We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We were in need of some sunshine and were lucky enough to have great weather. The hotel was clean and quite modern. The staff were friendly, especially at breakfast. We got to watch the sunrise over the mountains on the morning we got up early for our reef tour. It was a really short walk from the boat to the hotel which was nice at the end of a long day out on the water. Our only bad experience was when our TV stopped working in the middle of watching a movie. When we left we let them know and we did not have to pay for the movie so can't complain too much.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank qlder83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,980 - 1,986 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2008

I stay in hotels about 75 nights a year and this is absolutely the worst of any I've stayed in. The rooms are horrible with mold and rust rampant throughout the facility and tons of ants. It was so bad that I poured two ants out of the coffee pot one morning and, needless to say, don't even think about eating anything in the room and leaving the tray in the hallway for pickup. If you do, expect an ant fiesta!

My wife and I stayed 7 nights and the only thing that kept us there was the location, which is extremely convenient to the city center and the marina for boats to the Reef. I had booked a room with a King bed and upon entering the room found that we had been assigned a room with two double beds. I was going to call and ask to be moved, but we were so tired from a 20-some hour flight that all we wanted to do was shower and relax, so we put up with the two beds. Fortunately, we had a terrific view of the mountains and the inlet, so that, at least, took some of the edge off. Again, great location-but nothing else.

The only reason that this hotel is rated as high as it is is because of the location. It's dated and is in terrible need of a facelift. While I understand that mold and insects can be a problem in tropical locations, I've stayed at dozens of other hotels in the Carribean and South Pacific and never experienced the ant infestation that this hotel has. If you are only concerned about location, then the Hilton is the place to stay. But, if you're really interested in a hassle-free holiday, forget it-book someplace else. This Hilton is definitely not worth the money or the HHonors points!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We recently stayed at the Hilton Cairns. Thinking we would treat ourselves with some 5 * luxury. Well what a joke that was!!.
The Hotel is old and dated. They have tried to update the main entrance and foyer......but it generally looks tacky. The rooms are dated and stale smelling. The bathroom had mould stained in the grout and although clean, felt grotty. We asked for a non-smoking room, yet the people next to us puffed away like trains, so all their smoke ended up in our room. We tried to sit on the balcony and take in the evening views, however retreated to our room and shut the door to escape the smoke.
We had the $35pp buffet breakfast, which looked like you had heaps to choose from, but after we circled the dried eggs, tomatos and suasages 5 times, ended up with a few mushrooms and some fatty bacon. There are some really nice restaurants along the boardwalk (1-2mins away) so save yourself the drama & expense of the cattle trough and eat away from the Hilton. The staff were generally friendly, but the standout on service was a young guy called "Alex". He was very helpful, happy and friendly and no doubt an asset to the Hotel.
Over all we were disappointed with the Hilton Cairns and we will not return. Like another famous Hilton, this ole girl is in serious need of a make over. The location was good, but there are plenty of hotels with great locations and much nicer, newer rooms and facilitites.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

the hotel is nice and modern but they try and charge extra money for everything! also ants in our room lots of them.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank polly036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

The staff at the Cairns Hilton were terrific, but almost everything else left a lot to be desired. When we first arrived, after valet parking our rental car (take note - it is $10 for 24hr parking, or $7:00 to use the hotel carpark every time you leave it, meaning if you leave twice in one day it is already more expensive), we checked in and were pretty excited to see our room. We were less then impressed when we got to our room to find two single beds. We had booked a room with a king-size bed, and as we were in Cairns to look at wedding venues, the idea of sleeping in seperate beds was less than romantic. So my fiance called the front desk, only to be told that if we wanted a queen or king size bed we'd have to pay an extra $70 a night, as they only had spa suites vacant. Not wanting to ruin our rare long weekend by arguing with them, we agreed, and were told we'd have to wait as the previous person in the room had a late checkout. We were fine with this, as long as we were getting our room, and were pleased when told we could go out and they'd take our bags up to our new room for us when it was ready.

When we came back, the staff immediately told us our new suite was ready, and gave us the key. On entering the room though, we were slightly bewildered at finding someone else's bags, along with our own, in the room. The other person's bag was open and made us both feel extremely uncomfortable and like we were invading someone else's privacy. Again, we rang the front desk and told them what had happened, and they said they'd send someone up straight away. While waiting for the staff member, my fiance opened the cupboard door to find someone else's clothes hanging in there too. The concierge took the bags and clothes away, and we still have no idea why they were there in the first place.

Now the rooms. The spa suite is exactly the same as the normal rooms, only with a nicer bathroom that has a spa bathtub. The bathroom and the tub in particular were fantastic, but the rest of the room was really at odds with it. The bathroom is ultra-modern and sleek, but the room is dated-looking, which was an amusing contrast as the bathroom has one big glass wall so you can see into it from the bedroom. Because we were in a spa suite, we got two free iced teas and some cold scented face towels, which were a really nice touch and felt great after a hot spa bath.

One other thing that we found interesting was the price of the breakfasts - if you pre-ordered, it was $30 plus, which included a continental style breakfast plus eggs. However, if you rang room service and ordered the 24 hour breakfast, you get a full bacon and eggs breakfast for $17. We took that option, and the breakfast was probably one of the better ones we've had.

All in all, the staff was really the only aspect of the Hilton Cairns which we felt was worthy of five stars, a they were polite, helpful and pleasant at all times.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fourteenseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel for a week. We had been to Cairns before but this time chose the Hilton for the location and the restaurant. The hotel is right in the city centre, on the waterfront and very close to the boats departing for the Great Barrier Reef. We visited their restaurant 'Mondo' a couple of times the last time we were in Cairns and loved it, the only place in Cairns where you can really sit at the waterfront and enjoy a great meal. The rooms are bright, clean and you can see the water and mountains from your balcony. The lady at the reception was so helpful with booking our trips. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank Topadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

Stayed at Hilton Cairns this week. Probably one of the best locations in Cairns on the waterfront and right next to the boat Marina to the reef. Friendly and attentive staff who were genuinely interested in our time up there. Hotel has a really funky lobby and awesome restaurant on the waterfront. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TraveladdictSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $127 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing