We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a stop off for an international flight. Great location, great staff. Would definitely stay again. Very comfortable beds and pillow. All of cairns cbd and the lovely boardwalk lagoon area an easy stroll away.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24plover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review of Hilton Cairns. The team and I are very pleased to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay and made the most of our waterfront location – our city is blessed with lovely areas for walking, relaxing and enjoying the sights. It’s a 6km walk end to end along the Esplanade, and if you’re tired along the ways there’s plenty of spots to stop for coffee!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location for all tours onto the reef, you are a 5 minute walk from the reef fleet terminal. It's also only a short stroll to the esplanade and the strip of bars and restaurants there.
The service was excellent we would happily stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Livinthedreamlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review following your recent stay with us. The team will appreciate the great comments on their service excellence and we hope you’ll be back again soon.
Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We found the Cairns Hilton to be the perfect base for a quick weekend away. While the hotel is not brand new, it's clean with large rooms, very comfortable beds and lovely staff. We were fortunate enough to have a stunning inlet view, and an early check-in and late check out were very much appreciated. The balcony was the perfect spot to relax (when the windy weather changed our plans to laze around the pool). It was good to see a local product (Daintree Estates Chocolate) being supported - as a delicious welcome gift. It's a tiny stroll to catch a cruise from the marina (try the one hour inlet cruise by Cairns Adventure Cruises if you're short on time).

The internal garden and ledge pots really need some TLC and could be absolutely gorgeous. Brekkie staff seemed quite overwhelmed - it took about 20 mins to get some overcooked poached eggs. The grilled tomatoes were raw and the grilled mushrooms were boiled and still swimming in water. However, the views are great, and when we returned that evening for dinner (as Hanuman restaurant), the service was impeccable and the food divine.

The exec lounge is small and cosy. Nice to have the TV off during the pre-dinner service, especially on election night! Apparently it was too windy for the bats to do their sunset flight, so we still have that to look forward when we return. Great stay, thanks Cairns Hilton!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropporama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review via Tripadvisor following your stay with us. I appreciate the aspects of feedback you’ve provided and your comments on the overall positive experience during your stay. We are proud to support the diverse range of local producers available here in the North including Chocolate, Honey, Tea, Coffee and our fresh produce suppliers. The quality and range are excellent and many guests pass great comments like yours. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had one night remaining in Cairns, so decided to go luxury, and chose the Hilton because of it's location and previous experiences in other cities. We were not disapointed. Lots of nearby restaurants, as well as it's own, beautiful esplanade position, lovely room with balcony, very helpful staff. I could go on....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Colleen,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review for Hilton Cairns. It’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your last night of the holiday here with us at the Hilton. I know the team will be pleased to receive your feedback and hope we can welcome you back again when next you have a break in the Tropical North.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hilton is located in a fantastic location and easy to navigate to the lagoon and outdoor activities. The staff are friendly too. I didn't get to use the pool but it looked inviting. The airconditioners are a tad noisy in the rooms but I enjoyed the location a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Carlee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Carlee,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the positive feedback on how you’ve experienced the team as being friendly and you’ve made the most of our waterfront location. I hope we can welcome you back again when next you travel to the Tropical North.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

great hotel. stayed with family for 4 nights . upgraded to Exec floor. excellent staff at reception and at the Exec lounge. very attentive and courteous.. great rooms, great pool and great breakfast at Hanuman restaurant..

closer to the reef terminal anbd few mins walk to centre of the city... a really good place to stay overall.

the only thing that needs to improve is the Gym.. just one treadmill where some of the functions dont work for a large hotel needs to change

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahee_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Mahee,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns. I appreciate your feedback on the Health Club facilities and note that there are plans in place for upgrading in this area. It’s great to read you and the family have enjoyed the services of the Executive Floor Lounge and I know they’ll appreciate your positive comments. I see you’re a long way from home but hope that we can welcome you back again when next you travel to Australia.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Previously stayed at Hilton Cairns 15 years ago. Due to cancelled flight after a week in Port Douglas, opted to pay for our own accommodation and stay at the Hilton Cairns. It was just as good, if not better, than last visit. It was so relaxing sitting in Mondo's Bar looking out over the water. Rooms were great and food in restaurant was fantastic! Would definitely recommend this hotel and would always stay here when visiting Cairns in the future. It was great to see Gary again at Concierge - he was there 15 years ago!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Marilyn,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. Sorry to read of your flight problems but I’m really pleased that you’ve returned to Hilton after a 15 year absence. Mondo Café Bar and Grill is a real favourite with the locals and quite unique that you can enjoy absolute waterfront dining and beautiful views across the water. I know Gary will really appreciate your comments and I thank you for remembering him after 15 years!! I’m really lucky to have a team of long term dedicated people here in the hotel. I hope you’ll return again, sooner than 15 years next time!

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $129 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing