We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, service & location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great view, service & location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Ended our backpacking trip here so upgraded to ocean front view. Did NOT disappoint. Nice size, decent beds, view amazing. All the staff was extremely polite and the restaurant food was great (expensive) but great. Wifi sucks and not included in your room. Close to a great strip of restaurants and bars and about 5-10 minute walk to the marina

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch3llo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Ch3llo,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, from rooms to staff to food, it is important that we deliver a memorable experience to all our guests, and it is great to read we achieved this.

With regards to our WiFi I have made note of your issues and passed this on to our Chief Engineer to investigate. You may not be aware, but anyone joining IHG Rewards Club (our free loyalty programme) receives complimentary internet at any of our 4,600 hotels worldwide (amongst many other benefits), and I would highly recommend you join the next time you stay at one of our properties.

Thank you again for your generous comments.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    871
    309
    69
    51
See reviews for
405
904
153
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice, if not small, rooms. Has a small gym and a laundry room, which is always nice.

But the wifi is incredibly complicated to log in to and IS NOT INCLUDED WITH YOUR ROOM (15 AUD/hour). Seriously Holiday Inn, get a grip. You might be lucky enough to see the lobby network from your room, which is gratis for guests, but it's very temperamental.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Sam H,

Thank you for your review.

I was disappointed to hear that you experienced difficulties in using our WiFi, and I have passed your details onto our Chief Engineer to investigate the room you were in and rectify.

With regards to the price, if you enroll with IHG Rewards Club (IHG's free loyalty programme), which can be done at the hotel or online, you are entitled to receive free WiFi at any of IHG's 4,600 hotels worldwide, and this is one of many other benefits you receive.

Please do let me know if you are returning to Cairns.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
395 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is great and I'd definitely stay again. The room was great, wonderful bed! The staff were great and breakfast was a full buffet of very good quality. The hotel is basically on the esplanade and within very easy walking distance of plenty of eateries and entertainment spots.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear John4017,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

The feedback you have provided is wonderful, and I will be sharing your generous comments with the team. The beds are indeed excellent, and of vital importance to ensuring you have a great stay. Likewise we put tremendous effort into providing a great breakfast buffet every morning so our guests can have the best start to their day.

Thank you again, and please let me know when you are returning to Cairns.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We arrived early due to our red eye flight and our room was available within 30 minutes of arriving at the hotel. Room was perfect, cleaned everyday and we never had any problems with noise. Location perfect on the esplanade 5 mins walk away from marina, lagoon,cafes shops etc. RSL is next door and is great for lovely cheap meals and drinks. Laundry and ice machines are available on floors 3 & 5 ice is free and rooms are supplied with ice buckets. Tour desk was of great help for our trip to Kuranda and planned everything for us which made the day perfect. Definitely will be back as we fell in love with Cairns and Holiday Inn will see us again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Michbarn,

Thank you for your kind review, it was very pleasing to read.

Providing outstanding guest-service is at the forefront of everything we do at the Holiday Inn, and IHG, and I was extremely pleased to see that we achieved this during your stay, and I have shared your review with the team. Our location, as you mentioned, is ideal for a trip to Cairns, and I'm glad you utilised our guest laundry, which is an excellent facility for any traveller.

Thank you again, and please do let me know if you visit Cairns again.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent two nights at the Holiday Inn. The room was clean, modern and had all the amenities we expected. The staff were extremely friendly, and accommodating. Only negative I can think of, is the bathrooms are a bit small! Otherwise, it's a perfect stay.
Location is great, and although we didn't try any of the food options - we would have loved to.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Dennis

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is greatly appreciated.

It was excellent to see that we made your stay memorable and enjoyable, two of the key goals the team have at the at Holiday Inn, as we want everyone to have the best stay in Cairns possible.

As you mentioned our rooms are to a very high standard, something we pride ourselves on, and the team here take great pride in delivering excellent guest-service.

Next time you stay you'll have to try the food (!), so please let me know when you're coming in.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was our first visit to Cairns and we chose to stay at the Holiday Inn because we have had great experiences in the past with this hotel chain- Cairns Inn was no different. We had a really lovely ocean view room which was clean, fresh, modern and inviting, offering a great view of the coast. The only down side was the bathroom was quite small but still liveable. The design of the Hotel is very cool and the central gardens offer a really interesting centre piece for the entire hotel. The breakfast was wonderful, an amazing selection of food for all cultural preferences which offered us some new cuisine to try. The hotel is in a great location, close enough to all amenities to walk but far enough away to avoid the crowds and noise. The staff were wonderful apart from one rude bartender. Check in was fast and efficient unfortunately we had some issues with housekeeping who had forgotten to clean our fridge out before we checked in and the following day left one of their dirty cleaning rags sitting in our bathroom sink next to our toothbrushes- these little mishaps let the staff down but they were very apologetic. I would most certainly recommend this hotel if staying in Cairns.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room - a little more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICDtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear ICDtraveller,

Thank you for taking the time write a comprehensive review of the hotel.

I see that you stayed in one of our Ocean View rooms, which are fantastic with the full balcony, and I was glad to read that you enjoyed the room and its amenities.

The design of the hotel, as you mentioned, is unique, with all rooms opening onto external corridors overlooking the internal atrium, and I hope you had the opportunity to join in our Barramundi feeding sessions!

I was disappointed to read that you had some issues with regards to one of our team, and also with housekeeping, both of which are very unusual for the hotel, and I have raised both of these with the respective department heads to investigate and address.

I have passed your comments onto our Head Chef as we have introduced a brand new menu into the hotel, and he will be pleased to read that you enjoyed the wide selection we offer.

Thank you again for your time, and please let me know if you return to Cairns.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay here. We took a room on the fifth floor overlooking the esplanade and ocean and the view was just lovely. The room was spotlessly clean, the beds beautiful and the labelled pillows a lovely touch.

This is an older building, and a bit quirky. If you park on site the walk from your car to your room can be quite a long one and the architecture is very 1970s maybe and a couple more lifts would be good. But as I said, this is quirky and not intended to be a complaint. The location couldn't be better for visiting Cairns.

Where this hotel excels however is in customer service. It is clear when talking to staff that their intention is to ensure your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. This is a credit to the management of the hotel

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony and Esplanade view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markjackson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Markjackson100,

Thank you for your review, it was great to read.

Your comments around our customer service are fantastic, as this is an area the team and I take great pride in excelling in, and as you mentioned our mission is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.

I was also happy to read that your room was immaculate, in particular the beds, as it is so important to us that the rooms are always in this condition, and I have passed your comments to the department head.

Thank you again, and I look forward to seeing you return.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing