We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Even Waste Your Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't Even Waste Your Time!”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Biting insects in the beds, rooms were tatty, damp, smelly. Carpets, curtains and chairs were stained. But nice location. They were in the process of renovating, but the rooms still could of been looked after and should of been renovated long ago. Room service was expensive and gross!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynnrieckhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay in March of this year.

The hotel has undergone and recently completed a multi-million dollar refurbishment to include all guest rooms, together with the updated bathrooms also saw a full refresh of the hotels exterior and redesign of the lobby and restaurant. This has enhanced the arrival experience and ambiance of the hotel by using contemporary decor and modern furniture.

I am also pleased to advise that straight off the back of the multi-million dollar refurbishment, Holiday Inn Cairns has received a 4½ star rating from AAA Tourism – and a coveted Green Star endorsement to add further credence to the sustainable commitment demonstrated. AAA Tourism was extremely impressed by the team’s efforts to reduce consumption of energy, water and other natural resources, while also reducing the hotel’s waste. While the Green Star recognises the hotel's environmentally friendly operation, the new 4½ star rating demonstrates our guest experience and overall product has been enhanced as well.

Your impression of the hotel is vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed. Thank you again choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your feedback

Kind regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    898
    321
    70
    53
See reviews for
416
939
161
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stay at the hotel just for 1 night before heading to Port Douglas. A space room. A little bit walk to the public pool, but acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qingboxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Cairns.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and you found the guest rooms to be spacious.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Cairns.

Kind regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We got a great hotel room for the money that was spent. It's probably not the best hotel in cairns, but for the price I think it's the best you can get. The rooms are nice and cleaned well by the friendly staff. We only have three complaints:

1. Not nearly enough seating by the pool, get there early if you want a couple chairs.
2. The breakfast buffet was lousy. It's expensive compared to other restaurants nearby. It had a decent selection, but many of the hot foods were cold or stale.
3. High speed internet is very expensive, but there are some cheap internet cafes nearby that are about 1/10th the cost.

Tips
- There is an empty mini fridge the hotel rooms. A bottle of water seems to cost $3-4 everywhere in cairns, so bring some with you!
- Nearby restaurants offer early bird discounts of %20-30 from 5-7:00
- There are no beaches in walking distance to this hotel. Try Palm Cover or further north if you want a beach nearby your hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingHobo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback and I appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your experience. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take advantage of the recently refurbished rooms and our friendly staff.

We are regularly commended for our high level of product and service, your experience in the restaurant does not meet our own high expectations, I assure you that your experience and feedback is valuable and will be used to ensure our high standards are met.

We regularly review our Internet pricing and will use this feedback for future discussion.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cairns.

Kind regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
na
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

For the price of the hotel this was a great value. We had a room on the top floor with dual sliding glass doors opening to the ocean. The view of the ocean and city area were great !

Only issue we had was the his hotel reminded me of staying in a resort in Mexico. Most of the hotel besides the lobby and eating area was open air. So this resulted sometimes a huge tempature change from our room to when we opened the door. also there is only 1 elevator and its on the opposite side of the ocean view rooms. As other people have said there are alot of small tropical "nats' all over the room. If you leave anything out of a day you start to get these bugs all over the place. Though it sounds very common in this area so i dont think it was the hotel at all.

The beds were great to sleep and the rooms looked very modern with flat screen tv's. Everything looked very new .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyF00L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and taking the time to pass this on. I am glad you enjoyed the ocean view from your room and agree the location is perfect.

The guest rooms have been completely refurbished and the pillow top beds are second to none, as are the Flat screen televisions.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cairns.

Kind regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stopped here on our way to Mission Beach a very nice hotel and very helpful staff right on the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonafinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and taking the time to pass this on. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the perfect location being opposite the water and right on the esplanade.

We take great pride in the high level of service provided by our staff and I will be sure to pass on positive comments.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cairns.

Kind regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The hotel is old. The soap rack was rusted and broke off and hurt us. The ac was leaking in the room and created a puddle in the room and it was hard to move around. The staff also seemed quite unconcerned about this and treated it as a routine incident.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reportingfromupclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Cairns.

I was sorry to hear and would like to apologise for the soap rack in the bathroom. After investigation I am would like to advise that this was an isolated incident.

The air conditioning unit in the room that you occupied has undergone maintenance and I am sorry for this inconvenience.

Our staff take great pride in the hotel and the high level of service provided; I would like to assure you that any incident that results in guest dissatisfaction is taken very seriously.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback.

Kind regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We have been staying at this hotel for the last six years and are looking forward to being there next year as well.
We always stay for two weeks as there is so much to do in Far North Queensland .
The refurshed room was great. We always stay in the same room which they always give us. The rainforest atrium is very pleasant; Neville and Ann. Adelaide

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEV46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Cairns, the team and I appreciate your positive feedback and your return patronage.

The extensive refurbishment of the guest rooms have been well received by both our corporate and leisure guests, I am glad that we were able to provide you with the same room during your most recent stay.

I agree the rainforest Atrium is very relaxing and pleasant while the Barramundi feeding gives an authentic Far North Queensland experience.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming back to the hotel when you are in Cairns next year.

Kind regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing