We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great staff at an excellent budget hotel. Clean, well serviced, two pools. About ten minutes walk to the main town area. Makes it quiet in the evenings. Staff knowledgable and had lots of tips and recommendations of things to see and do. All we were great. Highly recommended for those on a budget.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony room nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and bless your cotton socks, we loved having you stay with us too! So glad you found us just what the Doctor ordered. The great thing about the short walk home from the restaurants is that it helps keeps those holiday kilojoules at bay! Um maybe I should try it more often myself... Again, thanks for your review. Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    90
    63
    9
    14
See reviews for
29
106
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is an excellent budget motel which is clean and comfortable. I would recommend this motel to people who are looking for good, clean accommodation after a day of activity.

RECEPTION STAFF - The reception staff were excellent, giving us advice about tours and places to see in the city. All staff at the motel were polite and friendly. Easy going but knowledgeable, giving the motel a good atmosphere.

THE ROOM - The room was an older style, but was clean and comfortable, with good air con. The property was well kept, both the room and outdoors were cleaned every morning.

THE BATHROOM - Again, older style, but kept nice and clean, no problems with shower/hot water.

PARKING - adequate parking on site for all units, spaces are not allocated, but plenty of parking on the street in front of the motel for high season.

I felt like this motel caters for younger, more active people, but this did not detract from the enjoyment of the facilities. Easy access to the CBD, about 15 minutes walk, but in the middle of summer the walk might be uncomfortable for some.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review; great you found us value for money. We’ve had some really good deals out lately which has left us quite busy. We are just a small team in a family-owned business and we’ve all been here for a long time and we really enjoy what we do and love meeting people from all around the World. We love to laugh along with our guests and as we are a ‘mature’ team (but still good looking of course), we are very down to earth! Oh and I do like the way you’ve set our your review too. Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days at end of December. Staff really welcoming, pointed us to places of interest we could visit. Accomodation was adequate with aircon and fan, pools nice to dunk in after a day out. You can walk in to the centre, takes about 15 mins. Not luxury but perfectly adequate if you are out on trips during the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review; we wrapped that you enjoyed your stay and hope you did some u-beaut tours with the money you save on our budget accommodation. Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The rooms are nice and can have 3 people instead of 2. Receptionist is friendly. Pools are nice as well. Shame that there is no free wifi available. The location is a bit far from the center and the lagoon. It is about 15 minutes walking each time, which can become annoying if you are staying a couple of days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kruimel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad you enjoyed our pools; they are slowly aging (like me) but also like me, they work well (most of the time LOL)! Yes we don’t have free wifi as we are purely a budget hotel, but there are many affordable options available by our provider Jimojo. You obviously enjoyed the public lagoon with many trips there by the sound of it. I suppose the positive in this is you’re probably looking really good in your togs right now. Kind Regards, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas 2012. The rooms are sorely in need of updating. Booked into superior room. Quite disappointing overall! Quite a distance from the mainstream of Cairns, a car would be a good idea especially if during the summer. The room cleaning was not good, very poor! The pools did not appear to be well maintained. The sliding door lock to the room did not give a good sense of security. The reception staff however were pleasant and nice to deal with. It had an overall "backpacker" feel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms appear to be quieter than the motel area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear that our property didn’t meet your expectations but we do understand that everyone’s expectations are different and that is fine, however we do like to hear first-hand if your room has not been serviced correctly, our housekeeping supervisor would have been only happy to meet with you and attend to anything you were not happy with; as you said we are nice to deal with and we like to think we’re approachable. Anyway, we certainly hope that your visit to Cairns city itself was pleasurable and memorable.
Our location, 2 streets back from the Esplanade and 3 north of the mall, is very convenient to some - especially our locals who visit the hospital (just across from us), but others, particular those who are not used to walking or struggle with the heat may disagree. We understand that any amount of walking may be problematic in our tropical heat – especially our stifling Christmas period – so I do tend to suggest a taxi to go anywhere during the hotter part of the day. Taxis are very prompt as the rank is on Lake Street - and they only cost a couple of dollars to get you to the shopping centres fresh (a cheaper alternative than hiring a car). I must admit I don’t walk anywhere I don’t have to at present; I’m not big on our humid summers even after 25 years of them. High humidity is something you never get used to, you just learn to live with them.
I myself don’t encourage people to get a car for the duration of their stay as so many guests say they really don’t get their money’s worth out of it. Day tours pick you up at the door and the Reef departure point is a 10 minute walk so my advice to future guests is to possibly hire a care for a day or two and save a few dollars. Thanks again for your feedback. Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The gentleman that greeted us was very nice. He opened the front door even though his shift was already over and we could have gotten our key from the box on the side of the building. The rooms are nice and the place is great if you are staying for few days to look around. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0Travel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for your review – it’s much appreciated. The boys that work with me on reception are very accommodating and a pleasure to work with; they’re always happy, polite, very informative and we’ve all been a team since the opening of our property as Discovery Cairns Hotel over 5 years ago. We all enjoy our jobs very much and love to have a laugh with our guests; many people say it’s so nice staying with a down to earth team, we are certainly not formal but a group of characters that really love it when we make our guests feel at home. Thanks again, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here recenlty to see the eclipse.....never mind :-(

Good budget accommodation, clean, comfortable and a short walk to the sea front and all that Cairns has to offer. We had a very nice room next to the swimming pool. The onsite Vietnamese restaurant was very nice although a little spicy for our European tongues!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the eclipse was all it was hyped-up to be for you after travelling so far to get here. It certainly was for my family with my son proposing to his girlfriend during the 2 minutes of darkness on the beach – apparently there were a few romantics out there that took advantage of the moment. Kind Regards, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cairns City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cairns City

Property: Comfort Inn Cairns City
Address: 183 - 185 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Discovery Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Cairns City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated, Comfort Inn Cairns City is ideally located two and a half blocks from the City Centre, one block from the Cairns waterfront and easy walking distance to the famous Cairns Esplanade swimming lagoon and all reef and island terminals and approximately eighty meters from Cairns Private Hospital. 3.5 star hotel with tropical contemporary design, 53 rooms, recently refurbished including new beds, flat screen TV's, refrigerators, tea and coffee making facilities, fully air-conditioned, free WiFi, 2 swimming pools, tour desk, guest laundry and free off street parking. You will also find an array of restaurants to delight the taste buds and boardwalks with views of the Cairns inlet and Marina well worth a selfie or two. All this conveniently located within minutes of the Cairns Domestic and International Airport. Our friendly staff are also on hand to offer tour and activity advice for your Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest adventures. We aim to fulfil your ideal holiday expectations and experiences during your Tropical North Queensland stay with us. All tour operators offer pick up services from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Cairns City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cairns Hotel Cairns
Discovery Hotel Cairns
Cairns Discovery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing