We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Mallacoota, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed at the holiday inn cairns several times before and after flights to Tokyo. The buffet breakfast is fantastic and is excellent price. The restaurant also has excellent dinner meals. Sue at the tour desk is great with booking tours and nothing is too much of a problem. Will definitely stay again next January

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtoski60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear luvtoski60,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Holiday Inn.

The buffet breakfast is delicious, and our guests love that they can make their own freshly squeezed juices at our juice bar.

Our chef’s and restaurant staff always strive to deliver great food and service. We will have a new menu starting in May of this year which is really exciting.

Sue is fantastic, she is a diver herself, and is the go to woman for all things related to tours. I will pass your feedback onto her.

We look forward to welcoming you next January.

Warm Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    898
    321
    70
    53
See reviews for
416
939
161
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
353 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This property is in a spectacular location on the esplanade within walking distance to all things cairns has to offer. The pool is perfect as cairns is hot hot hot with plenty of shade for the sun conscious fellows like myself. The rooms have been recently renovated which make it feel more comfortable. The a/c works a treat and the bed is superb.
The staff are always friendly and smiling. If you're there for the feeding of the barramundi make sure you check it out. Intense but a great spectacle, the fish are HUGE!
Thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear RPKE,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is always great to see such active members of Trip Advisor.

Our hotel is in a prime location, and our guest’s love that it is within a few minutes walk to local amenities and attractions.

The pool and air-conditioning definitely are a luxury on those hot days in Cairns, and it is nice to see our guests relaxing by the pool with a cocktail.

We always strive to deliver great customer service and I will pass this onto our team members who also love to hear guest feedback.

The Barramundi are real stars, they are over 20 years old, and love prawns. Guests are encouraged to come up and feed them, they don’t bite.

Should you travel to Cairns again we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a good hotel with a great location, right on the boardwalk, and only 10 min walk from the lagoon and the marina. When we checked in we were offered a late check out and free morning paper and were given a room on the fifth floor with an ocean view. Beautiful views from our balcony of the sunsets. The room came with a fridge which was perfect. We had arrived on a world trip so the guest laundry is a major plus and a fraction of the cost of the hotel laundry service. As has been stated previously Wi-Fi is this hotels major downfall, and unfortunately can't see this changing as they have a ' everyone charges' mentality.
Overall at great little hotel, is a great location at a reasonable price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Anthony M,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback through Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very lucky to have our hotel in such a prime position and guests love that it is only a few minutes walk to local amenities and attractions.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful ocean view rooms; they are very popular with travellers.

In regards to WIFI practices in Australia, you will find it common practice in nearly all international branded hotels that they charge for the use of Internet. Holiday Inn Cairns is currently reviewing its product offering here and the hotel is looking to move to an inclusive pricing structure for accommodation including Internet.

Should you travel to Cairns again we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns.

Best Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a great 3 day stay at HI Cairns. Check in was very friendly and the woman at the travel desk was kind enough to call our scheduled tours to confirm for us, even though we didn't book through her. True, WI-fi was expensive, but they had 3 coin operated computers that cost $2 for 15 minutes on the Internet. Great for checking e-mails or confirming flights! The room had a sweeping view of the Coral Sea and the hotel is a short walk to shopping, restaurants and the marina. The liquor store downstairs was handy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank juliemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello juliemj,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. It's always great to hear from very active members of the Trip Advisor community.

It was great to see that your enjoyed your stay and that our staff met and exceeded your expectations.

The views from our Ocean View rooms are wonderful and very popular. We always recommend that guests book the ocean view room type in advance so to avoid disappointment.

Should you travel to Tropical North Queensland again we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for 1 night prior to a 3 day dive trip.

Lovely staff on check in - nothing too much trouble when I realised I'd forgotten my toothbrush etc.

Rooms are modern, flat screens and air on v good!

I paid $119 room only which was a bargain. Got upgraded on arrival. Wake up call on time, easy checkout at 6.15am. Room and bathroom very clean.

On Esplanade good location plenty of places to eat nearby on Esplanade and a short walk into CBD. Didn't use pool but looked nice. Bottle shop in hotel- handy for BYO restaurants.

Only thing I'd say is Wifi is monster expensive! $24.95 for 24 hours is crazy - only ever showed 2 bars in my room in any event- very slow. When you travel on business that cost is irrelevant to you because it gets charged to your company but to charge people that are on holiday is not great!


They should look at say 1 hour free and then something more reasonable say $10 per 24 hours.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archipeligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Archipeligo,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have taken on board your comments regarding internet which will be used when we update our internet policy.

Should you travel through Cairns again we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

There is nothing wrong with the holiday inn, its just a bit dated. I know it has been refurbished however it still has that tired feeling to it. Went to get a cold drink of water out of the fridge, and there was nothing, no jug, no bottles, nada this was very disappointing as the temperature outside was approximately 36 degrees. Not really keen on tap water however, there was no other alternative.

There are some really nice accommodation places in Cairns and for what you pay at the Holiday Inn I would suggest looking around for something comparable. Also dont forget that its a short walk into town and that really means something when its really hot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Mollymoo_10,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry our hotel fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Holiday Inn is clean but most of the rooms don't have a view of the ocean. Also they charge a lot for wifi...$12.50/hour or $25/day!! I ended up walking 2 blocks to Gloria Jean's Coffee on the Esplanade where you get great wifi with $5 purchase.

I was glad for the fridge and kettle in the room. Sue who books tours in the lobby was extremely helpful and friendly!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Corinne A,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

Thank you for your kind comments in regards to the hotel. I will ensure I share these with the team who all take a lot pride in their ability to create that unique guest experience!.

In regards to WIFI practices in Australia, you will find it common practice in nearly all international branded hotels that they charge for the use of Internet. Holiday Inn Cairns is currently reviewing its product offering here and the hotel is looking to move to an inclusive pricing structure for accommodation including Internet.

Thank you again for your detailed review which will assist us greatly in better servicing the needs of our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing