We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average”

Outback Jacks Bar and Grill
Ranked #414 of 597 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Decided to eat here after wandering round Cairns as it seemed a little quieter than a lot of other places. Food was tasty and served quite quickly but seemed a bit more like fast food than restaurant food. I had fish and chips, portion was plentiful, friend had a steak. The steak seemed expensive for what it was though it was declared quite tasty.

Seemed to cater to a lot of new tourists like us. There are far better places to eat in Cairns, take a good walk round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hugzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    161
    137
    110
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Drinks”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

A good bar for having a drinking sessions. Being British we love our pints and they are good prices. Wouldn't go there for a meal but the snacks are good!

Helpful?
Thank Vrd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good quality but expensive”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Steaks are best in Cairn's. Noisy open dining area too close to smelly bat colony across street. Fast food. Impersonal staff too busy to ask how the meal is after serving. Try it once since any other steakhouse in Cairns is not worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“High prices, tiny portions”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I visited with my two children and was expecting your basic steakhouse fare, nothing fancy. What I didn't expect was tiny portions -- the kid's meal "steak" was barely visible on the plate of chips, not even the size of a deck of cards -- and the slow service, despite the uncrowded dining room. My steak was dry and was accompanied by the world's smallest baked potato and a tiny salad. Worst of all, our waiter disappeared at one point, leaving us waiting about 20 minutes for the ice cream included in the kids' meal (also the smallest scoop I've ever seen). We had a very similar meal at our modest hotel restaurant the next night for the same price, but twice the portion size and three times the quality. Won't go back to Outback Jack's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMG426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Give me Steak”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

That's what you get, Steak, as it's a steak house. Location ok, service slow, due to lack of staff at the time it's busy. All staff seemed shy of collecting your drinks from the bar so they Would get warm. There are better places to eat around Cairns so go for walk, look, see....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Jacks Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Outback Jacks Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing