We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst meals ever”
Review of Bel Paese

Bel Paese
Ranked #96 of 591 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst meals ever”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The first thing in hospitality the boss should know is the customer is always right . We inquired about our meals and was told we had not been there long. No body could finish their meals . I had a simple parma the veges were slop the parma was left on the plate. I could go on and on but please spend your money elsewhere. The unfortunate thing for this guy is we manage an apartment block and get asked every day where should we go to eat. Guess what we will be very honest with our guests.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sregnif550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    70
    20
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor quality food - they don't know what they're doing”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had the chicken with the tomato sauce, which was dry but passable but the salad had old tomato that seemed to have been cut up the previous day. Friend had veal scallopini, not medallions as described and the lemon sauce was just wrong! Pretty average food, no ambience. The food seemed to have been made by bogans just giving Italian cooking a go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Hazblaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere
- bland
Food
- chicken meal was ok
- veal in lemon butter sauce was wrong - luke warm, rather than butter with a nice lemon flavour this was like a gravy thickened with flour, gluggy and unpleasant
- salads - below average quality veges, soft bland tomatoes
Staff
- very friendly and efficient

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ambienceisimportant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always consistently good service and food.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have eaten here and also had take-aways on numerous occassions.This is a great little restaurant where the prices are reasonable, the food is excellent and the service is always attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Barramundi Dinner”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Very clean with no fishy taste or smell. The four cheese pasta is a must. If and when you visit Cairns, Aus. give it a try.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Paese also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bel Paese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing