We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Medium priced hotel ..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Medium priced hotel ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

At one end of the Esplanade, good location, easy walking distance to main Cairns town area.
Walk to main Pier for cruises less than 15 mins, walk to Myer and Cairns Central 20 mins.

Room good size, with nice sized balcony. Little busy with traffic sound, but always to be expected if staying somewhere centrally.

Free wifi if you join their club, great option.

Experienced very good customer service on my recent 6 day stay with front desk and room service. Had small maintenance issue which was fixed immediately.

'Take away' food delivered to the room from the hotel kitchen was the only disappointment.
Only had the one meal and it turned me off ordering again.

Overall for facilities, nice pool area and fabulous gardens..well priced.

Room Tip: If traffic noise will bother you check with the hotel for appropriate room. My view was worth putti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherieJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear CherieJC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel.

Good to see you enjoyed our central location and room views. Guests love that about us. You can always rely on us for a comfy and clean stay.

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with the room service, we do apologise. I assure you this is not our usual standard.

Please do let our front desk staff know if you have any issues. They will be more than happy to help. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and your comments are very important to us.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    769
    259
    61
    43
See reviews for
350
768
134
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We booked a day use room at the Holiday inn and they gave us a deal of $95 for a twin room, all we needed to use the room for was luggage storage and shower facilities. The outdoor pool area is great with an outdoor spa. Very close to shops and the Lagoon where we spent our Sunday before we flew out. The Porter who was working on Monday 18th August (Day shift) was very helpful and had exceptional customer service!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Peter J,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to write us a review on Tripadvisor.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided you with great service, your feedback is important to us.

Great to see you enjoyed our facilities and the surrounding area of the hotel. We are lucky to be located right outside the Esplanade.

Hope to have you stay with us again soon from Sydney!

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

I visited here with my 85yp mother for her holiday. She is not mobile.
Disabled room was not available due to my late booking. I thought here we go.
Breakfast included a decent range of soft foods due to here diet. The range for regular people was very good.
Shower-they provided us a plastic chair so she can still safely have a bath-excellent.
Food-there was not a lot of soft foods on the menu. So the chef made to order non season soup for her or mash/mushrooms/gravy delivered to her room for a good price.
The staff were overall excellent and very helpful.
Nice place.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Greg S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Great to hear the staff accommodated the best they could for your mother so that she could have an enjoyable stay.

The staff here are always very helpful and friendly. They like to go that extra mile for guests where they can.

Hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We booked a premier king room with sea view and enjoyed staying there. Its not flash but it is a very good Holiday Inn. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The best part was the balcony and the view. We got there after 11pm and could only get a room on the 3rd floor but it was still a great view.
Bathroom is fine, good toiletries but nothing flash.
Location was towards the end of town but across from the boardwalk and we enjoyed a sunrise walk every morning (thanks to the time difference to NZ it still felt like a lie in and an early morning walk!).
The fridge was a good size, TV was good and there was a good size desk and armchair.
Overall a solid stay, great views and nice location and we enjoyed the pool and a walk down to the various restaurants (there are lots within easy walking distance). I joined the hotel groups loyalty scheme before I left home and got free wifi while we were there. I booked directly and it was the best rate I could find at the time.
Well done Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view premier king room if you can afford the extra $, it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughesChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear HughesChristchurch,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

Great to hear you can count on us for a reliable and comfortable stay, your feedback means a lot.

We are lucky to be located just outside the Cairns Esplanade with the great weather you can enjoy a scenic stroll and get to amenities and stores.

It is a great time of year to visit Cairns with the great sunny weather and minimal humidity so an ocean view room is definitely worth it.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and it would be an honour to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My goodness..... after the crappy review I wrote about Hotel Cairns last week, all I had to do was cross the road and I would have been in heaven...

So, last week (look it up) I was really not happy with H.C. I could not have believed it was possible to have chalk and cheese inside 7 days. I am a local and once a week, I find a place to go for breakfast and then I get on here and moan about it.

Last week cost me $20 each for two of us and I wrote a really bad trippy about it I was so disappointed and I don't normally write stuff on T.A This week at the Holiday Inn it was $25 (less 20% locals discount).... Well, flip me over, I'm done !!! There were pastries, two types of sausages, two types of eggs, 5 types of bread, muffins, english muffins (yes there is a difference). There were two types of bacon, all the cereal, fresh fruit, cold meats as well as a large array of hot breakfasty food... and the coffee !!!! REAL !!!.... Jovelyn at the register was so friendly, 3 different staff came to make sure we were happy and took any plates, the toaster cooked the toast, the chicken and herb sausages were awesome and ALL the staff were so nice. Geez, if only the H.C. would send their chefs, waiters, checkout chicks, managers and maybe the owner, across the road they would see how it should be done.....

Left feeling so happy and full and it was a very, very pleasant experience. I really can't express how great a breakfast it was. No, they ain't payin' me :) It was just that I had such a bad experience for the same money elsewhere. Holiday Inn, I will see you next Saturday :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairns0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Cairns0987,

Thank you for taking the time to write Holiday Inn Cairns a review.

Great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed our fantastic buffet breakfast. It’s is good to hear from a local. We have had wonderful feedback on our buffet breakfast; it’s a favourite with our international and local guests.

Pleased to hear that we also provided you with friendly service, it is something we take great pride in. I will pass your compliment to Jovelyn, she is a great asset to the team.

Hope to have you dine and stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

staff all tops went out of there way to help out nothing was to much trouble tour desk got us on a trip to green island when it was said to been booked out got us a cheap fitzroy trip and a good deal on karanda tour brilliant

Room Tip: all very good try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddebear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear teddebear2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a review.

Great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Our staff here love to go that extra mile for our guests, it is something we all take pride in.

We have received many compliments on our tour desk. Sue our tour coordinator is a real asset to the team and carries a wealth of knowledge of Cairns attractions and tours.

The weather has beautiful here in Cairns; you have definitely timed your stay perfectly. An ocean view room at this time of year is certainly worth it.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Open, tiled walkway between rooms: nice idea but very slip nasty when wet- don't try the stairs if you respect heights. Handyman is pretty lazy-plugs not working, curtain tracks broken, rowing machine not working, walking machine not working, poor ventilation for bathroom.
The worst thing was the inbuilt WATERPROOF MATTRESS PROTECTOR !!!. I kid you not, I was transported back 50 years to when children slept on impermeable surfaces. What happens to the sweat when you sleep (it can get quite warm in Cairns). I woke several times each night- bring cotton pyjamas.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean only- the view is the best thing. Ask for a bed without a plastic protector sewn in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Stephen M,

Thank you for taking the time to review on the hotel.

Sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience. We assure you this is not our usual standard.

If you do have any problems or issues on your room or facilities please contact our friendly front desk staff. They like to help where they can and to go that extra mile for our guests.

We would like some extra details about your stay if you could please email admin@holidayinncairns.com.au.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon and that it is a more enjoyable one.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 1,872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing