We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Stay in Cairns”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel badly needs a revamp. Door on bathroom not able to be closed. Tired looking furnishings. Great view across estuary made it worthwhile. Staff not very welcoming and did not follow instructions. Instead decided to put fault on me - not a nice way to be treated in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Angela,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review via Tripadvisor. I appreciate the commentary on the service and room maintenance, the Engineering team have addressed and rectified the fault you identified. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed the convenient location and views across the water.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,473 - 1,479 of 2,333 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

In the Cairns city, this was the best place I've stayed or been at. The view of the mountains and water was awesome, something I hadn't seen before. The staff were totally friendly and always ready to help...even when the spa bubbles stopped and we were too cold to get out to press the button, a staff member clued in and did it for us! The kids loved the spa, we must've spent hours in there! The weather has been cool enough that the outdoor spa was perfect! The kids thought it was luxury they could choose their own coloured noodle and drink free water in the lobby. My husband and I enjoyed, but couldn't eat it all, the breakfast. I had wanted to try everything, there was so much choice. The breakfast was close to the most extensive I can remember, which included English, Chinese, Japanese, Australian cuisine. The hotel is an easy walk to the city for meals and entertainment. I would recommend this place to visitors from now on, especially if there is a deal (which we did have). One night isn't enough to notice the attention to details everywhere. Take your own snacks, the mini bar is typically, financially untouchable. If you are not from Cairns, take a walk to the local supermarket and buy all the mini bar items for possibly a quarter of the price. But I guess it's nice to know they're there. I am motivated now to find those pillows...

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose higher up with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor.
It is wonderful to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and received a high level of service from the team. For your information the pillows in the hotel are ‘Downey’ pillows.
Your profile shows you are a local and I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to celebrate other special occasions.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here with our 3 year old daughter and it was nice, clean and quiet. Breakfast had a good variety and front desk manager was very helpful pointing out things to do for our 3 year old. The only down fall we had were when we arrived the Bell boys were not very helpful but house keeping was polite and the hotel being old we very well maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear ElleDownunder,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the on-line questionnaire following your recent stay at Hilton Cairns.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback.
I hope we may welcome you back to Hilton Cairns in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

During my visit to Cairns, I picked up Hilton hotel as accommodation since a HHILTON member. It was a magnificent building with brilliant lobby, spa, pool and great view to the sea and harbor from the living room. Though we had a small trouble at first (the sink in the bathroom was blocked up and the water didn't flow down), the manager Patrick was so nice and sent someone help fixing it so quickly. Really like the wheel chair, big bed and the facilities are awesome. My best part was to have breakfast and morning tea on the balcony. So comfortable and relaxing, when facing to the sea. Good place to live and I highly recommend it to everybody visiting Cairns, AU.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Panpan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Panpan Z,

Thank you taking the time to review Hilton Cairns. As a HHonors member, we value your ongoing support and I am delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Hilton Cairns again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Location great right on the water and all the amenities of the city within walking distance. Staff courteous and helpful. Room excellent as was the view. Very handy for the different boat trips out to the reef. Also easy access for trips up into the rainforests and Kuranda. The pool and gymnasium were also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review via Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds as though you made use of the central location to visit the surrounding sightsand covered off many of the key attractions.
I hope we may welcome you back again one day.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was a great location for us, as we were staying the night before leaving on the morning ferry to Fitzroy Island. It is so close to the wharf. Only a short overnight stay, but enjoyed the hotel. Staff were all pleasant, rooms were very nice. Breakfast was only average (in my view), but was included in the rate so that was nice. Certainly much nicer than the Pacific, where I stayed during my last visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karafromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Hilton Cairns.
I was delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated.
I hope we may welcome you back to Hilton Cairns in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our expectations were high being a four and half star hotel. The view from the hotel was excellent and we enjoyed watching the tourists boats departing and arriving each day. The location of the Hotel on the boardwalk was also excellent with a choice of walk way restaurants to choose from. The hotel itself seemed a little tired and could do with a spruce up. Parking was expensive and hard to find if you did not want to use the hotel's parking. Staff were pleasant and service overall was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian-sheppard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Cairns.
I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and the location, central to tourist attractions and restaurants.
I hope that you enjoyed your time in Cairns and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $139 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing