We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fit for Purpose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fit for Purpose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My daughter needed somewhere close to hospital to recover from minor surgery. The accommodation more than met our expectations.

Housekeeping, reception and restaurant staff were just so friendly and helpful. Clean tidy Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Yes, besides being the closest major hotel to the Cairns Airports we are also very handy to Both the Cairns Hospital and Cairns Private Hospital. We are the perfect location for a hospital visit and we can often get you down there in our own shuttle bus. I hope everything went well for your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    97
    42
    12
    5
See reviews for
38
101
18
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We chose the Sheridan Hotel because of its closeness to the Airport as we were arriving late on our first day and then 10 days later when we were departing we had a pre 6am flight , so being handy to the Airport was a major factor at choosing this hotel. The Sheridan also has great deals on its personal website which we were able to pick up 2 nights of quality accommodation inc internet , breakfast and free movies at a great price.The staff were extremely helpful and very polite and nothing was too hard for them, they arranged the taxi and the early morning wake up call for us. Great service and would definitely stay here again next time we are in Cairns.Surprisingly didn't hear any airport noise.Probably could improve in room lighting and the bathrooms need to updated in the near future.

Room Tip: we stayed both on the 2nd and 3rd floors and found great quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. You may of noticed that we have enlarged the deck and in the process of expanding the restaurant. We are also embarking on a bathroom renovation program which will see all our bathroom fittings replaced. This should be finished in the next few months. We are continuously looking for ways to improve our hotel and all our guest feedback helps us in making these decisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I found the staff always helpful and friendly. The rooms were well kept, clean, and comfortable. The hotel was undergoing some construction work around the pool area and there was a little bit of noise. This was only ever through the day and was more than acceptable. You can see that the owner has plans in place for the hotel.

The hotel is a bit away from the CBD but having walked the distance a couple of times was quite a nice 40 minute stroll. The hotel is next to a Bottle Shop/Pub, Service Station, and across the road from a Hamburger Bar.

My room included breakfast in the rate, and the breakfast, whilst not a vast range, was more than adequate, the seating comfortable. The breakfast area is closer to where the construction work was going on so a bit of noise may be heard.

The rooms were large enough, all of the furnishings were in great order. I had trouble getting the cable/movies to work. I advised the reception staff on the way out and it was fixed for me by the time I returned that day.

The only downside I could find was the noise from the room next door. I could hear them talking on the phone, television, shower, toilet, virtually anything they did. This, whilst at times was an annoyance I accepted it, as part of hotel style accommodation.

I was lucky that I had it only on one side of my room as my room was at the southern corner of the hotel. All in all, I cant really fault this hotel other than the above. It is more than acceptable for hotel accommodation, the tariff was affordable, the place was clean, the staff were friendly and obliging.

Sorry TA wont let me rate, cleanliness, location or value. I give these a 5.

Would I stay there again ? Yes, definitely, would I recommend it to others ? Yes, certainly would. Thank you Cairns Sheridan Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room if possible on the Macleod Street side. If possible, level 4 or 5, and a room at the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated. The renovations on the deck area should be completed next week. This new, completely covered outside area will be an absolute bonus to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Excellent Hotel and good value for money. Large room very well appointed.with balcony. About 2.3KM outside the city centre. A nice 35min walk along the waterfront boardwalk. Dunwoodys is a great casual low priced hotel/restaurant next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated. Dunwoodys is an excellent entertainment hotel with pokies, horse racing TAB and bars. And it's right next door to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The staff are great, the rooms are well kept and it's a half hour walk to the town centre or a $10 taxi.
Unfortunately it's quite noisy but it's nothing than can be sorted easily. Every time someone in a nearby room used the bathroom it was so loud that I'd wake up and there was some sort of renovation happening on the outdoor area where workmen would start before 8am.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review and I apologise for the current upgrading of our outside pool and deck area. This new, covered deck area should be completed shortly and will give our guests an excellent area to unwind and relax with a cold beer in the balmy tropical nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Travelling to the Cairns area for my job I like to stay at Cairns Sheridan Hotel. After long working days the friendly staff make you feel coming home. And lovely Jenn looks after me as a mother. Thanks Jenn.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling to Cairns.
Thank you all. See you next time.
Ton Driessen

Room Tip: I prefer room 322
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Cairns Sheridan is on the main Sheridan St so is very handy with most buses going in & out of central city within 15 mins ! The staff are very warm, friendly & helpful, we loved our 4 day stay there. The room was clean, tidy & warm with lovely mountain views. Breakfast was warm & fresh everyday. We would definitely recommend Cairns Sheridan to all our family & friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the swimming pool that way it is away from the main road & the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank staarz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#7 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Property: Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Address: 295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Sheridan Hotel (formerly Cairns Quality Inn) is the closest hotel to the Cairns International Airport and 3kms from the Cairns BDO, there a scheduled buses to and from downtown and most suburbs. Sightseeing tours can be booked to the Great Barrier Reef for snorkelling and diving, to the Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda to the Gulf and Cape of Carpentaria. It is two blocks from the Esplanade and scores of well known restaurants. WiFi is avail to all rooms and public areas, the Palms Restaurant is open to the public. There are 3 separate conference rooms that can cater for up to 150 persons, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Ample parking is available in the grounds of the hotel. The Cairns Sheridan Hotel belongs to MTS, one of PNG's pioneer tourist companies which own the Madang Resort, Kalibobo Village, Kalibobo Spirit all in Madang, plus the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Minnie Street Cairns. All hotels have been consistent winners of the Trip Advisor Excellent Awards in recent years, including 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing