We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service at Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After a long flight from PNG with lots of delays, we arrived late at Cairns. Check in staff were fantastic. I have stayed at Holiday inns in Melbourne Tulamarine and Port Moresby PNG. They hadn't really impressed me all that much. Over priced, rooms a bit dated and service generally fairly poor. Cairns restored my faith in the name though. Elsie at check in was cheerful and very helpful, despite the late hour. She corrected some mistakes with our bookings that had seemed too hard everywhere else. For example despite having booked all of our accommodation months in advance and having copies of our paper work at the desk, they somehow had no rooms allocated when we arrived. Cairns was a breath of fresh air. Fixed up past double billing of accounts arranged a late check out the next day, nothing was too much trouble. The location is handy to nearby restaunts and cafe's. nice rooms, clean. Breakfast meal was a bit pricey for bacon and eggs though. In all a good stay, I would go back ther again.

Stayed: February 2013
2  Thank Bootsjjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Bootsjjs,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is always lovely to see such great reviews, it is very rewarding.

We understand how frustrating long flights and delays can be, however our staff always strive to deliver wonderful friendly service not matter what time of the day or night. I am very happy to hear your stay has restored faith in our brand; our aim is to create great hotels that our guests love.

I will pass this review onto Elise our Guest Service Agent. She is a fantastic part of our team.

We are currently trialing a breakfast package, should it be successful, this will continue to be available for our guests.

If your travels ever bring you to Cairns in the future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,614 - 1,620 of 2,261 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is a true Holiday Inn as the come and what you expect of it.
Although the hallways in the main building are dated, the rooms seem refurbished and comfy. The ones with balcony towards the seaside have a nice view and invite for a beer after the trip to the reef. Location-wise there is better but the 10min walk to the center and marina is actually a good exercise. All in all there is not much to say, value for money is good and the product provided very satisfying.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sveenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Sveenz,

Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to see such active members of the Trip Advisor community. 67 reviews in 44 cities, you have been busy and would have been to some spectacular places I’m sure.

We are very proud of our hotel, and it is looking fantastic after the renovations, our guests love the modern look and features. I have noted your comments regarding the hallways and will pass this onto our engineering department.

Our ocean view rooms with balconies are the perfect way to end a wonderful day on the Great Barrier Reef, and a cold beer sounds great!

We always suggest to guests if they are interested to walk to the marina, it is only a short 10 minute walk past the lagoon, through the park, and it is lovely on a warm sunny day.

If your travels ever bring you to Cairns in the future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We arrived around midnight after a delayed flight. The single man on reception at that time handled our late arrival efficiently, in a friendly manner.

The hotel reception is large, and has the usual comfortable seating area.
It is well position, being at one end of the main shopping area of The Esplanade.

In addition to a restaurent on the ground floor, there is a 'bottle' shop, what we in the North of England would call an out door or off licence! That said its not the cheapest, but its convenient.

We were on the 5th floor, with a balcony on the sea side. We found an ice maker on our floor, which came in usefull for our late night G & T's.

What can you say about the hotel. It's a Holiday Inn, its clean, the beds were comfortable, it's well positioned, the rooms have everything needed, and the furnishings though obviuosly like every other room in every other Holiday Inn provide whats required when away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbrittania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Bobbrittania,

Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to see such active members of the Trip Advisor community.

I am happy to hear that you were given great service upon check in. No matter what time of the day or night, we always strive to deliver great service.

Here at The Holiday Inn, we understand flights get delayed and cancelled and this can very frustrating, our staff are always prepared to help should our guests ever have a problem.

Should your travels bring you to Cairns in the future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on our trip to Cairns. Our time didn’t get off to a good start after finding out I’d booked our stay for January instead of February. Luckily the reception staff were extremely helpful and managed to find us a room for no extra charge.

For Australian standards this was a very good hotel, lovely clean and spacious room with a very comfy bed at an average price. The location is great, situated right on the esplanade and a few minutes’ walk from all the restaurants and shops.

Breakfast wasn’t included in our room but was quite expensive at $25 per person, the Wi-fi was also extortionate at $24 per day!!! They also charge for the use of the car park at $5 per day, but with everywhere else in Australia hidden costs are the norm!

The hotel also has a very good travel desk for booking trips to the Barrier Reef, it’s worth paying extra to go on a better boat and to an outer reef which are less spoilt. You definitely get what you pay for. Ask for the ‘Tusa’ speed boat, they also have the best diving and snorkelling equipment.

For anyone interested in wildlife, you can find the roosting bats just a 2 minute walk from this hotel. (Just head towards the local library) They are fascinating and a good photo opportunity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilgreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear lilgreeny,

Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to see such active members of the Trip Advisor community.

I am sorry to hear that your trip didn’t get off to the greatest start; however, we understand that these things happen and our staff are always very accommodating and will always try to fix any problems for our guests, so I am glad to hear that everything turned out okay.

We are very proud of our hotel, and always try to ensure our rooms and amenities are clean and presentable.

We are trialling a new breakfast package as we speak, and should it be successful this will continue to be on offer for our guests.

Sue at our tour desk is wonderful, she is a local and has been diving for years, she is the go to woman for all things related to tours. I will pass this onto her.

Cairns has some amazing photo opportunities, the bats can be seen upside down in a sleepy daze during the day, or just before sunset they fill the skies over Cairns, it is truly a sight to see.

Should your travels bring you to Cairns in the future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed overnight at the end of a week away on a business trip. The Holiday Inn staff were friendly, the room was comfortable and had two double beds. I ordered room service and enjoyed the barramundi very much. Situated at the end of a run of hotels gives you an "away from it" feel which was also nice. I would recommend it for a couple of nights as the room isn't overly big and would get a little small after a few days.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Brissiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Brissiegurl,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is always great to hear such nice reviews, it is very rewarding.

I am glad to hear that you received great friendly service and I will pass this onto our team.
The barramundi is a very popular option on our menu. We are also introducing a new menu in May of this year, which is really exciting.

Our hotel is in a prime location, and our guests love that it is only a few minutes walk to local amenities and attractions.

If you are ever in Cairns again for work or leisure, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I reviewed this hotel in a stay last year, nothing has changed and I'd still recommend it. This time though on my flight out I thought I'd try the food in room service. Can't go wrong with a barramundi I thought. I was wrong, it was Barramundi covered in breadcrumbs and cheese. It was TERRIBLE. On my return flight I thought I'd maybe had a one off bad experience, I was wrong. In ordering the chicken and Brie sandwich I was given a soggy mess in a takeaway bag and all of it too salty to eat. The stay was good and I really praised this place last time and sorry to focus on the negatives, but the food really is that bad and the hotel needs to do something about it. I might stay there again, but apart from the Brekky, I'll be staying well clear of the food.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Gooseboy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the food selection which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

It wasn't the greatest of introduction to Cairns. Our flight was delayed due to a cyclone. Tropical downpour when we landed. Soaked, literally to the skin, while walking the few short metres to our rental car. Evil sat nav displayed a warped sense of humour and sent us to some place called Holiday inn, 15kms in the wrong direction. Finally found the hotel which is, in fact, a very short distance from the centre of Cairns, neatly located right on the Esplanade, with lots of cafes and restaurants closeby and a superb seview - when the cyclone has headed south and the sun reappeared.

The hotel is fresh and neat. The rooms have been recently renovated. The air con works excellently. The view from our sea-facing room was tremendous. The staff are friendly and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent - even if the waiter was a bit confused when asked to produce a mains-size version of the tiger prawn starter.

And breakfast? One of the best I've eaten in Australia - loads of cerials, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, cold meats, breads and toast. If you prefer the traditional eggs and bacon, you'll love this place. The scrambled egg was beautiful soft and - unique touch in my opinion - they even provide a choice of crisp or not-so-crisp bacon. Hard to fault this place...

Just one tiny moan. The hotel is built in three circular sections with few lifts. You may find yourself traipsing quite a long way from the lift to your room.

All in all, a great place to stay close to the action in Cairns - and great value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pjdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Pjdb,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Holiday Inn.

I am sorry to hear that your introduction to Cairns was not the greatest; cyclones and bad weather sure make it hard to get around and enjoy the local area. It is a good thing that we have plenty of umbrellas for guests to borrow just in case.

The hotel is looking fantastic after renovations, and we hear such great feedback from guests who love the modern design and features.

Our ocean view rooms are very popular with travellers and the balconies are great for glasses of wine to toast goodbye the cyclones as they head out to sea.

Our chef’s and restaurant staff always strive to deliver great food and service. We will have a new menu starting in May of this year which is really exciting.

Breakfast is very popular and delicious, our guests love that they can make their own freshly squeezed juices at our juice station, and the variety of foods is great.

As for the elevators, it can be a bit confusing, next time be sure to ask for the porter who will escort you and your bags to your room, they know the hotel extremely well.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $118 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing