We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Budget Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Ranked #33 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas 2012. The rooms are sorely in need of updating. Booked into superior room. Quite disappointing overall! Quite a distance from the mainstream of Cairns, a car would be a good idea especially if during the summer. The room cleaning was not good, very poor! The pools did not appear to be well maintained. The sliding door lock to the room did not give a good sense of security. The reception staff however were pleasant and nice to deal with. It had an overall "backpacker" feel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms appear to be quieter than the motel area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear that our property didn’t meet your expectations but we do understand that everyone’s expectations are different and that is fine, however we do like to hear first-hand if your room has not been serviced correctly, our housekeeping supervisor would have been only happy to meet with you and attend to anything you were not happy with; as you said we are nice to deal with and we like to think we’re approachable. Anyway, we certainly hope that your visit to Cairns city itself was pleasurable and memorable.
Our location, 2 streets back from the Esplanade and 3 north of the mall, is very convenient to some - especially our locals who visit the hospital (just across from us), but others, particular those who are not used to walking or struggle with the heat may disagree. We understand that any amount of walking may be problematic in our tropical heat – especially our stifling Christmas period – so I do tend to suggest a taxi to go anywhere during the hotter part of the day. Taxis are very prompt as the rank is on Lake Street - and they only cost a couple of dollars to get you to the shopping centres fresh (a cheaper alternative than hiring a car). I must admit I don’t walk anywhere I don’t have to at present; I’m not big on our humid summers even after 25 years of them. High humidity is something you never get used to, you just learn to live with them.
I myself don’t encourage people to get a car for the duration of their stay as so many guests say they really don’t get their money’s worth out of it. Day tours pick you up at the door and the Reef departure point is a 10 minute walk so my advice to future guests is to possibly hire a care for a day or two and save a few dollars. Thanks again for your feedback. Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 235 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

The gentleman that greeted us was very nice. He opened the front door even though his shift was already over and we could have gotten our key from the box on the side of the building. The rooms are nice and the place is great if you are staying for few days to look around. Great value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0Travel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks for your review – it’s much appreciated. The boys that work with me on reception are very accommodating and a pleasure to work with; they’re always happy, polite, very informative and we’ve all been a team since the opening of our property as Discovery Cairns Hotel over 5 years ago. We all enjoy our jobs very much and love to have a laugh with our guests; many people say it’s so nice staying with a down to earth team, we are certainly not formal but a group of characters that really love it when we make our guests feel at home. Thanks again, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here recenlty to see the eclipse.....never mind :-(

Good budget accommodation, clean, comfortable and a short walk to the sea front and all that Cairns has to offer. We had a very nice room next to the swimming pool. The onsite Vietnamese restaurant was very nice although a little spicy for our European tongues!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the eclipse was all it was hyped-up to be for you after travelling so far to get here. It certainly was for my family with my son proposing to his girlfriend during the 2 minutes of darkness on the beach – apparently there were a few romantics out there that took advantage of the moment. Kind Regards, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Martin was very friendly and helpful on our arrival. The room was spotlessly clean and had all we needed. The fridge, TV and air con all worked well. We were able to get wifi access too. We were lucky enough to have a private balcony. It is an easy walk to the town centre, the esplanade and the children's playground. Although we had alreadly booked our tours on line, they are able to give great advice and book things for you at reception. It is only about a $20 taxi ride from the airport. Overall, a friendly, comfortable base for a holiday in Cairns. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear all was well with your stay. During the summer months the poor fridges and air-conditioners do battle (at my house too) as the heat is 24/7 and it’s a constant battle to fight the heat so glad you were comfortable. Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff of Discovery were very accommodating when informing me about the hotel when I arrived, as well as detailing the area around Cairns as I was a first time visitor.

The room was clean and airy with enough room for my modest requirements, and I would stay there again when staying in Cairns.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank CairnsGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi Geoff; Thanks for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, your patronage is appreciated. Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is close to the Airport but 0.5k from the centre of Cairns. The hotel is more of a motel, a bit old fashioned but clean and reasonably comfortable. We stayed in an 'ordinary' room not a 'superior' room which was small and a bit worn around the edges. The fridge barely kept anything cold and the air conditioning only seemed to work when it wanted to. The on-site restaurant is expensive but adequate for dinner, the breakfast though was very disappointing for the AUS$17.50 charged. Cheaper and better alternatives are available in the main town centre about 20 minutes walk away. There are a couple of big pubs down at the Marina and Esplanade that serve a great selection of food at reasonable prices. Nice enough for a short stay and the staff are pretty helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollyjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks for your review. Cheap and cheerful we are indeed. Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your buffet breaky. Our restaurant is independently run and I will pass your comments on to them. Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Discovery for two nights in mid October following a night flight from Perth. We were very tired and Helen on the front desk made us feel at home straight away. She booked us into our room-a large twin bedded double with a balcony. The room was very clean and had a fridge which was great. Air con and ceiling fan also very good.

Cairns is a great place and a good jumping off ground for the Barrier Reef.

All in all a really great break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mig7ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi there, that would be me and so glad I made you feel welcome; I try... Thanks for the review, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cairns City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cairns City

Address: 183 - 185 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Discovery Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $74 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Cairns City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated, Comfort Inn Cairns City is ideally located two and a half blocks from the City Centre, one block from the Cairns waterfront and easy walking distance to the famous Cairns Esplanade swimming lagoon and all reef and island terminals and approximately eighty meters from Cairns Private Hospital. 3.5 star hotel with tropical contemporary design, 53 rooms, recently refurbished including new beds, flat screen TV's, refrigerators, tea and coffee making facilities, fully air-conditioned, free WiFi, 2 swimming pools, tour desk, guest laundry and free off street parking. You will also find an array of restaurants to delight the taste buds and boardwalks with views of the Cairns inlet and Marina well worth a selfie or two. All this conveniently located within minutes of the Cairns Domestic and International Airport. Our friendly staff are also on hand to offer tour and activity advice for your Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest adventures. We aim to fulfil your ideal holiday expectations and experiences during your Tropical North Queensland stay with us. All tour operators offer pick up services from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Cairns City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cairns Hotel Cairns
Discovery Hotel Cairns
Cairns Discovery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing