We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Southside International
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The property advertises very proudly that they have Cable TV in every room, and when you arrive there is an AUSTAR logo attached to the front of reception.

It therefore came as a disappointment that after paying for the room and turning on the television that there was no AUSTAR!!

Dont advertise it if you do NOT have it.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 1traveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. It was unfortunate timing that when we were in the process of discontinuing Austar, not all sites were updated simultaneously and during the transition a few guests were affected. I believe that it has now been rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Cairns Southside International
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice rooms, good value, near Stockland cairns shopping centre and has bar and grill on site and also pub across the road, good showers heaps of water , nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3monthly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments, We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and our location in the beautiful Cairns region of Tropical North Queensland .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Not a new or flash hotel but for the price you pay its very reasonable.
Rooms aren't in perfect condition but the beds are comfortable and room furnishings are modern.
Only letdown and not the hotels fault but it is located in a bad area. While I was there there were cars stolen from carpark, bar being broken into and an assault.
The owner needs to invest in much better security for the hotel and his staff and not think he so special that he can smoke in the bar.
Stephanie the afternoon manager is fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. Guest feedback is important to us as we strive for guest satisfaction. We are pleased that generally you were happy with your stay in our property and in our beautiful city of Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews but I found the place very clean and comfortable and perfect for a few nights stay on a business trip. Not right in the middle of the city so you don't have all the noise and hustle and bustle. Restaurant was very good and the staff could not do enough for me. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments, We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and our location in the beautiful Cairns region of Tropical North Queensland . We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

A group of 4 couples together stayed at the Southside hotel. We found the decor of the restaurant and reception to be very modern and attractive. The rooms were beautiful and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. We also ate at the restaurant, in which we shared in plenty of fish, oysters, squid, steaks and entrees. The food was absolutely beautiful! All of us definitely would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in Tropical North Queensland and experienced our delicious cuisine and atmosphere of the Southside Bar and Grill Restaurant. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed at the Cairns Southside and found that the staff were pleasant, the rooms clean and tidy and the location excellent. The location is easy to get to, parking is no problem and pick up for tours was easy. The restaurant provides an excellent meal with all the trimmings. Drinks and food prices are competitive. Loved it. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are best.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. We are happy to hear your positive feedback regarding the location, price and restaurant experience. We hope that you choose to stay with us when next in Cairns and recommend us to your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel. I found service at the hotel strange. I arrived at around 9:10pm and was greeted by a sign at the front door stating that the reception closes at 9:30pm. The door was locked. I had to ring a door bell then waiting some 5 minutes before service arrived. The room was average in size with a large comfortable clean bed. The bathroom had stains in the sink and shower area. At the rear of the hotel, views consisted of the carpark. There was a lingering musty smell throughout the hotel. The hotel is located some 5-6 kilometres from city centre. I found getting transport into the city a problem. There is a shopping centre about 500 meters away. The time spent at this hotel, the service was ordinary. I recommend staying at a hotel near the city where most of the tourist attractions are.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maz092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for advising us of your concerns regarding our property. We are always in the process of ongoing maintenance to improve the quality of our guests experience and feedback is important to assist us to prioritise our improvements to meet guests needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 64 in Cairns
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
494 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
2.6 mi away
Acacia Court Hotel
Acacia Court Hotel
#62 of 64 in Cairns
299 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#54 of 64 in Cairns
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Southside International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Southside International

Address: 450 Mulgrave Road., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $58 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Southside International 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Southside International is a modern 4 star property that is only a short 5 minute drive into the city of Cairns, Queensland. You will find yourself situated right amongst great tourist attractions and events in no time staying with us. Feel free to roam the streets where you will find an abundance of internationally renowned restaurants, a huge variety of bars, as well as retail shops open till late every day for your easy browsing. If looking somewhere to relax for the day, there are plenty of options around the city, starting with the Cairns world famous lagoon, where you can help yourself to a free barbecue, lay on the lawns sun baking, or take a swim to cool off. Cairns Southside International has many facilities including the pool area where you can unwind amongst the palm trees enjoying a drink ordered directly from the bar. If you're feeling hungry then ordering from our popular Southside Bar & Grill A-La-Carte restaurant is a must, the menu features a large variety of choices, including freshly caught local seafood, a selection of succulent meat dishes, or a pasta meal full of your favorite flavors, there is something for everyone. Cairns Southside International will suit your holiday or business requirements. Laundry with ironing, tour booking desk, Internet computer terminals with printing, free wireless internet throughout, and fax options are just a few things we can help you with. All of our rooms are air-conditioned and have 32-inch flat screen televisions with foxtel to help make your stay with us comfortable, as well as a stocked mini-bar, iron with ironing board, hair dryer, and tea and coffee making facilities. We have plenty of rooms options, from our Queen bed guest room, up to our Luxury spa suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Southside International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Cairns Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing