We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location great, hotel ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location great, hotel ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Overall, the hotel was ok - no huge complaints, but I did notice that the carpet had a lot of spots on it, probably needed a good steam cleaning, and the fridge had someone's leftover milk carton in it. Also, the room we got was on the second floor and right above the garbage pick up area, so every morning we were woken up by the dump truck taking the garbage out. You should make sure when selecting the room to ask for a higher floor, or not above the garbage.
The location of the hotel itself was great though, walking distance to everything, but still a little bit removed from all the crowds.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors, ocean view
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank e419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear e419

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle.

Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to the housekeeping issues mentioned. Please be assured this isn't our usual standard and we will use this valuable feedback to take corrective action. An example of our immediate corrective action was upon reading your review it prompted us to ring our waste management provider to ensure they were abiding by the pre arranged late pick ups that we have in place. A good night sleep is important to our travellers & paramount to our continued success. Thanks to you we have been able to fix this issue!.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    873
    310
    69
    51
See reviews for
405
907
153
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

stay holiday inn 2 days and beach view room is a must if u are the light sleeper. great location, great view if u choose the one facing the esplanade. hotel public area is really average. great value thou.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bing-BiLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Bing-BiLu

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle. The views from the ocean views rooms are a favourite of our guests and are highly sort after.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here about 12 months ago and was happy so booked again for a 4 day stay.
Very convenient location, short walking distance to the CBD and heaps of eateries on the Esplanade with the tourists.
You won't see too many of the locals at these eateries.
Hotel service was great and staff very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast buffet was a bit ordinary compared to similar hotels but good selection of food for local and Asian cuisines.
Only complaint was cost of Wi-fi, $12.95 per hour but Wi-fi is free at most eateries on Esplanade so we ate there instead of the hotel.
Will definitely stay here next time in Cairns

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Esplanade side with a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear missy 601

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. 31 reviews in 15 cities...wow you have been busy. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle.

Thank you for mentioning the TEAM “ Hotel service was great and staff very friendly and helpful”. It makes a big difference when I can share these comments with the TEAM who take a lot of pride in their work.

I’ll share your comment in regards to the breakfast with our Chef and Guest Experience Manager Food & Beverage. To be honest I was a little surprised by your comment as you will see from prior comments our breakfast is normally one of the highlights. None the less, my apologies it wasn’t up to its normal high standard during your visit.

The hotel offers hourly internet packages, 24 hours & by the minute. Next time you stay please visit our internet cafe with very reasonable rates at $2.00 per 15 minutes.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great hotel, great location close to everything. Very clean and comfortable with helpful staff. Highlight was the buffet breakfast with squeeze your own fresh juice. Yum. Really felt spoilt. Will definitely return. Cairns was a lovely surprise too - very international with lots of outdoor eating.... and Port Douglas only an hour away (and the drive there)- just beautiful. Highlight was Mossman Gorge and the lovely Aboriginal people running everything. Great trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Cairns Australia

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

Wow, what a great name for a Trip Advisor profile. You are correct, Cairns is an amazing part of the world and there is just so much to do up here!. From swimming in lagoon to snorkelling, on the reef, from walking the rain forests to swinging from the trees with adventure tourism.


Thank you for mentioning the TEAM and our great breakfast.“ Very clean and comfortable with helpful staff. Highlight was the buffet breakfast with squeeze your own fresh juice. Yum. Really felt spoilt”.

It makes a big difference when I can share these comments with the TEAM who take a lot of pride in their work.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Location is great. Walking distance to CBD. Room is modern and clean. Breakfast buffet is below par. Definitely not worth paying for it unless included in the rate. There is a pool but very small and pathetic atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MINIMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Minimd from Atlanta,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor.

9 reviews in 7 cities...keep going with the reviews as it allows us to receive some fantastic feedback. Through this feedback we are better able to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great stay, every time.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle. The rooms are modern and clean.

I’ll share your comment in regards to the breakfast with our Chef and Guest Experience Manager Food & Beverage. To be honest I was a little surprised by your comment as you will see from prior comments our breakfast is normally one of the highlights. None the less, my apologies it wasn’t up to its normal high standard during your visit.

The hotel offers a 20 meter swimming pool, children’s pool & hot spa pool. For more options the Cairns Esplanade within 5 minutes walk also offers a sensational lagoon pool with a natural sandy beach and plenty of fun for all ages. The lagoon pool is free and is a real must do when visiting Cairns.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a great hotel with clean rooms and a great staff, but a lot of the commodities were quite expensive. There is a parking fee, airport shuttle fee, $25 per night for WiFi, and a moderately priced bar/restaurant.

For the price though, the hotel is almost unbeatable. We returned our rental car after one day because everything we wanted to do is within walking distance.

If you are flying in and do require a car, avoid renting a car at the airport. The shuttle service to the hotel is $10 per person, and there are much cheaper rental car agencies within 4 blocks of the hotel. There is a Budget location (along with others) just down the road from the hotel for $40 a day cheaper than the Budget at the airport.

Also, the tour desk at the hotel is great. Sue is phenomenal and has done most of the tours to give you good feedback on them, and she can book everything right on the spot for you. Avoid booking reef tours before you go...let her check the weather when you arrive and book a tour on whatever day will have the most sunlight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandonNAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear De Pere from Wisconsin,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle.

Thank you for mentioning the TEAM “Sue” .“ Sue is phenomenal and has done most of the tours to give you good feedback on them, and she can book everything right on the spot for you. Avoid booking reef tours before you go...let her check the weather when you arrive and book a tour on whatever day will have the most sunlight”. Sue is one of our many STARS!.
It makes a big difference when I can share these comments with the TEAM who take a lot of pride in their work.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We checked in for one night at the Holiday Inn after getting into Cairns on a late flight. Tara at the front desk was brilliant, offering us a room upgrade and a late checkout without us having to request. Happily they matched a Wotif special and in fact beat it.

The views over the Esplanade were excellent and the walk to Muddies Playground/ Esplanade pool was a matter of minutes.

Would highly recommend the Holiday Inn for those wanting the most for their dollar.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilkotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Wilkotrip from Perth,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle. Great views from our ocean view rooms and highly sort after.

Thank you for mentioning the TEAM and Tara in particular. Tara is certainly one of our many assets and loves looking after our valuable guests. “Tara at the front desk was brilliant, offering us a room upgrade and a late checkout without us having to request”
It makes a big difference when I can share these comments with the TEAM who take a lot of pride in their work.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing