We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$151
$134
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$94
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$97
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Balinese Motel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$88
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascade Gardens(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$185
$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$81
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Il Centro Apartment Suites(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$130
$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Inn(Cairns)
$65
$62
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,361)
Filter reviews
2,361 results
Traveler rating
806
1,009
388
93
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
806
1,009
388
93
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treeholiday innbarramundiwarm cookiestour deskbottle shopocean viewbuffet breakfastexcellent locationtravel deskshort walkduty managerbit datedthe great barrier reefport douglasan upgradevisit cairns
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,779 - 1,784 of 2,361 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good points: great location - right on the esplanade, near the shops and restaurants and very central for picking up for day trips etc. Ocean view room had a beautiful view and room was a good size with a lovely balcony. Front desk staff, tour desk and concierge were very helpful and friendly. Food not bad. Interesting lagoon inside the hotel featuring fish, molluscs etc.
Bad points: room wasn't very clean. The floor wasn't vacuumed for three days. On the evening of day 3 after returning from a long day trip we complained to the duty manager who responded very quickly. He arranged for the concierge to vacuum as housekeeping had gone home and promised us a VIP clean the next day. But we shouldn't have to get a VIP clean - the rooms should be cleaned properly every day. Very disappointing.
As other reviewers have pointed out the bathrooms are very small - if one person is sitting on the toilet there's no room for anyone else to get in or out of the bathroom. sound proofing between rooms isn't great and we could here the water pressure from neighbouring rooms if they were showering.
Overall the hotel does the job but If we went to Cairns again I would probably opt for a holiday apartment.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Nerys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hello Nerys A,

Congratulations on your 3rd review and thank you for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback. We use all the feedback we receive to fine tune our operation. We love creating a stay environment where our guests expectations are exceeded and they walk away from the Holiday Inn with lasting memories.

Thank you for your kind comments in regards to the various positive experiences of your stay. You are correct in saying that the hotels location is great, rooms have a beautiful view and are a good size and of course our front office, tour desk, concierge staff were helpful and friendly.
The team are passionate about creating a Great Hotel that our guests Love. In fact this is our CORE PURPOSE!.

Your comments in regards to your room servicing are also appreciated. I will personally follow this up with our Executive Housekeeper and her team. My sincere apologies for this lapse of service you experienced here.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us some great feedback.

Keep reviewing, keep travelling, and keep staying at a Holiday Inn!

Best regards

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Right on the esplanade, we had a great view from our ocean facing room.
We were on the 6th floor so had no outside noise.
Previously we were on the ground floor and could hear all the street noise and staff coming and going to the laundry.
The bathrooms are very pokie, but were clean.
You are in walking distance of shops, restaurants and pubs
The front office staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less outside road noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthWA05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear PerthWA05

Hello from Cairns, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Queensland!. Thank you for taking the time in sharing your review and thank you for being a "regular" guest!!. Did you join our PCR Club?. You can enjoy great benefits, earn points for your stay and best of all its free!. You can sign up on line or ask at the front desk on your next visit.

I will personally pass on your positive comments to the team. As you would have experienced, the team put our guests stay at the heart of everything they do. Our CORE PURPOSE is Great Hotels, Guests Love and hearing your reinforcing comments its pleases me greatly that we are delivering.

Come again and again.....stay travelling, stay reviewing and stay at a Holiday Inn.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

In general this hotel was good. The room are big but the bathroom tiny tiny. The in room dining is ok. The staff are really nice and helpful. The windows would need to be double because you could hear everything from the street in the middle night...
The laundry is useful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kangoo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hello Kangoo95,

Thank you for visiting Tropical North Queensland!. I see you are from Malaga Spain. 20 reviews in 15 cities....you’ve been busy!.

I hope you had time to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rain Forest. I love the fact that we have two World Heritage sites on our door steps!.

Thank you for taking the time to give the Holiday Inn Cairns some valuable feedback. I will ensure we pass it onto the team. I was surprised to hear your comment about the street noise as normally we receive positive feedback about how quiet the hotel is at night as it’s just outside noisy dining district where many hotels are situated (close walking distance- 5 minutes). Maybe it was just a one off?.
Stay travelling, stay reviewing and keep staying at a Holiday Inn

Best regards

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here again for work and the rooms are great. Spacious, modern, clean, airy with great room temp control, great movie selection, loved the pillow choices and had a great room service meal and a fantastic buffet breakfast. THE BIG PROBLEM is after a sticky flight and the usual Cairns humidity there is not even a bottle of water in the fridge. Please sort out the no mini bar thing it's a blight on an otherwise great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarcev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hello Scarcev,

“Great rooms but why no mini bars?”. A good question!.

Thank you for taking the time to visit Cairns and we appreciate your choice to stay at the Holiday Inn!. Your positive comments will be shared with the team and we appreciate the feedback.

Mini bars!. A bit of history here if I may. A couple of years back we removed the beverages to allow our guests the room to fully stock the fridges with their own contents. Over the years we constantly found guest’s empting the contents of the fridges into a cupboard. This created work for our guests, condensation issues, etc. When we surveyed our guests, the majority said that they would like the fridge available however empty so they could fill it themselves with all their favourites. We have an onsite bottle shop available and of course we offer a full mini bar upon request. It seems to work well most of the time.

Next time if you would like your mini bar stocked prior to your arrival we would be more than happy to do so. Please let us know the next time you stay.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate you taking the time. As I always say, Stay travelling, Stay reviewing and keep Staying at a Holiday Inn.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in an ocean front room with a balcony. Lovely to sit and people watch in the morning and evening. Bathrooms are tiny and poorly ventilated. Room clean but bathroom silicon covered in mould as were patches on the roof - gave me the creeps. The buffet breakfast was good and the tour lady um 'honest'/negative. Flat screen tv. Had all you would need but not luxurious. Paid $189 night inclg breakfast for 3 which was good value. 5 min walk to Muddys playground and 5 mins walk to the lagoon and restaurants. 15 walk to shopping centre and coles. 15 min walk to reef terminal. Fish feeding (barra) in the atrium which my son loved. The esplanade is lovely. I would have been quite disappointed in this hotel if we hadn't had an ocean view room but the view made up for it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisbane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Hello Brisbane15,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is through honest feedback that we can continue to improve our service & product offering to our valued guests.

It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Cairns. I too love the Ocean View rooms and nothing better than a bit of “people watching”.

I have passed on your comments to our engineering team re the silicon your bathroom. The hotel runs a preventative maintenance program which ensures our Engineering team constantly go through all rooms in the hotel repairing as required and maintaining the high standard needed. Your comment will allow us to correct this issue, thank you.

The hotel is fortunate to offer a fully serviced tour desk with a large array of activities to do and see in Cairns. I was surprised to see your comment in regards to the service you received from our Tour Desk staff as normally our service here is one of our consistent strengths. In fact the review before yours made comment of the high service provided. Please accept my sincere apologies on this occasion that we did not deliver our usual high standards of customer engagement & please be assured I will follow it up with the Tour Desk team.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed our great breakfast buffet & our unique Barramundi pools. We have 18 barramundi that are coming up to 20 years old, weighing in excess of 20kilos!!!. . The fish feeding is a highlight for many of our guests, you actually get to feed these “Monsters”, lucky they don’t have teeth.

Should you travel back to Cairns again we would love to welcome you back. Stay travelling, stay reviewing, stay at a Holiday Inn.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews