We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bel Paese

Bel Paese
Ranked #89 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lots of pizza places around Cairns however this one was recommended by a friend and although it is a little out of the way it was well worth the extra walk,
In saying that, Cairns only has a small CBD so no big problem.
There is a good range of pasta and other Italian meal however I was ready for a pizza and they did not disappoint.
Its been there for a long time (I gather) so fitting, chairs, tables etc are fairly basic and showing their age.
Staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OUTBiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    70
    19
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culburra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great pizza, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's sometimes a problem to find great pizza in a new town; we've had one bad experience here in Cairns but the menu at Bel Paese encouraged us to give it a try. We walked in with no reservation (quite early in the evening) and were greeted with a smile and seated immediately.
The service was professional but friendly and the pizza was terrific. We chose to sit outdoors and watch the passing parade. My partner is a garlic bread fan; I tend to not eat it when I'm having pizza as it doubles up on the carbs. But I had to try a piece at Bel Paese as it looked so good. Tasted great too.
The pizza is available in 10" or 13" sizes. We shared two small, a Capriciosa and a Supreme (minus the pineapple, with chilli added). The bases were crisp yet tender, cooked perfectly in fact. Toppings were generous.
It's too easy to compromise on quality by ordering cheap pizza from the chain stores but you ultimately get what you pay for. This meal was more expensive than an el cheapo takeaway but worth every cent. A small but good wine list with several labels available by the glass.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Food Best Service Best Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had the best dining experience at the resturant. The food was excellent and the service was to match. Staff were friendly and the place was clean and inviting. My meal was to die for and the dessert was even better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food & Good Value Italian in Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have eaten several times at this little family owned Italian Restaurant. We are locals and we always manage to grab a table without a reservation.The food has always been perfect and the service is always exceptional. The staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. We rate this as one of our favourite restaurants in Cairns.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan_C_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“LIFT THE GAME.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I share some of the comments of the review below this one... service was attentive...... but the food left us wanting to finish and leave...

bread entree very pedestrian and two dips that looked like they were poured from a bottle and spooned from a jar. Nothing to startle there..

Mains of saltimbocca and gnocchi were complete disappointments. low quality veal that was swimming in a sea of grey sauce... toothpick lanced through the veal to retain the pinned basil leaf (why?).. gnocchi overcooked and gluggy with an uninspiring cheese sauce, sprinkled with blue and shaved parmesan. ugh.

The pizzas we ordered were better. But I read the menu long and hard before I pulled something out to avoid sitting there much longer. That says something to me....

We ate and left within an hour... then went to dessert elsewhere...

It's a simple menu and if it was done really well, could really make the restaurant stand out..
Bel Paese... don't be skimping on your quality of ingredients and quality of your product. Else you will suffer from quality patrons....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mangkurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Paese also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bel Paese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing