We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick trip to see the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Cairns
1 review
“Quick trip to see the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff of Discovery were very accommodating when informing me about the hotel when I arrived, as well as detailing the area around Cairns as I was a first time visitor.

The room was clean and airy with enough room for my modest requirements, and I would stay there again when staying in Cairns.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank CairnsGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Geoff; Thanks for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, your patronage is appreciated. Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    90
    63
    9
    14
See reviews for
28
106
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is close to the Airport but 0.5k from the centre of Cairns. The hotel is more of a motel, a bit old fashioned but clean and reasonably comfortable. We stayed in an 'ordinary' room not a 'superior' room which was small and a bit worn around the edges. The fridge barely kept anything cold and the air conditioning only seemed to work when it wanted to. The on-site restaurant is expensive but adequate for dinner, the breakfast though was very disappointing for the AUS$17.50 charged. Cheaper and better alternatives are available in the main town centre about 20 minutes walk away. There are a couple of big pubs down at the Marina and Esplanade that serve a great selection of food at reasonable prices. Nice enough for a short stay and the staff are pretty helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollyjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for your review. Cheap and cheerful we are indeed. Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your buffet breaky. Our restaurant is independently run and I will pass your comments on to them. Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Discovery for two nights in mid October following a night flight from Perth. We were very tired and Helen on the front desk made us feel at home straight away. She booked us into our room-a large twin bedded double with a balcony. The room was very clean and had a fridge which was great. Air con and ceiling fan also very good.

Cairns is a great place and a good jumping off ground for the Barrier Reef.

All in all a really great break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mig7ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi there, that would be me and so glad I made you feel welcome; I try... Thanks for the review, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at 1ish pm to a very friendly welcome and was able to check in early. Martin, chap on reception was exceedingly helpful giving me a map of surrounding area and explaining where stuff is, thanks for that, really has helped!! Room is clean, cool and perfect for my stay in this beautiful region! Would happily recommend. Not far to walk to esplanade and town. Happy days!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your review; it is much appreciated and glad you enjoyed Cairns. Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

we flew in at 430 am and from the minute we hoped out the taxi to the moment we climbed in to bed was a process that took less then 3minutes they had a key out waiting for us and the room was very comfy spacious and over looked the pool

Room Tip: we had a poolside room upstairs very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhedyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Another early arrival – that dreaded Perth flight is a nasty one. Great idea to pre-register (book the night prior) so you can go straight to your room on arrival; we get people refusing to do to pay the night extra and end up sitting around from 5am to 2pm check-in (on a busy day) and it makes for very tired, grumpy folks. So glad this went well for you and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel was a big disappointment. The man that greeted us at the reception was very cold and didn't seem to be very willing into helping us with some of the things that we wanted to do, so we had to find a public phone to arrange for our return shuttle and to confirm our day tour at the reef, since he wouldn't let us use the phone at the reception. The room looked nothing like what we expected, wasn't very clean. There was little bugs a bit everywhere in the room, apparently it was normal.
We though the location was great, but were actually 5-10 min walking distance from the esplanade and the main street, which wasn't great. The hotel is situated in a isolated area.
The pool in the hotel had a very weird color, so we did not use it.

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxy86_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our reception phone is for the use of our business and is very busy with incoming calls for connection to rooms and for business purposes; I don’t know any hotel desk or business that will hand their work phone over to customers for personal use? All rooms are equipped with phones – we pay rentals on 53 of them monthly - so you can confirm your tours and make personal calls as you like. We do confirm many, many tours and shuttles for people daily and wear the cost of all these calls even though this is simply not our responsibility, nor part of staying in a hotel. It may have been the case that the receptionist was simply just too busy to attend to your personal calls and reconfirmation at this time and suggested you do it yourself. We do have to prioritize sometimes. Also keep in mind that tour sales income for your pre-booked tours has been made elsewhere so you are asking us to pay for phone calls and staff time and get no financial reward for this service; however, we generally and happily do this wherever we can. We have genuine photos of our rooms on our website, these have not been ‘glossed up’ and we have nothing to hide as an older refurbished property. If the room was not clean, we would have like to have been advised at the time of your stay so we could attend to it immediately. We get many comments across the counter and from our returning guests about the rooms being lovely and clean so I am sorry if we didn’t meet your needs. You mentioned little bugs ‘everywhere’, I think this may be a little bit of exaggeration on your behalf. We live in the tropics and ants, geckos and other creepy crawlies are part and parcel of our area. We have a little note in the rooms to remind people not to leave food parcels lying around uncovered as the ants will soon come marching in. We do not say that it is normal to have bugs everywhere in the room and our rooms do not have bugs everywhere in them, if this was the case, surely you would have advised us or run elsewhere screaming! I am confused when you say you thought the location of our property was great then the location being 5-10 minutes walk from the city and Esplanade, not great. We are quite central but not in the bustle of the city square. We are not at all in an isolated area with the private hospital right across the road and offices and churches all around us. In North Queensland we call isolated living in the middle of a cattle station – so in North Queensland terms we are definitely not isolated. It’s a pity you didn’t use either of our pools. They are quite functional and clear but are the original pools and therefore not brand new looking; they are a pebblecrete base which does have a few age stains from leaf matter etc over the years but our maintenance man does pride himself on making them as spick as he can and they are nice and clean with the water tested daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from April 18-20, 2012. We had a very early a.m. flight from Darwin and arrived at the Hotel at about 9 a.m. Not a problem. Wonderful Martin at reception got us in to a room immediately, and got us an instant upgrade to one of the superior rooms with glass sliding doors and balconies that face an inner courtyard with separate pool for superior room guests. We couldn't find fault with the accomodation. It was clean and the whole atmosphere was very quiet and peaceful. I used the pool a few times and had it to myself each time. This hotel was a very nice sanctuary in busy, bustling Cairns and was a 10 minute walk from anything, be it the shopping centre, the waterfront or the downtown streets.

Room Tip: Try to get in to one of the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review. It’s really great that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we have some flights coming in at ungodly hours of the day; often it is the case that we are full the night prior and people get quite upset that they can’t check straight in at 6-7am. If we have availability we are happy to check people in early, but of course when we’re full the folks in the room might not appreciate the early company LOL. Many people don’t understand this and pre-booking the night prior ensures you can definitely check straight in. Between 10am (check-out) and 2pm (check-in) our housekeeping staff are very busy cleaning the rooms and our maintenance man, checking any items that need attention. Anyway, it certainly was your lucky day that not only did you get to check in early, but got an upgrade too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cairns City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cairns City

Property: Comfort Inn Cairns City
Address: 183 - 185 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Discovery Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Cairns City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated, Comfort Inn Cairns City is ideally located two and a half blocks from the City Centre, one block from the Cairns waterfront and easy walking distance to the famous Cairns Esplanade swimming lagoon and all reef and island terminals and approximately eighty meters from Cairns Private Hospital. 3.5 star hotel with tropical contemporary design, 53 rooms, recently refurbished including new beds, flat screen TV's, refrigerators, tea and coffee making facilities, fully air-conditioned, free WiFi, 2 swimming pools, tour desk, guest laundry and free off street parking. You will also find an array of restaurants to delight the taste buds and boardwalks with views of the Cairns inlet and Marina well worth a selfie or two. All this conveniently located within minutes of the Cairns Domestic and International Airport. Our friendly staff are also on hand to offer tour and activity advice for your Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest adventures. We aim to fulfil your ideal holiday expectations and experiences during your Tropical North Queensland stay with us. All tour operators offer pick up services from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Cairns City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cairns Hotel Cairns
Discovery Hotel Cairns
Cairns Discovery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing