We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful breakfast”
Review of Lagoon Vue

Lagoon Vue
Ranked #330 of 591 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awful breakfast”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of the worst breakfasts I have had. The eggs Benedict was hard boiled with a tiny amount of tasteless hollandaise. The omelets were tasteless and rubbery the same went for the scrambled eggs. The coffee was burnt and tiny! The service was okay, not overly friendly. Would not recommend this to people staying in cairns.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missAngilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice food and great location”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This cafe was positioned directly across from the lagoon and there was a view if the lagoon and esplanade from the tables. I ordered the healthy breakfast which was delicious! It had 2 poached eggs, rye toast, tomato, avocado, mushroom and spinach. The service was quick and friendly and the food came out quite quickly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

For a small cafe outside the night market we were expecting market type food. The white tablecloths impressed me for a start. Can't be too bad... Being a mainly fish eater and love barramundi (live in Victoria so always frozen), this was the BEST barramundi I've ever had! Lightly battered, crispy chips and melted in your mouth! Excellent service and great prices! A great value meal especially affordable for the family! Give it a try, you won'tbe disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“awesome breakfast”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

a great spot for a good value breakfast, excellent coffee. Visited many times since it opened, only one miss when the cook/chef seemed to be a different one than previous.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RNS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“poor, slow service, for food not worth the wait”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The day we had breakfast at this cafe there we were one of two tables (six people in all in the cafe). We waited nearly 15mins for two toasted sandwiches which were fairly average. We needed to ask twice for our coffee (which came after our breakfast), and needed to ask 3 times for a glass of water for our child (in the end we stood at the counter and waited for them to pour it!). Our breakfast was also interrupted by one of the staff apologising for the poor service (wanting us to say it was OK so she would feel better I think...). At one point I counted more staff in the Cafe then customers, and yet the service was still not even average..

Would not go back, there are plenty of overpriced places on the esplanade in Cairns... try another...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekyd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagoon Vue also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Lagoon Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing