We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and room; Poor air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location and room; Poor air conditioning”
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This hotel was in an excellent location on the Esplanade, clean, the staff helpful and the beds very comfortable. We stayed for 6 nights at the end of June/beginning of July. The newly renovated room was spacious enough for three of us and our luggage.
Our only complaint was that the air conditioning, while sufficient during the day, cut off in the night making it hard to sleep as the room became extremely stuffy. The staff came and examined the vents in our room and tried to address the problem, but we got not one night of uninterrupted sleep. Hopefully they will address this problem before the summer season.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marciterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your experience. I was glad to read that you were impressed with the fully refurbished rooms, new pillow top beds, location (being right on the Cairns Esplanade) and the service our hotel staff provided to you, which we are extremely proud of.

The hotel has undergone a multi million dollar refurbishment which included an upgrade to the lobby, restaurant and all the guest rooms and bathrooms to feature a new contemporary modern feel which you would have enjoyed.

I was disappointed to hear that your room had complications with the air conditioning, I can assure you that this feedback has been passed on to our engineering department to investigate and please accept my apologies for this.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn on your next visit to Cairns.

Adam Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    898
    321
    70
    53
See reviews for
416
939
161
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I bought this room on Wotif.com as a special Wotif? deal ie not knowing which hotel other than it was situated on the Esplanade. Then when I got the advice from Wotif I checked it out on Trip Advisor and there were mixed reports. So I was a bit concerned - I shouldn't have been. It is now fully renovated and lovely. I only stayed one night as I was en route to Canberra but I wish it had been longer. This is great and they really do cater for the mid price traveller eg - affordable room service meals and a bar fridge you can actually use to stock your own drinks. A couple of wine glasses in the room wouldn't have gone amiss but overall really really good and very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and taking the time to pass it on. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and you tried the hotel despite having some concerns from reviews you have read.

I am sorry that the room you stayed in did not have any wine glasses, we pride ourselves on delivering a high level of service and this is not our usual standard. I have passed this to the relevant department head for follow up.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huercal-Overa, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

A very nice hotel with wonderful ocean views. The refurb, in our room, had been skimped. The air conditioning was not powerful enough and very noisy and the room was very hot, we couldn't get comfortable in the beds and consequently did not sleep well. There was simply too much of the pre refurb room showing through the new one to make look like a good job rather that a budget conscious, skimped excercise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasxmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I was glad to read that you thought the hotel was a nice hotel and you were able to enjoy the view from your room. I personally agree that the views from the Premium Ocean View Rooms are second to none.

The team are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your room as we are very proud of the extensive refurbishment which involved replacement of every element in the room including the beds. The Holiday Inn Cairns has received a 4½ star rating from AAA Tourism and a coveted Green Star endorsement as recognition for the many sustainable initiatives that have been undertaken.
I am sorry to hear that there was an issue with the air conditioning, this feedback is not taken lightly and has been passed onto our chief engineer.

Your impression of the hotel is vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed. Thank you again choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your feedback.

Kind regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

the holiday inn cairns is a lovely, well located modern hotel!
make sure u get ocean view rooms..and enjoy the panoramic beauty before u!
the rooms are modern and sleek.the bathrooms are a bit small, but functional.
the hotel is right on the esplanade, close to the night market and numerous good eating places as well.
the staff were v helpful..promptly had a microwave set up on our request.in the triples sharing rooms for the kids, they even had an extra bed in place on our arrival with no extra charge!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to make the most of the view from your room. We are proud of the new rooms as they are enjoyed by the leisure traveler with the entire amenity required by the business traveler

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

The Holiday Inn was wonderful! I requested one of the remodeled rooms at check in, and was informed that we were already assigned to one on the 6th floor. Perfect! They were beautiful, modern, clean, spacious rooms, with wall to wall windows that gave an amazing view of the beach! It seemed like the remodeling was happening floor by floor, and they were on the 3rd floor when we left May 23rd. There also seemed to be some construction going on in the center courtyard, but with all of the construction going on, we were surprisingly never disturbed by noise of any kind. The activities desk downstairs was also very helpful in booking our tours. I did pretty good research while at home, but they still managed to save us close to $150 on the outer reef dive that we wanted to do, by setting us up with a reputable company that was running a special! The location of the hotel was great too. Close enough to all of the shops and restaurants to walk, but far enough on the edge of town to be quiet and peaceful. We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Cairns.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShugrGrl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Good hotel and a great location, close to the city centre and eating areas.
Free secure parking was a bonus.
Rooms generous size and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect from a Holiday Inn.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

There is an underground car park which is free
The rooms have all just been done up, i was on the sixth floor with the view of the hotel next door. The roome had two good sized double beds, a tiny hairdryer, but good toiltieries. the shower was good, and there was internet and cable, the air con was quite.

There is a restaurant attached, which i didnt eat in but was busy when i was there, The bar serves a variety of beers and stays open late, the lobby is spacious with table and chairs out side.

I like best its central, cheap 117 a night, car parking is included.

the service is OK they dont go out of there way to help you. Ie, $5 to print off one sheet of paper in there very slow and old business centre and the mini bar was empty. I would recommend for cheap and clean and central accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing