We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel on City Edge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel on City Edge”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel's location is not that convenient if you want to be close to the city centre, harbour and the Esplanade restaurant strip, but if you are fit and healthy, you can still walk to these. If you have a car, this is not such a big problem.
The hotel itself is probably getting close to needing a refurbishment, but overall, our room was very roomy and comfortable with all the required necessities.Upon first entering, it did have a musty smell, but became less noticeable after turning on the air conditioning.
We didn't eat at the hotel. The menu looked a bit pedestrian and pricey and there are plenty of restaurants that are relatively close. The hotel has on-site car parking; Wi fi is available at a cost although to be fair, you may use the hotel's PC (on the ground floor) for free.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    129
    57
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
132
30
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otematata, null, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Arrived on late plane to find a lovely large room, comfortable bed and great breakfast the next morning, all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, would reccommend and definately stay again.

Room Tip: Close to airport, large comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night while in cairns and the room was clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast was a great start to the day. Its definitely no resort but it is a great place to stay for a budget holiday in cairns. Not that close to town. We walked to the esplanade and it took about 25 mins but its a great view along the water.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy92travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toukley, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We booked last minute due to misting our plane. Great value for money. Restaurant meal delicious & service great. Older style motel but room was large, clean & comfy. Staff most helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed at the hotel at one night on a business trip. Staff were helpful. The room was clean and bed comfortable. It was an older style "motel" type room with shower in bath (which I don't particularly like). As with a lot of older motel rooms, lighting was a bit poor to work by. I was a bit concerned at leaving the rental car in an unsecured car park but it survived ok. I didn't eat there but on recommendation got takeaways from Rex's Burger Bar opposite the hotel on Sheridan St - excellent food, well-priced.
The hotel is a long way from the centre of town and the waterfront, the main drawback from my viewpoint.
Would I stay there again? if I was arriving late and leaving early like this trip, I probably would - if I was staying longer I'd stay somewhere near the waterfront and the centre of town.

Room Tip: My room was away from Sheridan Street and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

One thing you notice instantly about the Quality Hotel is the location. It's a lot further away from the centre of everything than you realise. However, it also means that it is very quiet, so makes for a relaxing stay. The staff are incredibly friendly and are on hand to help at any opportunity. The breakfast isn't the best, which was disappointing and we wish we had tried somewhere else. But for the price, you can't really complain. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Pretty run of the mill venue. It's clean, with a comfortable bed and decent sized bathroom.

It's not in a location that is handy to much other than the airport. There is a pub next door that served OK food. I imagine it gets rowdy there on a Fri or Sat night.

The take-away breakfast pack is to be avoided. AUD$12 for 2 apples, some stale pastries, a small yoghurt and juice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
1.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Property: Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Address: 295 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Quality Inn)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Sheridan Hotel is the closest hotel to the Cairns International Airport and 3kms from Cairns City Centre, there are scheduled buses to and from downtown. Sightseeing tours can be booked to the Great Barrier Reef for snorkeling and diving, to the Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda to the Gulf and Cape of Carpentaria. It is two blocks from the Esplanade and scores of well known restaurants. WiFi is avail to all rooms and public areas, the Palms Restaurant is open to the public. There are 3 separate conference rooms that can cater for up to 150 persons, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Ample parking is available in the grounds of the hotel. The Cairns Sheridan Hotel belongs to MTS, one of PNG's pioneer tourist companies which own the Madang Resort, Kalibobo Village, Kalibobo Spirit all in Madang, plus the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Minnie Street Cairns. All hotels have been consistent winners of the Trip Advisor Excellent Awards in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing