We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work and Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights, the hotel as is well known, is geared to the holiday maker that will be enjoying the activities around Cairns and eating in the local restaurants. The room was large with a lovely balcony and view but the bathroom was quite small. There were no cooking facilities ie: microwave, stovetop or utensils, so you couldn't really eat your own food in the room.
They do have the big breakfast buffet which is always great especially if you have it included in the room deal. Room service food was ok. Located at the northern end of the esplanade it is a short walk to the central shops, restaurant and bars. A good location and no noise. Lift at one end only goes to the lobby a different one goes all the way to the car park.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,667 - 1,673 of 2,328 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a very good place to stay. The rooms are very modern and clean. The staff are helpful and the location very good. The bar and restaurant are well appointed and comfortable. This hotel doesn't disappoint.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Wayne G,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to see such active members of the online community.

I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay, our new modern rooms and amenities are proving to be a hit with our guests.

Your feedback allows us to continue to be a brand that our guests love and enjoy.
I will pass your feedback onto our team.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A good quality Holiday Inn just a few minutes walk from the centre of the city. Stayed in two different rooms, one with two double beds and one with a single double. Both felt big and roomy and had lots of natural daylight courtesy of large floor-to-ceiling windows. Very friendly staff also helped make it an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaguraCato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear KaguraCato,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to see such active members of the online community.

Our guests love that our hotel is in a prime location, being only a few minutes walk to the main esplanade where they can enjoy local amenities and attractions.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room; we have many rooms with different bedding configurations for our guests. Since our renovations were completed, guests are enjoying the new modern decor, and features such as the floor to ceiling windows.

I will pass your feedback onto our team.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for a friends 30th while doing a barrier reef trip. Spacious room, good bathroom facilities. 2 pillow thicknesses! A nice but small ish pool. The pool was next door to the bottle shop so you could buy a bottle of coopers for $8 or get the 6 pack for $19 and take whatever you did not finish back to your room. Nice.
Ten minute walk to the marina where all the trips go from. good value for 100 bucks per room per night I thought.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Christopher B,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to see such active members of the online community.

I am glad you enjoyed your spacious room; our guests love the option of having two types of pillows. All these added benefits make your stay more enjoyable.

It is great having an onsite bottle shop for those days when you feel like relaxing by the pool with a beer.

Our hotel is truly in a great location, only 10 minutes walk to the beautiful marina, and a few minutes walk to cafe’s, bars, you name it.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Cons: (1) bathroom felt not much bigger than a cupboard. Didn't bother me but might be a bit claustrophobic for some guests. (2) Passage between lift/room is open-air. Once again, didn't bother me but guests who are afraid of heights might feel scared.
Pros: (1) good staff (remembered to give me my 4.45am wake-up call so I didn't miss my plane). (2) hotel must have been renovated recently as decor is fresh. (3) slept well as bed was very comfortable. (4) nice garden/pond (with big fish) in centre of hotel. (5) great location close to esplanade.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Annemarie G,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We appreciated your review and both cons and pro’s help us to be a better hotel, one that our guests will love and enjoy.

Our Guest Service Agents are always happy to help at the front desk, to organise things such as taxi’s and wake up calls so out guests don’t miss their flights.

Our hotel is looking great after the renovations, and our guests love the modern look and feel of our rooms and amenities.

The barramundi pond is a huge attraction; they are over 20 years old and love their prawns.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

On the whole the Holiday Inn is fine. Good location close to shops and restaurants. We upgraded to an ocean view room with balcony which was excellent. Only downfall was the bathroom, tiny bathroom which needed some extra attention, there was mould in the corner of the bath and the floor tiles were grubby. I think the room was recently painted but overall he hotel is dated. Housekeeping average, Otherwise a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Can only recommend the ocean view rooms if price is right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Kristine Z,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your ocean view balcony room; these are our most popular rooms.

We always strive to deliver clean rooms and amenities and I will be sure to pass this information onto our executive housekeeper.

We appreciate all of our reviews as this gives us the opportunity to make our hotel even better.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

2nd time here,
I enjoyed that complimentary upgrade to seaview room - thanks (gold loyalty member)
great comfy king size bed with nice view over pool and the Coral Sea.
Bathroom small but well appointed. Buffet Breakfast good and well priced. Dinner in restaurant was also good, but serving size a little small considering price. Nice pool area.
Large TV with some cable channels. They charge for internet which is annoying !
Some small ants in room, this happens in tropical areas esp during the rainy season.
But will stay again. Unless I find a hotel with complimentary internet in the IHG group in Cairns.

Room Tip: High floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dingo_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Dingo_Joe,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is always great to see such active members of the Trip Advisor community.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to a seaview room, this is a fantastic benefit of being part of our Priority Club awards, which will soon be known as IHG Rewards as of July. This is great news for you because it means as of the 1st of July, Gold and Platinum members will receive free wifi.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $127 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing