We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! But a lil chaotic!!”
Review of Salt House

Salt House
Ranked #68 of 644 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated at Marina Point, next to the Cairns Yacht Club facilities, Salt House is a unique dining, bar and entertainment venue offering a panoramic view of the ocean, marina and city on the waterfront in Cairns.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Positives
* Great location
* Food was tasty & good value for money (Pan seared scallops, Sweet potato, green pea and cardamom dumplings, Yellow fin tuna fillet, Vegetable Thai red curry)
* Cocktails were decent size (mojito & raspberry mojito)
* Vegetarian friendly
* Wait staff were friendly.
* Bar has good atmosphere

Negatives
* 7pm booking & had to wait for approx 10 minutes to be seen to before being seated (even though there were plenty of staff around, we weren't even acknowledged & the restaurant was only 1/3 capacity)
* Initially wait staff were attentive until the restaurant became busier then they seemed chaotic. We found once we were served our mains, we had to try to get wait staffs attention for more drinks, dessert menu & bill).

Overall I would recommend Salt House, though they could improve their overall customer service.

Thank Go_Get_Em_Girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salthousecairns, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for your extensive review on Salt House - we appreciate the time you have spent to provide what you love and what you believe needs improvement at the venue.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the food, cocktails and the atmosphere. We will take your comments on board in regards to customer service and discuss this with our team to ensure that this does not happen in the future.

Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,700 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

This venue was extremely busy but the staff were coping well and kept their sense of humour.
We were a big group and were handled extremely efficiently.
I had fillet steak and It was cooked to my requests and very tasty.
All of our group seemed satisfied.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salthousecairns, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Hi Tim,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Salt House experience and everything was perfect.

We will let our team know your kind words and our team of chefs regarding your perfectly cooked steak!

We hope you have a safe trip back to the UK and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Loved the food, five of us shared the tapas menu then some pizzas. All of it was very tasty, especially the pizzas and calamari which was cooked to perfection. The atmosphere and decor in the outdoor area was fantastic. Would go back to the Salt House.

Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salthousecairns, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Hi Scotty & Kezza,

We hope you had a lovely trip to Cairns and we are glad that you managed to squeeze in a visit to Salt House!

Our bar snack menu is very popular as are our pizzas and it is lovely to hear that the food was to your liking - our chefs will love to hear it!

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on Trip Advisor and we hope you had a safe trip back to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was lovley well lit and just the right mood the service form the staff was warm and welcoming. Was there for a birthday meal and was not disappointed would eat there again in a heart beat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salthousecairns, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Hi Gareth,

Thank you for your positive words about your recent dinner visit with us. We will ensure to pass on your lovely words to our service and kitchen team and we hope to see you back dining again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have been to this restaurant for few times, dinner and breakfast. However the breakfast this morning is terrible and not value for money. Waitress have all the excuses and forgot the plot. If you charged for your product and you do not deliver then you should be not charging for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cairnslocallovefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salthousecairns, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for reviewing Salt House on Trip Advisor and we are sorry to hear that the breakfast was not up to the standard that was expected.

We would hope that you would have pointed out the errors at the time with our team to ensure that your experience would have been compensated or replaced. We cannot improve our service and produce unless feedback is provided to us from our customers.

We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience and hope that as a Cairns local, you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt House also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Salt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing