We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spectacular Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Down Under Tours - Day Tours

Down Under Tours - Day Tours
Book In Advance
$122.14*
and up
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns
Ranked #38 of 127 Outdoor Activities in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Wonderful experience, and great value for money. The views as you ascend are spectacular, but only surpassed by the rail journey home.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    170
    40
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Definate must when in Cairns.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

While in Cairns last time we went to Kuranda , travelling up on the train and back via the Skyway. We decided to go up Gold Class on the train even though it was more expensive but it was the best decision we'd made. The service, incl. hot and cold snacks, hot drinks, bar service were all inclusive and incl. a very attentive steward .
The seating was in luxurious lounge chairs (completely movable) with wonderful unobstructed views of the fantastic scenery all the way.
I recommend that anyone using the Railway give very serious thought to GOLD CLASS.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
4 Thank DAVEAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome day on the Daintree, Cape Tribulation tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

We had an awesome day experiencing the Daintree rainforest with Rick from Down Under Tours. This was a smaller group tour (less than 23 people) in a tricked out 4WD truck/van. The windows on the sides were huge so you always got an excellent view from your seat, which was very important to me (I get car sickness and it's a good amount of time on the road to get from Palm Cove to Cape Trib!).

We picked up a few others in Palm Cove (There were already some on the bus from Cairns, what a long day for them!), then onto Port Douglas to pick up a few more folks. We went on to Mossman and made a quick loo break at a public park (clean enough!). Then crossed the river on the ferry, stopped for a pic at the Alexandria Lookout and onto the Daintree Discovery Center where we were met with tea and cookies. We had a short private tour and climbed up the lookout tower to see all around the rainforest. then back to the bus and on to Cape Tribulation where we saw some awesome spiders (Rick knew where to look - near the ladies room - ewww!), enjoyed a brief walk on the beach, and on the metal boardwalk for a picture spot. Back in the bus, and onto a private BBQ lunch buffet which was pretty good. To get to the eating pavilion we took a short walk along the river on steps/boardwalks which was interesting. Rained on and off throughout the day but hey it's the rainforest! Back on the bus, a brief stop at the Daintree Ice Cream company (not always planned, but we had time to grab n go). Wattleseed, banana, cococut homemade ice cream - yum! Then back to the daintree river crossing area and onto a small covered boat to hunt for crocs and other wildlife. We saw a baby croc, a neat snake entwined in the trees, had interesting commentary about the root systems of the trees, were pointed out to some birds, and right at the end of our trip saw a 3 meter female croc laying on the banks. Score! Left the boat and had tea and cookies again and were met by Rick with the bus (now we're back on the other side of the river). We made our way back down to Mossman and took a quick break at the gorge for some photos. The water was really rumbling down! Only place on our entire trip I got bit by a mosquito and I usually get eaten alive. Back on the bus for the reverse journey home.

Overall a long but amazing and comfortable day! Plenty snacks and loo stops built into the trip (and I always have to go! haha). Rick is a true naturalist and provided interesting commentary the whole way... anything from Aussie history, geology, botany, politics, sex, rock n roll, you name it! Thanks Rick for a great day and we now have true appreciation for the oldest remaining rainforest on earth!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beth395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
“Scenic Train, Kuranda Village, SkyRail - Worst Experience EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We had the worst experience ever on this tour - we were crammed into the train car in seats that we were not able to view anything from, then we were only given 1 hour and 35 minutes to shop in the Kuranda Village during which we had to find and eat food during that short period of time as well, and when we contacted the Down Under Tour Manager to file a complaint because we clearly did not get what we paid for - they denied us any refund of the nearly $400 spent. I STRONGLY SUGGEST THAT YOU GO WITH Tropical Horizon's for all of your Australian Tour Needs!!!

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank jonnyreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnagCairns, Owner at Down Under Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thanks for your review of the Tour VQRS. I am sorry that you feel you did not get what you booked, but we did in fact deliver 100% of what was adverstised in our brochure.
The Kuranda Scenic Rail (KSR) is a heratige listed train and some 100 years old. Everyone is in the same postion in regards to the view. Passengers are entitlied to get up and move around the train. Tropical Horizon use the identical train.
In regards to your free time in the village, our brochure does state that you can have 2 or 3 hours in Kuranda Village. You booked this tour through the Melaleuca Resort and your agent request that you travel up on the second train, which is designed to give 2 hours free time. If you wanted 3 hours in Kuranda, your agent should have requested that you travel up on the first train.
The journey from Freshwater Station to Kuranda takes 1 hour 20 mintues and you should have arrived at 11.10am giving you 2 hours to explore the village. The reason your train arrived 20 minutes late was because of the wet season rain that we experienced, and KSR having to slow down its journey as it climbs the mountain, purely for safety reasons, as this time last year after torrential rain there was an incident where the KSR rounded a bend to find a land slip and did not stop in time.
Down Under Tours will never shy away from any legitimate complaint, however in this case we have delivered what was advertised.
Yours Sincerely,
James Dixon, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing tours, friendly staff, and one awesome adventure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

The expierence was amazing and the staff were extremely friendly. They started off by introducing themselves and there was a guy named Johnny who was really funny and made us feel welcome. After the briefing the instructors were really knowledgeable about the Great Barrier Reef and scuba diving. When I was scuba diving for the first time I was nervous but they helped me with all the technique and equipment. The second reef that we went to was amazing. There were so many fish and corral that it was unbelievable. One guide named Des took me on a special tour (snorkeling) by touching giant clams, pointing out Finding Nemo, and letting us touch sea cucumbers. The expierence its self was great but Down Under Tours made it AWESOME!

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank LamboFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down Under Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Down Under Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing