We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Very nice hotel to stay in. Staff were very friendly, especially at reception. This is a large hotel with a pond in the middle which had barramundi swimming in it. We had a room with two double beds, very nice and comfy. There is a bottle shop on the east side of building if you feel like a couple of cold drinks and the RSL is just across the road. Just a stone's throw from cairns city centre. In the morning went for a run along the boardwalk, very scenic. We really enjoyed our stay here and would of liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    799
    270
    62
    47
See reviews for
364
794
140
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel is very close to the harbor, newly renovated, clean, with good showers, clean bedlinen, spacious lobby, polite, efficient staff. Rooms are a bit on the small side. Well priced. Excellent buffet breakfast,( a bit pricey.).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patakidiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had a pleasant 5 night stay at Holiday Inn. We got an upgrade for $25 dollars a night to an ocean view king size bed room and it was worth it. The view to the ocean was gorgeous, especially during sun rise (we were never back early enough to catch the sunset). The room is spacious with modern furniture and LCD TV.

Now, like everybody else here, I have to mention Sue at the tour desk. Without her, our trip in Cairns would've been miserable! The day we got to Cairns was windy and rainy. We had booked a scuba/snorkel tour for the next day and another fishing trip. Although we were concerned about the weather, we thought maybe we should just stick with the original plan and avoid all the hassles. We thought we'd talk to Sue just in case and it changed everything. Her experience and knowledge were so helpful and we took her words and everything worked out perfect! She was not afraid of telling you her honest opinions and she's always trying to make the best decision for you no matter how much trouble she has to go through. We saw her work very late hours to help more guests. We are extremely grateful for all her kind help and all our tours worked out fantastic because of her hard work and valuable recommendations.

A quick note about the hotel is that when we were checking out, they showed us the bill and I noticed that they charged us for a few phone calls that did not go through. I mentioned it to them and they quickly took them off the bill without asking us anything. I guess it's not really their fault because the phones are probably automatically logged, but just a small warning for everybody to watch out for.

Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piefaceaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked in at the Holiday Inn cairns as my fiance is an avid Holiday Inn fan. He travels alot and has rated Holiday In (HI) to be the best hotel that has consistency and upmost service.

The location was perfect, only about 10 minutes from the airport and a block back from the beach. Cafes and shops were a stones throw. I heard before (via tripadvisor) that this HI has been thru refurbishment awhile ago so i was really keen to see what it looks like.

We got our room upgraded to an ocean view. However, we were quite dissapointed when we found out that the room did NOT have ocean view, infact we were adjacent to an RSL club. The toilet was so small and there wasnt much room to move about (it was an arms length between the mirror and the bathtub).

The amenities and facilities of the hotel were Subpar. My fiance went for a gym session and he was complaining for the lack of proper equipment. The TV was excellent with channels to suite patrons of all ages. They had a huge list of inroom dining.

It was rainy when we came to Cairns and the room heater didnt seem to be working. I tried to ring reception but noone answered my call (perhaps noone mend the desk after 1030pm??) I later found out that the hotel had just upgraded to a 'green' hotel so i figured they probably are in the midst of trying to adjust the heating generator of the hotel.

The staffs were very friendly and professional. Buffet breakfast was a heaven. There was underground car parking (free) and the hotel boasts a tiny barramundi pond where kids can watch/feed them.

Overall the stay was pleasant but with the same amount of money- i would spend it somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2309DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The room was clean, nicely decorated and neat. Nice view of the water/boats even though they placed us on the side of the building. Location on the Esplanade very nice and so convenient. Close to everything. See below***.

Exceptional tour agent at hotel named Sue. Hats off to her! She had incredible patience and fabulous ideas. Due to limited time and many full tours, my mom and I ended up on the Wait a While Tropical Rain Forest Tour with Adrian as our guide. We had delicious scones at a volcanic lake and a wonderful time spotting wildlife - the hours flew by, felt like a Girl Scout all over again. Funny thing is Sue stated that Wait a While Tour was written up on Tripadvisor and that statement made us very confident and interested in booking the pricey (but totally worth it!!) private tour.

***Service three stars due to average of five for Sue and one for the front desk: One minor mishap at hotel, upon check in, the front desk staff stated my credit card was declined (before I arrived, when they tried to get full payment early) and that I needed to make full payment immediately in cash or with another card. I suggested that she run it through again because I had no problems with it on my trip to date and had informed my credit card company of exactly where I'd be and when. When it was run through, there was no problem. So, they really should've skipped the "making me feel like a criminal" part from the "welcome." But, the staffperson was young and I think she learned from her mistake.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Steelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed at Holiday Inn May 2011. Very comfortable bed with choice of soft or firm pillows (a thoughtful & appreciated extra), the BEST water pressure from shower rose, couldn't fault the daily cleanliness of room, every staff member we spoke with most courteous & helpful, Most enjoyable, FRESH seafood dinner at their Sirroco restaurant, gymnasium had all we required and was monitored for safety. In all, a wonderful three day stay and great value for money to boot. Would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colviv57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night, and would certainly return again if passing through Cairns.
We have previously stayed at another hotel at the other end of Esplande, but thought this was in better, close to resturants, the Marina, great outlook. Nice room, view, but yes the bathroom is SMALL. But if you are only there for a night or two this is not an issue.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobCre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing