We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food and a budget price”
Review of Grill'd

Grill'd
Ranked #17 of 613 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service and food and a budget price”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I are Cairns locals and eat at this establishment from time to time. It is very popular due to location, excellent service and food. We are becoming regulars here as are many locals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    254
    57
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The burger quest”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

It's really simple, you will have to go hear if your quest is to discover the best burger in each city, perhaps even nationally. You will not find the amazing holy grail here but a burger with fresh ingredients and optionally a burger for special dietary needs.
It's fresh, it's fast, service is legitimately friendly and accommodating. The only issue really: fresh ingredients don't make an awesome burger. Tried two different burgers, the QLD and a lamb burger. Nice but nothing special, no wow effect. The wow effect will be discovered when paying the bill. Around $15 burger without any sides etc. if you add fries and soft drink you looking at $22 which is, for a burger, quiet a proud price.
Only if you must eat burgers, otherwise try one of the many pub burgers that cost half and can match Grill,d's taste easy.

Sorry guys, nice try but you can learn a few lessens from trendy burger bars down south...

Helpful?
Thank Johannesbrockhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great burger, great price, great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Ate at Grill'd on a recent trip to Cairns for work. Essentially this is just a burger bar which is also licenced to sell liquor, but it is actually so much more. The service at Grill'd was exceptional and as I am a bit of a fussy eater, I ordered my own burger made just how I wanted it with specific ingredients. The burger arrived exactly as ordered (which is unusual) and used real ingredients like real beef instead of manufactured paddies. The experience cost me under $15 AUD including a drink and the burger was of a sufficient size that no side orders were required. I will definitely be back to Grill'd.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not your typical American burger”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you consider American burger places like Fuddruckers and Beck's Prime as great burgers, then you'll likely find Grill'd as average. BUT - as far as the beef I sampled in Australia went, the burgers were very good, well prepared and reasonably priced. Worth the time if you want a burger, as long as you understand it may fit your ideal description of gourmet.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We first visited this food delight a few years back with family, we loved it because it suited all of us, from youngest grandchild to us oldies. My personal favourites are the salads, the only thing missing for me was a great cup of coffee to finish off the meal.

We always go back when visiting Cairns.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill'd also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Grill'd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing