We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.95*
and up
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns
Ranked #24 of 159 Tours in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved the skyrail trip above the rainforests.The view of Barron falls from the lookout was awesome and we enjoyed the variety of shops and markets in Kuranda. Was a great day out/

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    283
    74
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Amazing yet freaky”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wow, what an experience !!! My husband and I took the train up to Kuranda, then the skyrail back down. The skyrail took our breath away, what an amazing accomplishment in building such an attraction. The views are just spectacular, and the staff members at the stop stations are very friendly. We got to ride on the glass bottom skyrail for the last section of our journey, and that was just amazing seeing how high up you are, it is very freaky but in such an amazing way !!
Highly recommended to anyone :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BecW1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Spectacular views from 2 different perspectives”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We took the sky rail to Kuranda and the train back to Cairns. Both journeys were different and spectacular in their own way. The sky rail is a leisurely ride over the top of the rainforest. As you glide above the rainforest canopy in the car you get a great view over the forest and there are 2 stops at Red Rock and Barron Falls.

The train goes from the station twice a day do make sure you book the train either to or from Kuranda.

There are plenty of eating places in Kuranda itself lots of shops and a great market as well as butterfly world and a bird attraction. However when we went in April, all the shops and cares were closing about 3pm due to the train leaving at 3.30pm.

We had a fantastic day, I would recommend this to anyone going to this area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoubylouRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rainforest from high above”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Due to shortage of time we did the Skyrail tour both ways but did spend time in Kuranda. The experience was wonderful especially with 2 stops along the way. The Skyrail is very comfortable and safe even for people scared of heights and you can get a very different view of the rain forests from high above. Each gondola seats about 6 people but since there are so many you can sit with your own private group to make the experience very personal.
If time permits the return by the Kuranda rail is also a great experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Leaves a lot – or a lotta leaves?”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I visited this attraction in April 2013 as a cruise ship excursion. We had a good time, in particular enjoying spectacular views over the lush and vast rainforest of the Barron Gorge National Park. www.skyrail.co.au

Please don’t expect to see lots of animals or birds…just lots of leaves and a truly magnificent wilderness. To appreciate this in full within the confines of a day, it is important to get off at the midway stations and do the boardwalk tours; these are short, easy walking and well signed with nice photos possible – especially of the hydro-electric waterfall features.

The VERY long sky rail adventure offers a variety of specialist dimensions to your trip, including close encounters with indigenous animals and Aboriginal-led tours of “their” land and their perspective on its history.

It is also really good to call at the Kuranda village to see some great gift shops and some interesting art. On the gift shop theme, we were especially impressed with the quality of Opals (and knowledge of the owner) in one of the stores…”Opals From the Earth” a store to the right as you go up the hill towards the coach terminal at 17 Coondoo Street.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing