We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location.”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location at the edge of the CBD with beautiful views over Trinity Inlet. Staff are pleasant and friendly.

Our room was tastefully decorated and well equipped. The views were spectacular. The amenities provided in the room were excellent. The bed was comfortable. The opening doors out onto the balcony greatly enhanced the experience and during most of the day provided excellent ventilation such that the airconditioning was not even necessary.

The pool was well situated and clean. Whilst the gym was well equipped unfortunately the stationary bike had broken pedal straps and the buttons for selecting / adjusting the workout were non-functional. The TV on the treadmill likewise didn't work. There was a good selection of fixed and free weights.

The Executive Lounge had a delightful outlook and the staff were helpful, friendly and attentive. The canapes in the evening and breakfast of a morning were both good.

The restaurant Hanuman provided delicious and interesting meals drawing from a variety of east Asian cultures. The wait staff could perhaps have been a little more attentive.

Overall an excellent experience and I will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OchreSilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay here with us, noting the unique location and the friendly team. My apologies for the fault with Health Club machines – these were noted and have since been repaired. I’ll be sure to pass on your comments to the Executive Lounge team and we hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cairns on your next trip to the Tropical North.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Hilton Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,640 - 1,646 of 2,361 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights.
Very well located in the centre of town.
Lovely comfortable room with balcony that is useable and comfortable which is not always the case.
Room is large and comfortable,good lighting and a radio/alarm that I can understand how to use!
There is an internal courtyard gard with an ingenious watering system. The grounds are beautifully kept and the breakfast area looks out over them.The breakfast is extremely good, they have pretty much thought of everything.
The outside restaurant/bar has a totally different feel, but the food is good.

Room Tip: Try and get one overlooking the grounds not the pool. The 20 dollar laundry service is excellent v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycesoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Joyce,

Thank you for the hotel review via Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay here in Cairns and found the accommodation comfortable and well sized. The balcony that opens from the guest room is well sized and views of the city, the mountains or water are picturesque and relaxing. I see you enjoyed dining in our outdoor Café Bar and Grill, Mondo, this is quite a unique waterfront dining experience for Cairns. I see you’re a long way from home but hope you’ll return again some time to the Tropical North of Australia.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Hilton Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have stayed here quite a few times. Cannot fault the service, the food is absolutely splendid, and the rooms are great. Great location too - in the centre of town, and close to the Casino if one has a big night in mind. This hotel provides good traditional Hilton service that makes me keep coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Michael,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. Firstly, my sincere thanks for your ongoing support of the Hilton group and specifically Hilton Cairns. The team and I were very proud to be named as the Best Luxury Accommodation hotel in Tropical North Queensland at recent Tourism Awards and I appreciate your comments which support this win. I look forward to welcoming you back when next you travel our way.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Hilton Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel boasts a wonderful location but seems to hide an otherwise average hotel behind the Hilton brand. My room looked tired and in need of some cosmetic attention . Stingy with the amenities and not enough towels provided. The icing on the cake for me, was the presence of a huge number of people dining adjacent to the pool and spa one evening. Lots of dressed tables and a microphone set up for speeches and presentation. I could not access the spa/pool without disrupting the proceedings and so approached a member of staff to ask the location of the sauna. His response "I think it's broken". I then indicated I was unwilling to use the spa for fear of being a nuisance and he replied "Well you can't, can you". Amazing!!! I have stayed at two other Hilton Hotels, they were wonderful, but this hotel wasn't. I will not be returning for another stay and would not dream of recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAROLINE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Caroline,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I’m sorry to read you did not enjoy your Hilton experience and appreciate the comments. Our pool deck does get used for functions from time to time but the pool and spa are still open for our regular guests to enjoy at the same time – my apologies if you did not feel comfortable to do so and this message was poorly communicated.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Hilton Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel has a large reception area with plenty of seating and includes a small Japanese style indoor garden. There is a large courtyard in the centre of the building, well planted, with the rooms surrounding it on the various floors. This gives a nice feeling of space. We thought there was heavy rain one night but now think it was the plant irrigation system running at 3am !!
We had a nice room with balcony overlooking palm trees. The various small, well tended gardens surrounding the hotel are planted with a lovely mix of shrubs and flowers and there are window boxes running along the length of each balcony providing greenery outside the patio door.
Breakfast was good with a wide variety and service excellent.
The hotel is close to the waterfront and centre of town so there is easy access to everything you are likely to need.
The swimming pool area is clean and well maintained with loungers surrounding it and towels provided. There is plenty of birdlife flying around making it a pleasant spot to relax in the sun.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay and make particular mention of our premium waterfront location, just a short walk to the Reef Fleet Terminal – our gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. In addition there’s a variety of restaurants, bars and clubs that suit all tastes. It sounds like you’ve had a relaxing break here in Cairns and I hope we can welcome you back again when next you travel to the Tropical North of Australia.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Hilton Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

From the Doorman who's name I didn't get unfortunatly to the charming and helpfull Claire in check in to the wonderfull Gemma in the Executive lounge this Hotel exceeds all expectations.

Looking forward to visting again in near future,

As always, it's those who work hard to look after us who make a vist special.

Well done People.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madirish70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Madirish,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay and have such wonderful things to say about the team. Gemma and Claire are great Hilton ambassadors and I know they’ll be pleased to receive the feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Tropical North and Hilton Cairns when next you need a break.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Hilton Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 1 night after the end of a conference in Cairns were we stayed at the Sebel (See other Review) in October 2012. Basically for the same price as we would have paid to stay at the Sebel we had a waterfront room.

Room was nice, clean and with a nice view over the harbour towards Trinity inlet. Staff were great and provided top class service.

OK .. The Hilton is not the cheapest place in town ... but if you are going to spend a bit more on accommodation then you may as well spend it here and get full value for it. Breakfast was awesome and we had dinner at Mondo's downstairs. Mondo's is not fine dining - more cafe style but the food was fantastic and sitting outside on the waterfront made it a very pleasant evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smeg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns and Mondo Café Bar and Grill. I’m glad to read that you’ve mixed some Conference business with leisure and have enjoyed our premium waterfront location – especially the unique nature of dining on Mondo, where you can relax and enjoy the view over the Bay and surrounding mountains. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Hilton Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $129 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing