We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Day”

Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.95*
and up
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns
Ranked #24 of 159 Tours in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Day”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Coach pick-up from Cairns hotel to Freshwater Station, then the train up to Kuranda, Skyrail back, then coach transfer back to our hotel. The entire trip was so well-organized, we did not have to worry about anything; it was so well-explained and well-run. We upgraded to the Diamond SkyRail (glass on the bottom of the cablecar allowing one to see out, up and down). It was well worth the extra $10 pp. They give enough time in Kuranda to do what you want (see Kuranda River review) in the way of sights, restaurants (see Frogs Restaurant review) and shopping. The best of all is being in the middle of nature, and that includes human-nature and the unbelievable spirit and determination of those who built these rail and cable systems.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank justmyopinion1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    283
    74
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A beautiful way to see the rainforest as you travel to Kuranda!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My partner and I purchased a package with a hotel pick up in the morning and transfer to the Skyrail station. The views up were just amazing and it was lovely walking through the rainforest on the boardwalk. The staff were happy to take a picture of us in the cable cars with our canmera. After spending a few hours in Kuranda which was quite interesting, we came back down on the train. The commentry was interesting and we got a great view of the Barron falls on the stop on the way down. We got off at the Cairns central station and walked back to our hotel, which was the cheapest way of doing it. A great day out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank erini86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The skyrail was superb and we had fantastic weather. Service was brilliant by the staff. We came down on the train which was nice but I enjoyed the skyrail so much I think I would come back down I. The skyrail next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dentith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“You must see this”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We did the Skyrail tour, but not the train as we decided to have a tour around Kuranda instead.It really is a must, the views are breathtaking, it's so peaceful gliding over the rainforest, and not at all scary as you do not register the height as you are above the trees. The boardwalks at the stop offs are a chance to see things close up, with fab views of the Baron Falls.
We also added on the guided tour with an Aboriginal advisor- well worth it- and especially good as we were the only ones in the party and had his full attention. Get to know the plans and animals and some great storytelling. Watch out for the Little People- they may be watching you!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suziehbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get a glass bottom”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best experience we had in Oz. Do it in the glass bottom
Gondola , wow relay top class, don't say that lightly really mean it
Would do it again, spend time in Kuranda, we went back by road was good

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing