We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good or better than Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gelocchio

Gelocchio
Ranked #1 of 26 Dessert in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just as good or better than Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I visited the competitor the other day but now think this is even better. I had the cherry amaretto and it was the best!!! Others voted for Bailey's and passion fruit.

Helpful?
Thank mreesebryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    48
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good gelato and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Tried this gelato on a Wednesday afternoon.

Service - Friendly service and very helpful. Flawless!

Food - Great tasting gelato. I ordered Ferroro Rocher and coconut while my wife ordered pistachio and tiramisu. All of them tastes great but the texture was slightly on the "hard" side and closer to an ice-cream.

Value - We were given large servings of the gelato which was really generous. No complaints here. The price was very reasonable.

Overall - One of the better gelatos around and would go back for sure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJJC_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went in Cairns in January, I saw on TA that Gelocchio was the first restaurant recommended in Cairns... Curious to see that the first place was a ice cream shop, I went there, and had a tiramisu-pistache-macadamia-rum/raisin ice cream... They were all delicious ! Terrible ice cream ! Nothing to compare with baskin robbins or any other big brand of ice cream.
Price were between 4 to 6$ for 1-3 scoupes, or 10$ for a big recipient.

Don't miss it !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Un-passant-charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Best gelato I have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I'm a Cairns local and regularly visit Gelocchio, always take family and friends and introduce them to the yumminess! We usually skip dessert when out for dinner to save room for Gelocchio :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

As a massive fan of Messina in Sydney I had high expectations of Gelocchio, and I was not disappointed. We had a pistachio iceblock covered in chocolate and chopped pistachios, as well as a scoop of caramel gelato. The serving was large and tasted great, although you have to eat it quick as it's so hot outside it melted extremely fast!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magicpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelocchio also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Gelocchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing