We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks can be Deceiving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lagoon Vue

Lagoon Vue
Ranked #333 of 592 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Looks can be Deceiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Not the best looking Restaurant, but unreal Campo's coffee served here also the breakfast eggs
are good.
Service was efficient and very polite.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmckay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
65mrk, Manager at Lagoon Vue, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Paul,

Thanks for taking the time, to post a review of our cafe / Restaurant on Trip advisor. we are contantly looking for ways to improve, and value any feedback or ideas.

Mark Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful food, slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Out of the three dishes we ordered, only the prawns which our 8-year old had were passable, and only because we asked to cook them straight. The calamari was almost raw, and the prawns I had were overcooked and had some awful sauce on top. The service was painfully slow - we had to wait 30 minutes for the first dish while the restaurant was half empty. Avoid this place.

Helpful?
Thank Oleg9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awful breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of the worst breakfasts I have had. The eggs Benedict was hard boiled with a tiny amount of tasteless hollandaise. The omelets were tasteless and rubbery the same went for the scrambled eggs. The coffee was burnt and tiny! The service was okay, not overly friendly. Would not recommend this to people staying in cairns.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missAngilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice food and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This cafe was positioned directly across from the lagoon and there was a view if the lagoon and esplanade from the tables. I ordered the healthy breakfast which was delicious! It had 2 poached eggs, rye toast, tomato, avocado, mushroom and spinach. The service was quick and friendly and the food came out quite quickly.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

For a small cafe outside the night market we were expecting market type food. The white tablecloths impressed me for a start. Can't be too bad... Being a mainly fish eater and love barramundi (live in Victoria so always frozen), this was the BEST barramundi I've ever had! Lightly battered, crispy chips and melted in your mouth! Excellent service and great prices! A great value meal especially affordable for the family! Give it a try, you won'tbe disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagoon Vue also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Lagoon Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing