Hilton Cairns. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your Hilton experience – and chose to upgrade to the Executive Floor accommodation and exclusive Lounge services. I hope we’ll be able to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    742
    294
    103
    55
See reviews for
402
984
143
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Being a Hilton, my partner assumed it was going to be all star class and cosey. Upon arrival the front foyer looked every bit a Hilton although it felt a bit desolate. The room was nice and clean and kept well and very spacious. The bed and pillows did leave a lot to be desired and after a few nights there I had a really sore back sleeping in the bed. The girl at the tour desk was a bit short and abrupt as well. all in all, nothing to complain about, but definitely not to the levels of other Hiltons I've been to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus_20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Angus,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Cairns. I appreciate the feedback on certain aspects of your stay and am pleased to read that you found the accommodation spacious and well maintained.
I hope we can welcome you back again on your next visit to Cairns.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hilton Cairns, Australia. Lovely location and views from room. Very comfortable bed. Booked a Qantas package and one night prior. Hotel booking staff were very helpful on some aspects and did intercede on arrangements re booking so I could stay in the same room. However, Hilton Cairns could improve housekeeping/maintenance, porter service and menus. Some staff service very good, other poor. Porter entered room with luggage while I was in the bathroom just after arrival, although I asked him to wait outside. AC was too cold at night, even after adjustment. Had to turn it off. Limited menu focusing on curries and spicy dishes. No gluten free. Breakfast fruit salad bruised and some fruit overripe but staff service very friendly and helpful. One Room Service waiter forgot cutlery. Wider menu catering for international tastes, dietary requirements and staff training could improve food service. Early signs of mould in bathroom. Sink plug and shower did not work properly on occasions. One foot cover off ironing board. TV remote did not work last night. Helpful staff member changed batteries around so it worked. Expensive bar fridge, e.g. bottled water cost $5 at hotel, $2.50 in shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review following your recent stay at Hilton Cairns. I appreciate you taking the time to explain in comprehensive detail your concerns and constructive feedback on our product and service standards. Please be assured that we review all comments received from our guests in order to ensure we are continually improving. I hope we may welcome you back to Hilton Cairns again.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed two nights for business. Room was good- large, reasonably furnished, but came with nothing. No mini bar. No bottle opener. Had to call housekeeping to get the tv fixed - nobody arrived. Had to call again forty minutes later. Room service prices were expensive even by queensland prices. The buffet breakfast was included in the room rate - was terrible. The bread for toast had come straight out of the freezer - it was frozen rock solid. The coffee at breakfast is the worst i have ever tasted. The hotel looks like it was built in the 80s - a bit of a sad sister to the mirage in port Douglas. There's much better to be had in Cairns.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djrg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for the TripAdvisor review following your stay with us here. I’m sorry to read your experience fell short of expectations and appreciate the feedback on the service and facilities. We are continually seeking to improve and note such comments for review and action.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is an older hotel and you can see it in the rooms. The rooms just look tired. But everything is still nice and neat. Housekeeping was done everyday, staff were friendly and fairly helpful. To be honest, I expected more from a Hilton. When you walk in, you’re immediately impressed with the modern and sleek look and décor. As soon as you get to your room, you’ll be immediately disappointed, tired and dirty carpet and tiles, black “mold” in between the tiles. I was impressed with the toiletries provided – Peter Thomas Roth for those beauty queens out there. The asian fusion restaurant (can't remember the name) here was phenomenal - definitely worth every penny. Sometimes you get complimentary water and sometimes you don’t. I don’t know what decides when you get it and when you don’t. Asked front desk for extra towels for our all day snorkeling trip and we got hand towels…who doesn't keep extra body towels at hand? Overall, the stay was just okay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Jamie,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via TripAdvisor and I appreciate the feedback on both the good and not so good aspects of your stay. I’m pleased you’ve enjoyed our signature restaurant Hanuman – it’s certainly well regarded in the local dining scene. I see you’re a long way from home but hope that we can welcome you back again some time.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Hilton Cairns is everything that you can expect from a Hilton property. As we stayed in a Spa Suite I cannot say anything about the size of the regular rooms, but hotel staff was very friendly, location was excellent (near the boat docks and close enough to the Cairns city center). Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were very modern. We had two different reservations. The last reservation we got upgraded from a deluxe room to a spa suite (thanks Hilton Cairns!).

All in all a very pleasant stay and I would definitely stay at the Hilton Cairns again. It may cost a little bit more than another hotel, but you get good service and quality rooms!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaakBaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review for Hilton Cairns. I’m pleased to read you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, especially your Spa Suite accommodation. I know the team will be pleased to read your feedback and hope we can welcome you back to the Tropical North again sometime.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed her in nov. 2009 on our honeymoon..This was our 2nd destination..the hotel is good,had a wonderfull exp. there.
This hotel is near to sea port from where you can find sun set cruises,great barrier reef cruises,dinner cruise etc.One should stay in this hotel when you are in cairns why?? bec. Its near to market u never have to waste your money in taxis and when i entered room TV was displaying name welcome Mr. Gupta.Here we had a room with city view nd things which was quite accepetable as that was saturday night in cairns when we arrived..to be very frank we were not out of hotel bec. We dont wanted to take any risk but was seeing city from hotel,Girls oppsite to our hotel was doing modelling nd was getting picture clicked..nd there was car's music system noice all night i wld. Say..nd hopefully we slept may be at 12:00am nd it wld. Be 4:00 in morning nd i woked up with a sound of breaking a bottle of bear it was frightening ny ways even it was a good experience.
If we talk about this hotel it is pretty good,they have a way for sea side and we can find several restaurants there on sea side.This hotel restaurant's name is Hanuman and that was great for me and my wife as we are totally vegeterain nd chef used to prepare some thing special for us in breakfast and that is quite admirable.Even you can find indian restaurant near by,i searched for it for an hour and at the end took help of information centre and my searched ended there..when i asked him any indian restaurant near by?? he said,yaa..next door..i was like what?? he said yeahh next door and that man would have seen big smile on my face and i was like great..my one hour search ends up here.The hotel has a nice concierge service we were in this hotel for three nights took with them great barrier reef tour,sun set cruise and turango tour and they have done satisfactory job.
Thanks hilton cairns..still have beautifull memories bec. Of u guys.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guptaanant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Gupta,

Thank you for your detailed review about Hilton Cairns on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you were able to return and stay with us. You chose a beautiful time of year to stay in Tropical North Queensland and whether you have a city or waterview room, the views are spectacular. I am pleased to read that you were well taken care of in Hanuman Restaurant with your dietary requirements.
Again thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing