We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive Beer!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavarian Beerhouse

Bavarian Beerhouse
Ranked #166 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive Beer!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

A couple of 500mL beers to start appeared as $12 each on the bill!! Wine which was Australian was dreadful but cost over $30 per bottle! The meal ordinary... the roast pork beautiful and tender but served with Sauerkraut and potatoes plus the beef cheeks with same cost us over $140!! Very expensive for just a main meal and some Garlic bread. Have had better German and Bavarian food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riverina Leadli... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    103
    64
    39
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Watch what you are ordering”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had an interesting time at this place, the beers fine but keep an eye on what you are ordering
I ordered a Weissmuller and enjoyed it so much I ordered another but got a completely different beer... A pilsener..hmmm.
Upon querying this I was told that perhaps the waiter didn't understand me or got the order confused.
So upon checking the beer menu, which is extensive, I decided to go into the bar to discuss the various beers with the barman, it was the middle of the day so there were very few people around.
Having chosen a tap beer I was making my way back to my seat outside when I noticed the barman get a stubby out of the fridge......hey, I thought I was getting a tap or draft beer!
In fact, I assumed all the beers listed were draught beer, I certainly don't go to a bar to drink a stubby at 3 times the price I can get it at BWS. There was nothing to distinguish between draft and bottled beer on the menu, well not that I noticed anyway
So just be a little wary.....make sure you know what you are getting, otherwise the beer is good and served in proper German beer glasses

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olgazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It has moved and the food has slipped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I loved this restaurant before it moved , so I went looking this time around what a disappointment , service has gone the servings are half the size they were and the quality is not the same.
Last time a bottle of wine was $20 now it's way over 30 .
The food is not what it was , nothing like it at all so between bad service and ordinary Food I would not recommend it any more , plenty of better choices in Cairn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Highwaywoman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“MOST EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is so good we went two nights. Fantastic authentic Bavarian food. Huge steins of beer or cidar if you wish. Ate the Pork Knuckle with saurkraut and mash followed by Black Forest dessert and a Glaciereis chaser. Fantastic. If you are in cairns you absolutely have to go there

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great beer. Ridiculously overpriced food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pretty cool location on the esplanade, great selection of beer at good prices, but the food.... Wow.
"Crumbed & Fried Camembert cheese" for $12.90 came out as one piece of cheese. (Ill attach photo). We were laughing!
Anyway, pretty average overall experience. Better places close by.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Adam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Beerhouse also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bavarian Beerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing