We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeah but no”
Review of Salt House

Salt House
Ranked #37 of 597 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated at Marina Point, next to the Cairns Yacht Club facilities, Salt House is a unique dining, bar and entertainment venue offering a panoramic view of the ocean, marina and city on the waterfront in Cairns.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yeah but no”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Just a let down... My expectations for a place like this was higher given the value of the meals and the location. The service was poor and it's not as if they were busy. I'm sorry but to have to ask for water 3 times is poor. I will not be rushing back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kens81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltybean, Manager at Salt House, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Ken,

Thank you for your visit and we are sorry to hear that it did not live up to your expectations.

We are continually striving to exceed our customer's expectations and it appears that we have let you down on this occasion. We will discuss your comments with our floor team to ensure that this does not occur in the future.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    593
    266
    131
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious food & cool harbor view setting”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at the Shangri-la and easily walked here for dinner. Wonderful menu - fresh prawns and other seafood, delicous salads and pasta and good sized portion of wine by the glass. Service was nice and the atmosphere was lively and fun. I definitely recommend this place if you're looking for wonderful seafood in a relaxing open air (but covered) atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lspitsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltybean, Manager at Salt House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at Salt House. It is a lovely walk from the Shangri-La too along the board walk!

Thank you for your visit and your lovely words about your meal, the service and the venue. We look forward to welcoming you back to Salt House during your next visit to Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Missed the mark.....”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having heard rumours that the food had greatly improved, we decided to hit the Salthouse for a seafood lunch, hoping that the rumours were true. We were seated pretty quickly and served warm water in warm glasses and then pretty much forgotten about. So we sat, and sat and sat.... tried to get eye contact, nope didn't work. We were pretty much at the get up and leave stage when we finally got a servers attention.

The seafood platter and snapper with corn both appeared visually interesting, so after the obligatory photo we attacked the snapper dish first. What initially struck me was the random temperatures on the plate. We assumed from the description that it would be a warm dish, however the plate was cold, polenta warm, snapper cold and muscles hot. The varying corn idea is great in theory, with different types and textures or corn represented BUT it was not executed well at all. Stale popcorn, slightly sweet and soggy cornflakes, wilty old looking baby corn and the warm grainy bland polenta. The snapper was still moist, yet the coldness of it was off putting. There was supposed to be a hazelnut dressing, yet we did not taste any hazelnut...

The seafood platter was a pretty stock standard seafood platter with the only standout being the shredded salmon with the pickled seaweed. Otherwise think ready made seafood sauce and standard old tartare sauce. The Octopus needed work, chewy and rubbery and not that pleasant - some briney marinated greek style octopus would have been a much better idea.

Overall, it was a a pretty average meal with below standard service. Our waters were not topped up throughout the meal, weren't offered drinks and when I tracked down a server to ask for seasoning, the response was 'its outside over there'.....for $36 approximately a main I would expect MUCH better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justaddbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltybean, Manager at Salt House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review of your dining experience with us at Salt House.

We will ensure to pass on your comments to our team of chefs in regards to the dishes that you ordered. We continually strive to improve all areas of our business and it is only with positive and negative feedback that we can adjust to what our customers enjoy.

If you would like to discuss this further with our team, please email olivia@salthouse.com.au at your earliest convenience.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity improve on your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food was fine”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

All in all the salt house was fine, food was of good quality and the waiting staff were courteous. However, something was not quite right.... The atmosphere just felt lacking. I cannot put my finger on what was wrong but there was something. I would go back , but it won't be a must do!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PFD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltybean, Manager at Salt House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Salt House and it is lovely to hear that everything was fine throughout your experience.

We are interested to find out why you felt the atmosphere is lacking as we do our best to ensure that the venue is the best in Cairns. We would appreciate your comments about your time to olivia@salthouse.com.au at your earliest convenience.

Thank you for your positive feedback about your meal and our staff. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Fist time at Salt House. Four adults and two children. Meals were all very good. Children had burgers with fries. The steak burger was very tasty and tender cooked well over the char grill. The fries were fantastic. Flank steak was one of the best steaks I have eaten, very juicy and tender. Wife had Penang Duck again delicious. Overall well worth a visit, fantastic setting and service, children well catered for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltybean, Manager at Salt House, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Salt House and thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We loved to hear that your whole family enjoyed your meals and that your children were catered for. We will ensure to pass on your kind words about your meals to our team of chefs. We agree that the views are pretty amazing too!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Salt House again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt House also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Salt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing