We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails”
Review of Salt House

Salt House
Ranked #35 of 607 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated at Marina Point, next to the Cairns Yacht Club facilities, Salt House is a unique dining, bar and entertainment venue offering a panoramic view of the ocean, marina and city on the waterfront in Cairns.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went for a night out with friends and dropped into Salt House. The bar is amazing! And the cocktails were great!!! Best male toilet I've ever seen!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt H, Manager at Salt House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Jenabe,

Thank you for dropping into Salt House for some cocktails and it is great to hear that you loved the experience.

Our cocktail team work hard to ensure the best cocktails in Cairns so they will be extremely happy that you loved them.

We receive a lot of comments about the male toilets too!

We look forward to seeing you back at Salt House again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    607
    271
    134
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food, enjoy great night!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We celebrate late Valentine's day and our food was awesome! Had the best steak so far in Cairns, and even just the Salt house bread and the dipping... just too good to don't know what to say!

Great service in the restaurant, but may hard to get a drink in the bar, cuz too popular and not big enough bar?

Also have very good quality band at night.

Just plan to visit again this weekend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt H, Manager at Salt House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Penny,

We love to hear that you had a fabulous time at Salt House and thank you for your visit!

Our team of chefs will be happy to hear that your food was perfect - we receive some great feedback on the steak! We will also pass on your feedback about the good service you received in the restaurant to our floor team.

We like to have live entertainment on the weekends so we hope that you will visit again soon to enjoy another experience at Salt House Cairns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“go for the seafood”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

perhaps one of the premier seafood restaurants in town always a good atmosphere tonnes of fun, go for the mixed seafood platter and you wont be disappointed, the seafood seemed to come from great Neptune's table the selection of cocktails are pleasing, if there was a small wrinkle it is the wait on the drinks on a busy Saturday night but that actually speaks of there success I guess

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryV387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt H, Manager at Salt House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Gerry

Thank you for your positive review of Salt House on Trip Advisor - we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit!

Our team of chefs source the freshest seafood possible for the seafood platter so it is fabulous to know that you loved it. We will ensure to pass on your kind words to our kitchen team.

We also apologise for any wait time for drinks - we are constantly trying to improve our service times and we hope that it was not too long for your visit.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back for another seafood platter soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nicest bar in Cairns”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The salt house is the nicest place in Cairns. Its upper class without being snobby and the atmosphere is great. The decor is very cool with water features and canals going around the bar, mood lighting and there always seems to be a good band playing.

We got some food there and I was very impressed with the amount of food i got for the entree and we all LOVED out dishes!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt H, Manager at Salt House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Libby

Great to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Salt House and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We have a lot of live music on the weekends to ensure that our guests enjoy local musicians and the atmosphere at the venue. We will also pass on your kind words about your dining to our team of chefs who would love to hear it!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great food, very 'Zen' like atmosphere, good service. Walked in with no reservation on Good Friday staff managed to organise a table, lovely quite spot away from the hustle of the main street in the city, lovely views right on the Marina,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt H, Manager at Salt House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Linda

Thanks for your visit to Salt House over the Easter period and thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, the service and the views. We find the atmosphere very relaxing too!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Salt House again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt House also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Salt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing