We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Hilton let down by shocking food.”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice Hilton let down by shocking food.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel in a great location with views over Trinity Inlet and only a couple of minutes walk to restaurants and the shopping centre of Cairns. Room was clean and well maintained and with a small balcony. Minibar was quite limited and the pillow service was good. The air con wasn't so good. A fine line between too cold and too hot. However the noise from the air con was rather loud which could keep a light sleeper awake. At all costs AVOID the food! It rated from passable to simply appalling and unappetizing. Breakfast has a good selection, but quality from day to day was variable. Coffee...don't event think about it!! Worse than airline coffee. Simply atrocious. Avoid all dining as the food is tasteless and grey....some of the worst I have seen in a hotel with a supposed award winning restaurant. it seems to have many package tour groups from Asia staying there. Restaurant staff at breakfast can also get rushed mid breakfast and forget any requests you have given them. best to go early when they are less rushed and forgetful.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto Trinity Inlet have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syd675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of the hotel. I’m sorry to learn that you were disappointed with aspects of the food offering – these comments have already been noted by the Executive Chef for analysis. We have a wonderful location here waterside to Trinity Inlet and it’s great you’ve enjoyed the convenience and local attractions.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    748
    298
    103
    55
See reviews for
403
998
145
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A few years ago this was one of my favourite hotels which i consistently recommended to friends and family. Things can really go downhill quickly over the space of a few years. Stayed last weekend and it would have to have been one of the all time worst hotel experiences of my life and i am a pretty tolerant traveller. It was like staying at a nightclub. To try and limit some of the noise emanating from what i understand was a wedding function being held in the hotel pool area we had to keep our balcony doors closed which was a problem as the air conditioning system did not work. The noise and vibrations from the function were unbearable. If you are young and looking for a party atmosphere then this is the place to stay and for anyone else I would suggest you stay elsewhere. In my view it is highly inappropriate for a 5 star hotel to hold functions in an open air pool area with music so loud that it significantly intrudes on the ability to sleep or for guests to enjoy their holiday. Guests should not have to pay good money for such a poor night's sleep. A very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank talesofatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of the hotel via Tripadvisor. I’m sorry to read that you’ve really not enjoyed your stay here and were disturbed by an event held on our poolside terrace. I have sent a message to you to ask that you contact me directly to discuss this further.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel and friendly staff. Beautiful room. The club level was more expensive, but breakfast and evening drinks and appetizers were very nice. Our first taste of Australia was top notch. Business center was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Jack,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review for Hilton Cairns. I’m pleased to read that you’ve treated yourself and enjoyed the extra services available as an Executive Floor guest. I know Anne and her dedicated team in the Executive Lounge always strive for service excellence. Best wishes for the rest of your Australian experience and thank you coming our way.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
393 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great room, great view. Cost is not cheap, but the room was at the luxury level you'd expect for a Hilton. Central location right on the harbor, and a short walk to great restaurants and downtown bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazman1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review via Tripadvisor for Hilton Cairns. The team and I do appreciate the great feedback and we’re glad you’ve enjoyed some luxury during your stay in Australia. You really have travelled from afar but we hope you’ll return some time and enjoy some wonderful Tropical North Queensland weather.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely hotel, staff friendly at check-in and check-out. Room was beautiful with inlet views and comfy beds. Breakfast very average with most items swimming in their own juice and not a very exciting choice. Asked a couple of times when an item would be topped up and was ignored or told "its coming". I would stay again at Hilton Cairns but I would rather have breakfast somewhere else.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Moana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Moana,

Thank you for the review via Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your experience here at the Hilton excepting some comments regarding breakfast. I know my Executive Chef has spoken to you directly as he appreciated the feedback, he will look after you personally when you return. As a local we appreciate your on-going support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for business. Paid extra for executive level and found this to be worthwhile. Arrived first night from MEL & got into room around 1930, went to executive lounge and was able to have canapés and wine, so didnt have need to go out and get dinner. Great service provided in executive lounge every time I went for either breakfast or drinks at night. Great view from room and lounge. Very clean, staff all very friendly & helpful, from check in to concierge. Loved the fact you could open bedroom door and sit on balcony outside, with fresh air. Easy to walk to everything in the city. Pool area seemed great, just weather not right for swimming.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Had room 906, good views and would upgrade again to executive level, esp for business trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. It’s great to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and it’s worth noting that despite Cairns being primarily a destination for leisure travellers we are also very mindful of the needs of our business visitors. Our Executive Lounge offers a unique and personalised level of service and I’m pleased you found time to relax and enjoy an evening drink after work.
I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

One of the best experiences I've ever had checking in. We had prepaid through an online service and all the paperwork was completed when we arrived - only had to sign the form... So easy.

The room was lovely, we had an upgrade to a Spa room and it had a lovely view of the bay and the city lights. It was big enough to get some work done with a separate desk where you could set up your computer etc.

The staff were lovely, even housekeeping found nothing too much trouble - thank you.

We didn't really get a chance to use many of the other services, but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns. The team and I are delighted to receive the positive feedback regarding our hotel location, service and efficiency. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing