We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hassle free stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hassle free stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved this hotel, Room was a good size, clean and tidy. There was parking for our hire car. Lift access to our room. This hotel is close to restaurants, shops tourist attractions and the airport.
It would be great for a family stay as well. The pool area is brilliantly set up and the hotel is definitely kid friendly. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergranBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear SupergranBrisbane – love your name!

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great see such active members of the online community, and we value all of our reviews.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and your room was clean and tidy.

Having lift access from the basement straight to the rooms is great, and we have a porter that is always happy to help with baggage and directions should our guests ever need it.

The pool area is great, it allows kids to splash around in the pool under the watchful eye of mum, dad or supergran!

We look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn Cairns the next time you are in the area.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    901
    323
    70
    53
See reviews for
416
941
161
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for 3 nights. When i booked online i metioned i would like 1 large double bed not to small double beds. We got two small doubles and basically hubby and I had to sleep separately. The bathroom was very small but had everything we needed, might be a bit cramped if you stayed for more than a couple of nights. The carpet had stains all over it. We didn't eat in the restaurant or have breakfast so I cannot comment on that. Overall very average stay, would easily book somewhere nicer for the next vist for the same price

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harkin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Harkin3,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to read reviews from our guests.

I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t as enjoyable as you had hoped.

We have many room types here at The Holiday Inn with different types of bedding configurations. Should a guest have any problems large or small during their stay, we always encourage you to pop down and see us at the front desk, we definitely could have perhaps moved you to another room that had only one king bed.

With regards to the carpets, we just invested in our own steam cleaning machine and will be doing regular cleaning of all carpets in our rooms. It is because of reviews like this that make our hotel better. We do strive to be a great hotel that our guests love and enjoy.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Located near the restaurants of the Esplanade and within easy reach of the airport and the marina - made a perfect base whilst in Cairns. Staff member on reception was very welcoming. Rooms seemed newly refurbished and were spotlessly clean. Open walkways look out on to central garden courtyard area which gave the hotel more personality than some Holiday Inns. Didn't have time to use the pool, but looked well kept and inviting. Even a bottle shop on-site!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BananaW0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear BananaW0406,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to read reviews from our guests.

It is fantastic that our hotel is located in such a prime position, right on the main esplanade, only 10-15 minutes from Cairns airport.

I am glad to hear that the staff member was very welcoming upon your arrival, I will be sure to pass this onto our team.

Our hotel just underwent renovations and our guests are loving the fresh modern designs and amenities.

I am sad to hear that you didn’t have time to use the pool; it is a great way to relax after a long day of touring. The bottle shop is a huge success as well.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great hotel right on the promenade.Lovely restaurant,we ate in there as Australia very expensive.Lovely room overlooking the beach and the pool area.The hotel had a tropical garden in the atrium and a pool containing Barundi fish,great to watch them at feeding time!There is a seating area all around so very pleasant to sit and sip your drink.
We stayed 6 days,4 days we were on the Reef,but no problem storing our luggage in the hotel.Lots to see and do around the area and staff at the hotel more than willing to help and arrange anything you wanted to see and do.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give better views of sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenaCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear ZenaCottrell,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to read reviews from our guests.

Our hotel is located in a prime position, right on the main esplanade, which is great, because it is only a few minutes walk to local amenities and attractions.

Our tropical atrium is a huge hit with our guests and the barramundi always steal the show at feeding time, they do love their prawns.

The seating area in the main lobby is lovely too. It is nice to see guests on a rainy day enjoying sitting together having a cup of coffee, or simply catching up on some work on their laptops.

Our guests often arrive early to our hotel and it is an added bonus to be able to store your luggage securely for the day, whilst you go exploring this great city.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I usually stay here when I am in Cairns. The rooms are small but well laid out. Nice desks for working and comfy easy chairs for reading. I wish more hotels had good reading chairs.

Room service has a great 'takeaway' option. About as good as normal take away but so convenient and a good price for room service.

Breakfast is always good.

I love the location - great for a walk on the water before dinner.

Room Tip: The hotel is open to an atrium with tile floors on the hall/balcony. Roller suitcases make a really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lahmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Iahmalo,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to read reviews from our guests.
It is nice to hear that you often stay with us here at The Holiday Inn in Cairns.

Our newly renovated rooms are fantastic with their new desks and chairs, and modern features, they are proving to be a real hit.

Room service is available 24/7, so guests who feel like a nice night in, can order straight from their rooms.

Breakfast is always delicious, and our juice bar has been extremely popular.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights, the hotel as is well known, is geared to the holiday maker that will be enjoying the activities around Cairns and eating in the local restaurants. The room was large with a lovely balcony and view but the bathroom was quite small. There were no cooking facilities ie: microwave, stovetop or utensils, so you couldn't really eat your own food in the room.
They do have the big breakfast buffet which is always great especially if you have it included in the room deal. Room service food was ok. Located at the northern end of the esplanade it is a short walk to the central shops, restaurant and bars. A good location and no noise. Lift at one end only goes to the lobby a different one goes all the way to the car park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a very good place to stay. The rooms are very modern and clean. The staff are helpful and the location very good. The bar and restaurant are well appointed and comfortable. This hotel doesn't disappoint.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Wayne G,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to see such active members of the online community.

I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay, our new modern rooms and amenities are proving to be a hit with our guests.

Your feedback allows us to continue to be a brand that our guests love and enjoy.
I will pass your feedback onto our team.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing