We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs someone to love it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2008

I have just recently stayed in this hotel and would not advise anyone to stay there.There are major renovations going on in this hotel and the swimming pool is closed and part of the gardens are not open.The third floor of hotel is closed down due to up grading and the noise is terrible.Next door is a building site which starts working at 6.00am with lots of jackhammers etc.You will get no rest in this hotel and really it should be closed .There is nowhere To relax here.The least the hotel could have done was to give a refund or try and make up for this mess.Also the staff were not at all helpful.Just try getting a drink at the bar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!You would still be waiting.Need I say more-the best thing about this hotel is it's location.

Stayed: January 2008
3  Thank sorcha001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICairns, Business Development Manager - Paul McMurray at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2008

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent experience at Holiday Inn Cairns. Please accept my apologies for how you were affected by the refurbishment works in the hotel, work on the building next door, closure of the pool and your experience in the bar.

You will be please to know that the refurbishment going on in the hotel will be completed by the 30 April 2008 and the pool opened after closer for 3 weeks at the end of February. The work that was undergoing during your stay was a full gut out and update of all guest rooms bathroom. As I am sure you can understand this is very exciting work happening in the hotel in order to enhance the overall product of the hotel.

The extent of the whole refurbishment upgrade included the complete gut out and replacement of all fixtures and facilities of the Bathroom from the taps to the bath, an exterior make over, lobby & reception upgrade reflecting a more contemporary design and the refurbishment of the hotel restaurant.
The building work next door is a construction of a luxury apartment block due to be completed in the second half of 2008. You feedback on the construction site will be followed up with the company to ensure that the hours of work are in-line with the expected working hour. The hotel has also recently amended its room types to take into account the building being constructed.

The service you received from our staff is not in line with our usually high standards. Please be assured your feedback points have been addressed and noted.

I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and we hope to welcome you back to experience our refurbished product and the highest level of service to which we are committed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,079 - 2,085 of 2,328 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2008

Spent 2 nights here December this year. Hotel is well located on the esplanade with great views from our room,Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Had two quiet peaceful nights here,the rooms are of average size but kept clean and tidy.Great location for everything going on in Cairns.We ate in the hotel on 1 occasion and could not fault either the quality of the food or service.If in Cairns again I would proberly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICairns, Business Development Manager - Paul McMurray at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2008

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and I appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take advantage of the location and view the hotel has to offer.
We pride ourselves for being highly commended for our high level of service and product and I am glad that you were able to see this with your experience in our staff and restaurant. This feedback will be passed on to the team.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

This was one of the nicest hotels i have stayed in, beautiful lobby and very helpful staff at front desk. We arrived early and since i am a priority club member we were in our room by 10.30am. The hotel has a beautiful atrium with pond and fish which fascinated my 6 y.o. son. We had a problem with the bathroom sink and also ants in the room but this was taken care of very swiftly by staff. The room (727) otherwise was very clean and bright, comfortable beds and great views of "beach", and mountain range . Room service was quick and the food tasty. The pool was nice size. The only complaint i would have is the breakfast which was a little pricey and very limited. Probably better to eat out at one of many places on the esplanade. (We had a really nice meal at restaurant Casa de Meze, if you're seated by 6.30pm you get 25%discount).
We will definitely stay here again, great location and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gslillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed in this hotel during Nov 2007 and it was good value and excellent location, about 5 min walk to shops & bars etc. The hotel has a great pond in the middle of the hotel and you can watch the fish being fed.The rooms were clean however we left a bag of sweets in our room and on return it was full of ants!!!. Building work is ongoing and starts about 730am so request a room away from the work. The hotel staff & tours desk were very helpful and we booked 2 tours without any problems. We stayed for 4 nights and as we were up early to go on tours the noise form the building work did not disturb us. I work recommend going again when the refurbishment is completed. Please note that due to building work next to the hotel as well!!! the site overlooks the swimming pool so be prepared to be be greeted by workmen!.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

While we did not stay at this hotel, we did however had a 'Christmas Seafood Dinner Buffet' there.

We were looking forward to a great night but was sorely disappointed. The seafood comprised of blue spanner crabs, bugs,and prawns. The crabs were mushy and the bugs smelt off. We mentioned this to the waitress and asked whether the foods were leftovers from lunch. She came back later and said the chef maintains that everything is fresh.

Apart from the seafood, the hot selection was limited, no roast, the same could be said about desserts ...pitiful. There was one bowl of cherries for the whole restaurant, mainly bruised and rotten and not being topped up.

A rather expensive and very disappointing experience to say the least. To think that dining at the Holiday Inn you could expect a bit better than this.

My advice is , there is plenty of choices along the Esplanade, so don't eat there.

Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
3  Thank tsangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

Excellent hotel on the Esplanade. Upper floor rooms have great views of the Cairns waterfront and rainforest-clad mountains. Well-equipped spacious bedrooms. Extremely helpful staff at all levels. Free underground and valet parking--a boon. Decent restaurant in the hotel but lots within a few minutes stroll down the Esplanade and boardwalk. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

It was a while ago since we stayed, but I still remember it so well!

The room was very nice, and we had a view of the mountains.

The hotel is located right on the Esplanade, where you can find an array of restaurants, clubs and shops. Just 500m away is the city centre, where you can visit the big shopping centres and some of the other restaurants. Rusty's Markets is a must, where they sell delicious tropical produce.

We tried the Breakfast Buffet and Dinner Buffet, both were excellent.

Cairns is just a few hours from Cape Tribulation and the Daintree National Park. You can also visit the Tablelands. The hotel is about 200m from the harbour, where you can depart for a Great Barrier Reef Adventure.

Staff at the hotel were good too. The receptionist, a young guy, had won an award six years in a row for being one of the top Holiday Inn Employees in the entire world.

This hotel is great for both business people and leisure guests. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $127 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing